We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, tiny town, you're on your own”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Continental Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tomales
Reviewed 8 July 2017

My room was large, clean, well-appointed, fireplace, the works. However, it was a room on the corner of the intersection, and really noisy over the holiday. The town is small and quiet, and the bakery and deli across the street are to die for. You never see a desk clerk. You come in with a code, and pick up your key and go to your room. You leave your key in a box when you leave. There is no real breakfast, but there's cereal and coffee/tea/juice. I'd go back, but perhaps get a room on the backside.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bumatay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2017

If you are looking for a quiet getaway from the hustle/bustle of the Bay Area, look no further. This unassuming older establishment in the sleepy hamlet of Tomales is just what the doctor ordered. Rooms are exceedingly clean, all well appointed, newly painted, very comfortable. Little or no breakfast or on-site staff (although a small glitch in our reservation was taken care of immediately), and WiFi is iffy, but if comfort, and peace & quiet are your goal, this is your destination. My wife and I are avid sea kayakers, so the proximity to Tomales Bay launch sites is incomparable, as are the stones throw distances to the Point Reyes National Seashore, Pt. Reyes Station (and the "to die for" pizza at Cafe Reyes), Nick's Cove Restaurant, Hog Island Oysters, Inverness, Tomales Bakery, and the areas's best kept secret, the buffalo milk soft-serve ice cream in Pt. Reyes Station' Palace Market.

Room Tip: Upstairs, even numbered rooms are best and quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank themamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

We loved our overnight stay here while traveling up the coast. Our room was very clean, quiet, and furnished with beautiful antiques, while still having tv and Internet provided. Lovely 5 minute drive to watch the sunset at Dillon Beach. So glad we stopped here!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

The Continental Inn in tiny Tomales is an odd place. Check in and out requires no human interface and during our 3 day, two night stay, we saw someone connected to the Inn for a total of about 4 minutes, on our first day. That being said, the room was very large and furnished with attractive antiques or antique-like furniture. It was spotless, as well. The Wi-fi was really terrible; the worst I've experienced in a hotel in the past 15 years. The binder with local restaurants in our room was outdated - some had permanently closed and others were menus with outdated prices. Breakfast wasn't exactly included but there was coffee, juice, and a cereal available in the mornings. The Inn was quiet and deserted, but we had an enjoyable stay, not withstanding the issues mentioned above.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank NeroNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

We were in a lovely room of nice size, clean and thoughtfully decorated. We were glad to be in back as rooms that front the two streets would have noise.
The continental breakfast was nothing special; pastry, raisin bran, apples/oranges and coffee/tea/juice. We had to take it back to our room as there is no seating. Ate off of a tv tray. Lost water pressure for several minutes during my shower. Management is only on site for 2-3 hours each day from 4-6/7 pm so not much help. Be sure to get the code for the front door while management is there or you'll find yourself locked out as we were when management locked the back door upon leaving.
While the room itself was nice, I'm not sure the experience was worth the $215 room rate.
PS. Nearby Dillon Beach is lovely, but be advised it's a dog park.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob7510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tomales
25 km away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
13.7 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,667 reviews
15.2 km away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
119 reviews
14.4 km away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
214 reviews
23 km away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#3 of 9 in Petaluma
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Continental Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Continental Inn

Address: 26985 Highway One, Tomales, CA 94971
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Tomales
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tomales
Price Range: ₹ 11,219 - ₹ 16,442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Continental Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free continental breakfast is only on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Continental Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing