We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good South Indian food”
Review of Madras Cafe

Madras Cafe
Ranked #7 of 431 Restaurants in Sunnyvale
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

Was visiting Sunnyvale…had been here to have south Indian food and no doubt they serve very good food…it seemed to be quite popular as well as I saw many people visiting this restaurant

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank LokeshJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Dosas. That’s their thing and they are quite good at it. Mostly vegetarian fillings in large, crispy, crepe-like wrapping that is eaten with your fingers. The dips and sauces are delicious. Lunch time is pretty busy but the line moves quite rapidly. Food comes out quickly and is served by friendly staff. Go with friends or family and get different stuff so you can try several dosas. Fun, tasty and filling.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 93KenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

One of the most delicious sambar in Bay area. Visited this place with friends just to taste the sambar. Dosa and Idli are great ones. Its little costly and quantity is less. But worth for the taste.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Meiyappan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

For a South Indian place this is not worth it. Terrible service and long lines. Not worth it there are better places in Sunnyvale

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Wander_Lust1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We were here day before (Sunday, March 25th) for lunch and it was a mixed bag of an experience. We were in Sunnyvale to by a van and by the time we were done with it was 4.20 pm. The options for Indian food at this time were limited and we ended up here. It was almost impossible to get parking here. For starters, this is totally a utilitarian style restaurant with self-service for water/utensils and no decor at all.

Once we got in around it was like an asylum and place was packed. Since this is a South Indian restaurant (Tamil) we ordered Idli, Kothu Paratha, Mysore Masala dosa and chili Oothaappam. Mind you Idli and Sambar are trademark dishes from Tamilnadu. The entire order was about $35 and I thought that is a decent price given the location. Once we ordered the food, a spot opened up and the food arrived quickly. I suspect that it is because it's not fresh. All the dishes were warm and the taste was okay. I am from South India and I know how fresh Idli tastes. Kothu Paratha total nonsense.

El Camino Real has several Indian restaurant options and will never be back here for warmed up crap.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank grandhirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madras Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Madras Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing