We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$249
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
$213
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/08/22
Expedia.com$249
Priceline$249
Travelocity$249
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,114)
Filter reviews
1,114 results
Traveller rating
953
113
40
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
953
113
40
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee brewing on stilts luxury cottage the cottages coffee making plantation tour jaggery coffee plantation walk coffee experience special mention bird watching buggy service special thanks beautiful property heaven on earth western ghats restaurant staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,114 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2022

We spent two night at The Tamara in May, 2022. The place is lovely and the service is good. Though it rained a lot during our visit, we enjoyed our stay. One should go with the idea of just relaxing and enjoying nature. The view of the mountains and greenery from the room was excellent. Several activities like the morning walks on trails could not be done due to rains. Would highly recommend this place.

Room tip: Book well in advance - plan to stay within the resort most of the time.
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nara501
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Tamara Coorg, General Manager at The Tamara Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2022

Dear Ms. Nara,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for writing the review on TripAdvisor on your experience at The Tamara, Coorg.

We are honoured to read that we made your stay in Coorg truly a memorable one. Our high quality of service is one of our main assets and our dedicated teams are proud to welcome and serve our valuable guests.

We thank you once again for your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Krishna Kumar Bajpai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2022 via mobile

One of the brilliant places have visited recently.. worth stay and every place inside this is so well crafted designed and with lot of esthetic sense.. the staff are at their best service and one thing you will see common here is the lovely guest management , thoughtfulness, fast work and by the time you leave they know your tastes, preferences and the need...the resort has some lovely scenery and spend more outdoors than inside ..

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 594rangas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Tamara Coorg, General Manager at The Tamara Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2022

Dear Guest,

On behalf of The Tamara, Coorg! I would like to thank you for taking the time out to post in your review!! Your neat review about the overall experience will definitely help the readers to understand the destination, we believe in serving with all our heart and thus the work passion comes to us naturally. Thank you so much for the good appreciations. We are here to serve you better and very glad to receive excellent feedback from you and it definitely This notes impact on Coorg visitors.

We really look forward to welcoming you again very soon to the resort.

Best Regards,
Krishna Kumar Bajpai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2022 via mobile

What worked -
Tamara is without doubt a beautiful and peaceful property nestled in the hills near Bramhagiri Reserve Forest.
The resort is very green, generally well-maintained and offers one of the widest ramge of activities, we loved the “short trek” and “plantation walk”.
Their buffet meals are worth it and their chef runs a very well managed kitchen and staff. We were left spell bound by the range of lipsmacking food, personal service and general ambience of the restaurant - it offers great views of a waterfall.
We loved the rooms as well with the balcony area provided an amazong clean/green view of the valley.

What did not work -
For a resort at this price point, their front desk is frankly very cold and shoddy. Both while checking in and checking out - the front desk agent made zero attempt to engage or welcome us. We were just another statistic to check in and seemed she could not get rid of her guests soon enough. While checking in, a brief summary of what the resort has to offer, describing key activities, timing etc., is hospitality 101 none of which was offered. While checking out, despite us staying a bit longer - no thank you, no solicitation for feedback, no bill, not even asking when we would be back. Just like check-in, she was like yeah your bill is zero, you can go - that is as cold as she could get. this was especially jarring as the service was top notch at the spa, the activities and esp the restaurant - that catered to a lot more customers during rush hours.
Secondly, house cleaning was a mess. We found a slightly unclean washroom while checking in, previous occupant’s dirty socks in the drawer and to top it off - a refusal to change bed sheets despite our requests even though we stayed for 4+ days.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tanmay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Tamara Coorg, General Manager at The Tamara Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2022

Dear Mr. Tanmay,

At the outset, do accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused. The experiences you have described are not the true indications of the standards, we at The Tamara pride ourselves for.

Your valuable and constructive feedback has been shared with the team and we will ensure necessary measures are taken so that such instances do not recur.

We hope to welcome you back once again and assure you of our best service.

Warm Regards,
Krishna Kumar Bajpai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2022

Stayed at Tamara for 3 nights in May. Property is surrounded by coffee plantation and at a height of approx 3500ft. It was a nice experience and would definitely come back when next in Coorg.

1. Access to to the resort : I travelled from Kabini. Its a nice plain road for most part. The hilly section towards Coorg is also very basic, so people with motion sickness need not worry. The final 1.5-2 km to reach the resort is a private road and quite tight. So folks self-driving need to go slow. 2 cars cannot cross at the same time, so you need to park at bends/shoulders that are available in between.
@Tamara - will be helpful if you can install 'view mirrors' through this stretch i/o of only inside the main resort area.

2. Rooms/resort : I stayed in the Suite category. Room was quite big with 2 toilets, living room and private sit-out area. Unfortunately it was raining all the while so didnt really get to sit outside, If you are bird watcher, then, having your own private space is helpful. We could still capture Hornbill, Woodpecker with chicks, Barbet, etc. These are called 'plantation view rooms. Other rooms have shared sit out area i.e. with soft partition. So there is no privacy here as both occupants can hear each other then.

The resort is built per 'Bali' style architecture and is spread across a large area. You need to take a golf cart (buggy) to access restaurant or reception or any of the activity areas. You can walk as well but it depends on your appetite to walk as it involves uphill path as well.

Jio & Airtel have good 4G connectivity. Wifi is available in rooms & common areas.

@Tamara - Pls get buggy booking/availability more organized. To keep waiting for 15-20 mins regularly is not something one should expect. Maybe having designated buggy for a set of rooms will be helpful or develop an app to book/track the buggy (in today's day and age, this should not be that difficult).

Food: You need to have your meals within the property as going out is not an option due to the location. Restaurant is nice, staff is super trained and food is awesome. There is enough & more options even for buffet.

Activities: There are number of activities that resort organizes to keep guests engaged. Some are chargeable, so pls check. Do treks/walks only in dry season. If its raining & wet, there will be lot of leeches.

Overall, Tamara is a good property, some trivial issues such as buggy rides, housekeeping should be looked at from improvement perspective.

Room tip: Choose suite room
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry_Parmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Tamara Coorg, General Manager at The Tamara Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2022

Dear Harry,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Tamara Coorg. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our property and services. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the resort, team and services.

At The Tamara Coorg, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward. Your encouraging comments will motivate them to do even better at their work.

I am delighted you had a memorable stay with us and we were able to exceed your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

I have noted your comment on Buggy services.

Best Regards,
Krishna Kumar Bajpai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2022 via mobile

Tamara Coorg is one of the best properties in Coorg but I feel the price doesn’t justify the facilities. The villas are on stilts. I had the best view from my villa of the valley. Overall food is good and the staff is in the restaurant is excellent. The room itself has old sofas and worn out foot mats. Also there isn’t much to do in the property itself. The pool area is also pretty average and doesn’t have that finesse like most 5 stars have. One of the activities they have is the cardamom trail, they didn’t inform us before about wearing proper clothes and taking precautions due to the leeches in the trail and hence we all had leech bites.

In conclusion the property itself is very beautiful set in a dense forest but it lacks certain things which could make it a truly luxurious resort.

Room tip: Ask for rooms 205/206 or 221/222
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Vacation56481169786
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Tamara Coorg, General Manager at The Tamara Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2022

Dear Guest,

We like to hear guest feedback and have noted your concerns about the Cardamom trails, and I can assure you that this is not our standard. We usually call each guest prior to their arrival so they can hear about the various experience offerings at the Tamara Coorg.

We are making a round of renovations and upgrades to each one of our rooms, and we will be doing this in a number of rooms at a time, so your feedback is appreciated, I would greatly appreciate it if you can make a repeat visit in the near future, and I will promise a great and unforgettable experience on your next stay, my email address is krishnakb@thetamaracoorg.com, please leave a reply with your co-ordinates.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,
Krishna Kumar Bajpai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews