We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$249
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$249
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/22
Agoda.com
$213
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Hotels.com$249
Trip.com$240
Priceline$249
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,115)
Filter reviews
1,115 results
Traveller rating
953
113
41
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
953
113
41
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee brewing on stilts luxury cottage the cottages coffee making plantation tour jaggery coffee plantation walk coffee experience special mention bird watching buggy service special thanks beautiful property heaven on earth western ghats restaurant staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,115 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2022 via mobile

When I first got to know about the place and saw the reviews, I had already set a high expectation of the Tamara resort, Coorg and when I stayed there, they certainly exceeded it! I have stayed in multiple resorts and hotels across India and I can safely say that Tamara is the best one of them all. The room is beautiful, the property is well maintained, and the view— breathtaking! The food is excellent. The hospitality is simply first class. It is what makes Tamara even more special!

A special thanks to the friendliest driver Shankar for driving us safely to and from the resort, Chef Mr Naveen who was kind enough to remember and serve us some delicious meals that weren’t on the menu, to Mr Roshan who remembered our preferences (including our fav spot to sit at the restaurant!), to Mr Santhosh who was thoughtful enough to bring us extra dishes that complimented our order, to Mr Somanna for his infectious charm and the wonderful coffee plantation tour, to Ms Athulya for her fabulous service at the Spa, to Mr Amjith for helping us delightfully catch views of beautiful birds and taking the time to explain their behaviour, and for all the other lovely staff at the resort who always had a smile on their face and made us feel like The Tamara was our home.

You’ve made our trip a very memorable one that we will cherish dearly. We are looking forward to staying with you in Coorg again. Until then, keep up the good work! :)

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AnanyaSrividya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Tamara Coorg, General Manager at The Tamara Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2022

Dear Mr. Travel,

Thank you very much for taking time complete our serve.

Relaxed environment, friendly and unobtrusive service and delectable cuisine make a great stay at resort and we are delighted on having been able to provide you with such an experience.

Your generous appreciation of all the aspects of the resort including room, food is very encouraging. I have personally shared your feedback about the excellent service you received with the entire team who were delighted to note that their efforts were so well appreciated.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back and to another opportunity to create more memories for you.

Best Regards,
Krishna Kumar Bajpai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2022 via mobile

Purpose of Trip : Peaceful holiday with some really good local food.
Tamara, Coorg checked all the boxes for the purpose of my trip. Located in a forest, beautiful cottages overlooking lush greenery for miles beyond.

Booked a luxury cottage with all meals included. I suggest we all do that because there is nothing in the vicinity to order or go out.
The property’s Ala Carte menu is expensive, otherwise and I recommend to carry your own alcohol & mixers as the prices are exorbitant at the bar / restaurant.

So we Took a flight from Mumbai to the newly opened Kannur airport, which was about 2 hours.
Landed at Kannur airport and from one of the counters booked a Taxi to Tamara, Coorg. I suggest to book the taxi well in advance to avoid much waiting at the airport.
The journey from Kannur airport to Tamara, Coorg is beautiful. Great roads and we reached Tamara in 2.5 hours flat.
Our luxury cottage was all ready after a quick check in process.
Staff was alert and helpful.

The distances between room to restaurant or reception are quite far and there are enough golf carts available for the same.
Breakfast was a wide variety, we only tried the local food like Kadamputtu with vegetable curry, amazing Filter coffee and of course they have the Omelettes, Idli, Dosa, Sausages, bacon etc.
The best part of this place is that you can request the chef to prepare something local and they happily do so.
Chef Sana pampered us with Noolputtu, Mutton Curry, Coorgi Chicken Curry, Raja Pork and a nice buttercream cake.
They have live music on a few days and the dinner place is nice, warm and cozy.

The service staff is always on their toes, ready to serve you as & when you’re plate is empty.
I personally enjoyed the local delicacies, and that was a major point of visiting this place. And they did not disappoint one bit.
After a heavy lunch, a good nap is refreshing and then waking up at 6pm only to have a few drinks before dinner.

Coming to the luxury cottage I stayed, large beds with a variety of pillows and a nice sofa sit out for 4 people. There’s a desk to work on, nice and large with a comfortable chair.
Looking ahead there is a balcony over looking the lush green trees of the forest. The best part is that no one can see you, and you can see no one. That’s how the cottages are designed. No looking into another!
The bathroom is neat, clean. Shower cubicle has hot and cold water, there’s a hair dryer and an array of soaps, shampoos, kits at disposal.

The property has a big tennis court, badminton court and indoor games.
Apart from this, there are several activities like Trekking, Coffee plantation tour etc that are available during the day.
I would rate the following as;
Food : 9/10
Hygiene : 10/10
Customer service : 10/10
Bathroom : 10/10
Room amenities : 9/10
Value for Money : 8.5/10

The property doesn’t disappoint at all and I strongly recommend this resort for the following;
Couples : Birthday / Anniversary
Family : Get together / Reunion
Solo traveler : For the peaceful ‘Me Time’

Looking forward to visiting their other properties in various other locations.

Room tip: Best time to visit is between October and May. Monsoons, I’m sure will be beautiful but there are risk of snakes and other insects.
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank AkshayKumarIsHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Tamara Coorg, General Manager at The Tamara Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2022

Dear Mr. Northstar,

Thank you for your kind feedback. I am delighted to know that you had a great experience at The Tamara Coorg.

The team of Tamara has won generous accolades for their legendary services to our valued guests.

It is heartening to know that our team was able to create a delightful experience to you.

The Tamara has a unique legacy and our teams are always eager to showcase the resort in its full splendour through the various engagement initiatives that bring delight to our valuable guests.

We value your patronage and eagerly await to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Krishna Kumar Bajpai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2022

Tamara Resort was always on our wish list. So when my husband turned 80 on the 19th of April we had no problem choosing a holiday destination. Tamara it was!!! s. We do not have enough words to describe the beauty of Tamara. You have to visit to experience this awesome place. Added to the serenity was the amazing hospitality that was extended to us from the minute we stepped into the Hotel till our departure. Surrounded by lush green unspoilt rain forest, Tamara is absolutely spell bounding. Our relationship Manager, Naveen who is the Executive Chef, along with his team which included Prashant, churned out the most delectable food for us. Restaurant Manager, Ajay was always by our side and even surprised my husband with a belated birthday cake!
I took a plantation tour and was amazed by our guide, Madan's knowledge of the entire 184 acres of Tamara.
Since I am a lover of plants, my most unique experience was planting a sapling at the property. Special mention to Deekshith and Bhojamma who helped me in this activity. At my request,they were also kind enough to give me saplings of torch lily and Indonesian banana, which were packed with amazing care.
We have been to so many Hotels and Resorts all over the world , but Tamara stands out as the best of all of them. This visit will be etched in our memories for ever.
Thank you to the entire team who work so hard to give all guests one of the most awesome experience. We will be back soon !!

Room tip: Rooms on the higher hill slpoes have the best view
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank journeyist66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Tamara Coorg, General Manager at The Tamara Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2022

Dear Mr. Journeyist,

It is our earnest endeavour to ensure that our guests have the most enjoyable stay and I am delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and are appreciative of our bespoke services.

Kind words of appreciation such as yours keep the team motivated. Your special mention for Naveen, Prashant, Ajay, Madan, Deekshitha & Bojamma has been shared with them and they are thrilled to know that their contribution has been appreciated and recognized by you.

Thank you once again for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to Tamara in the not-too-distant future.

Best Regards,
Krishna Kumar Bajpai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2022

Experience:

Our overall experience was fantastic, we stayed for couple of days and we feel its totally worth our time. Courteous and friendly staff with never ending smiles and informative about Coorg, their lifestyle and history. We bumped into Mr Akhilesh who was busy making drinks for guests yet actively talking to every guest and involving in making sure every guest is attended. A big shout out from us.

Food:

Recommend taking all three buffet meals as a part of package. Food is sumptuous yet vegetarians might find it slightly difficult to find options every other meal.

Room:

Is similar to a cabin, one of the best we have been to.
Every room has a view to the coffee estate and hills surrounded. The patio is a spot we spent most of our time.

Location:

This was perfect for what we were wanting for a while. Away from all the pollution and closer to the woods

This is a place for someone who are looking for a calm time away from all the hustling bustling life in cities or towns. Developed within a large coffee estate this is a place to go.

Highly recommend for couple of days

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank a_ramshankar87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Tamara Coorg, General Manager at The Tamara Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2022

Dear Mr. Ramshankar,

At the outset, allow me to thank you for choosing The Tamara Coorg for your stay. I take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Our team offers their gratitude to the kind words you have shared in your feedback as it encourages them to continue their efforts to make every guest feel welcome.

It is with great pleasure that we learn how much you were delighted by your recent stay, and especially Akhilesh by the experience and service extended by our team.

Hope this lovely experience of yours will translate into many more such visits to The Tamara Coorg.

Best Regards,
Krishna Kumar Bajpai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2022

4 of us ( 2 couples) had an amazing time at Tamara. The staff is very well trained, customer centric and very eager to please. The place is very well constructed and very well maintained. Food is awesome too. Indoor and outdoor pool add to the charm.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rahul610a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Tamara Coorg, General Manager at The Tamara Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2022

Dear Mr. Rahul,

Thank you for your support towards The Tamara Coorg and for your delightful review.

I am glad to read that you had a splendid stay from start to finish. Your thoughtful words will certainly be conveyed to our team members for going above and beyond and ensuring that you had a comfortable stay with us.

Thank you again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back for more staycations.

Best Regards,
Krishna Kumar Bajpai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews