We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Quiet Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable & Quiet Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed one night at the Country Inn Suites in Sunnyvale on our way to Oakland for a baseball game and we loved the spacious room. We had a king size bed which was very comfortable, pillows were a little too soft for my taste but everything in the room was clean and cozy. The hotel is a little bit in a secluded area so no traffic buzzing in and around the hotel. Complimentary breakfast was delicious and overall i was very pleased with our stay. We are going back to the area in two weeks and will stay there again :)

Room Tip: King size bed room was spacious that if i wanted to set up a small sleeping area if we had our child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seren96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine V, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Thank you for the kind words about our hotel. Gladly to read that you had comfortable stay with us and took advantage of the complimentary breakfast. We look forward having you here again in couple of weeks. Have a great weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    246
    71
    29
    6
See reviews for
170
94
40
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

I was at the Country Inns and Suites in Sunnyvale for four nights on a recent business trip. I know people carp on about old and worn looking, but hey, looks can be deceiving and what's wrong with old anyway? I'm from the UK where everything is old and worn.

The bottom line here is that all the staff were very helpful and charming. The suite I was in was big, with TWO large flat screen TVs; one in the lounge and one in the bedroom. The room was very clean, the bathroom was also very clean with a good shower (a must for me) and so many towels, it was (almost) too much. The large double bed was very comfortable and the bed linen was nice, nice, nice. The blackout curtains were good too.

Breakfast was excellent, with a wide variety of wholesome cooked food, lots of fresh fruit, fresh juices and, surprisingly good coffee.

The dinner menu was quite limited, but I tried a different dish every evening and they were all really very good. Quite inexpensive too. Again, the wine list was quite small, but the house wine was a goody. One thing that surprised me was the draught beer. Can't remember the name, but apparently it was a local brew. It was wonderful! A real find.

The only thing that stops this being five stars was the empty fridge in the room. I'm not expecting a mini-bar, but some complimentary water and juices would have been good, maybe even some wine?

Finally, I got a free trip to and from the office each day courtesy of their shuttle service and a charming driver. How cool is that?

I'll be coming back to Sunnyvale and I'm sure I'll stay at the Country Inns again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhodwindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine V, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Greetings! Thank you for taking the time of your schedule to complete the survey. We sincerest appreciates the kind words about our hotel and also I'm glad you got to take advange the complimentary breakfast, courtesy shuttle service...etc! We look forward having you staying with us again in your future travel in Silicon Valley. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed here one night last week and while everything went very well the hotel isn't great. Very old and tired feeling and looking, everything looks worn out and in a state of disrepair. The hallways smelled odd and our room was stuffy. The bed was quite uncomfortable though it was nice we had plenty of pillows. There is no fan inside the bathroom which is not great. The temperature of the water is out.of.control! It gets absolutely scalding hot and if you're not sure which direction to turn the handle to shut off the water, you will get burned (learned the hard way). The pool was small but clean and the chairs were comfortable. The breakfast was good and there were a lot of options. The gentleman in the suit tending to the dining guests was fantastic: friendly, helpful, light conversation. Really a great presence for the hotel. I didn't care for the hotel in general, but appreciate this man's actions (and the breakfast).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine V, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Good morning! Hope your doing well. Thank you for your feedback however we apologize for any issues you experienced during your stays. Hope you come back in the future travel here in Silicon Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

We just stayed overnight for our daughter's volleyball tournament, but the room was generously sized, the queen beds were actually queen sized, and the breakfast buffet was average to good, but the fruit was really good and in season.

Room Tip: There is no spa, just a pool and the workout room was better than some as it had cardio and weight t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlowe Robin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine V, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Thank you for your feedbacks and glad to see that you had a comfortable stay. We hope to see again soon. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homburg-Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I was staying for one week for business. Great and friendly staff (e. g. Anna Page at front desk but also all others). Spacious rooms. Comfortable beds. Excellent hot breakfast.
One week later I was staying again for one night, this time with my family. We booked two rooms, they upgraded one room to a suite. Great service. My daugthers used the exercise room. It was equipped with the best apparatus we found during our one week California trip.
As the hotel is located far away from restaurants, stores and so on, a car is a must.
If one day I return to Sunnyvale, I will book the Country Inn again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 407Wolfgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
5.6 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
6.3 km away
The Domain Hotel
The Domain Hotel
#4 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
6.5 km away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
2.4 km away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
5.8 km away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#3 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
Address: 1300 Chesapeake Terrace, Sunnyvale, CA 94089
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sunnyvale
#1 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sunnyvale
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,985 - ₹ 25,046
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites Sunnyvale Hotel Sunnyvale
Country Inns And Suites Sunnyvale
Country Inn Sunnyvale
Sunnyvale Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing