We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
34
40
17
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
40
17
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdillon beachtomales bayrestaurant next dooropen thursday to sundaynick's covekeycerealhighwaycoastamenitiesinternetbinderfurnitureptreyesaccommodationsroomy
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2017

If you are looking for a quiet getaway from the hustle/bustle of the Bay Area, look no further. This unassuming older establishment in the sleepy hamlet of Tomales is just what the doctor ordered. Rooms are exceedingly clean, all well appointed, newly painted, very comfortable. Little or no breakfast or on-site staff (although a small glitch in our reservation was taken care of immediately), and WiFi is iffy, but if comfort, and peace & quiet are your goal, this is your destination. My wife and I are avid sea kayakers, so the proximity to Tomales Bay launch sites is incomparable, as are the stones throw distances to the Point Reyes National Seashore, Pt. Reyes Station (and the "to die for" pizza at Cafe Reyes), Nick's Cove Restaurant, Hog Island Oysters, Inverness, Tomales Bakery, and the areas's best kept secret, the buffalo milk soft-serve ice cream in Pt. Reyes Station' Palace Market.

Room Tip: Upstairs, even numbered rooms are best and quietest.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank themamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

We loved our overnight stay here while traveling up the coast. Our room was very clean, quiet, and furnished with beautiful antiques, while still having tv and Internet provided. Lovely 5 minute drive to watch the sunset at Dillon Beach. So glad we stopped here!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

The Continental Inn in tiny Tomales is an odd place. Check in and out requires no human interface and during our 3 day, two night stay, we saw someone connected to the Inn for a total of about 4 minutes, on our first day. That being said, the room was very large and furnished with attractive antiques or antique-like furniture. It was spotless, as well. The Wi-fi was really terrible; the worst I've experienced in a hotel in the past 15 years. The binder with local restaurants in our room was outdated - some had permanently closed and others were menus with outdated prices. Breakfast wasn't exactly included but there was coffee, juice, and a cereal available in the mornings. The Inn was quiet and deserted, but we had an enjoyable stay, not withstanding the issues mentioned above.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank NeroNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

We were in a lovely room of nice size, clean and thoughtfully decorated. We were glad to be in back as rooms that front the two streets would have noise.
The continental breakfast was nothing special; pastry, raisin bran, apples/oranges and coffee/tea/juice. We had to take it back to our room as there is no seating. Ate off of a tv tray. Lost water pressure for several minutes during my shower. Management is only on site for 2-3 hours each day from 4-6/7 pm so not much help. Be sure to get the code for the front door while management is there or you'll find yourself locked out as we were when management locked the back door upon leaving.
While the room itself was nice, I'm not sure the experience was worth the $215 room rate.
PS. Nearby Dillon Beach is lovely, but be advised it's a dog park.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob7510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

We came across this place as we normally book while driving but having no ph service we stopped here and manage to get the last room. It was great, heating was very comfortable. Free Wifi and breakfast included. Very old antique vibe which gave it amazing character. We loved it. Comfy bed, TV and very clean.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Thackers75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews