We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good facility--staff not so great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good facility--staff not so great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

The Sundowner Inn is a great place to stay, as far as the rooms and location. The staff were great at check-in, but totally unresponsive after checking in. My blow dryer was not working on the first morning and when I called to the front desk, she said she would send maintenance up. I asked for her to send a blow dryer, but she said maintenance would be up immediately. I waited 15 minutes, but had to leave. I was very disappointed. No one ever came and fixed the dryer, so I had no dryer the next morning either. A simple thing, but frustrating.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen74_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckshah, Owner at Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Thank you for your kind comment on our facility, I am sad to hear the staff did not get you the hair dryer when you needed it. I will personally make sure this is a topic of discussion this week in the staff training meeting. Meeting your expectations is a priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    62
    81
    57
    76
See reviews for
71
29
28
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

This place is disgusting! I went to my room and sat on the bed figuring out I need to get to the marriot, Sheraton,....wherever, and the headboard falls off. Maintenance comes and re-hangs...yes I said that right. Hung my suit and hangers were taped with packing tape. The alarm clock? I think they bought it in my grandmas garage sale. And folks this is outdoor room entry. Straight up ghetto feel. Like your neighbor should be a hooker. Place needs some serious overhaul

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daron27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckshah, Owner at Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
At the Sundowner Inn we strive for affordable room rates and a happy guest experience. I regret we did not meet your expectations. We are currently upgrading and improving our room amenities. I do thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunnyvale hotels

Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

The location was extremely convenient. The room was big and seemed clean. If you're just staying for the night and plan to get up early I'd recommend. If you want to sleep in, maybe you should ask for a room as far away from the lobby as possible. Starting at 7 am on Sunday there was not only noise from departing guests (I assume), but carts were being rolled back and forth on the concrete with no more than 5 minutes in between. Then the cleaning lady opened our door at 8:30 in the morning. We were just there for one night - why would you think it's necessary to clean the room before the guest checks out? And before most people would probably consider getting up on a Sunday morning.

There was no book in the room to tell of the hotel ammenities, how to get to the breakfast, or how to open the gate to get into the pool area.

I'd recommend if you just need a place to crash, but I'm not so sure the experience of a leisurely vacation would be found here.

Room Tip: get the highest number room possible and maybe you'll avoid the excess noise. Starting from 101...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckshah, Owner at Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Thank you for your comments on your clean room. I appreciate your time and your feedback regarding our housekeeping staff, all comments help us to consistently improve our guests experience. Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Step 1: check into hotel
Step 2: sit down on bed (leaning back onto headboard)
Step 3: Wait 15 minutes
Step 4: Watch the bedbugs crawl out from behind the mattress and the headboard
Step 5: Get the **** out of there
Step 6: Post a review at Tripadvisor

Room Tip: Procure biosafety level 4 gear prior to your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank roger d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphy, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Pros:Great location
Good price

Cons:
Unfriendly staff
Bad breakfast
Being woken up every morning at 7am by someone with a leaf blower

Room Tip: Find another hotel to stay at
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cindyn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckshah, Owner at Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
I am saddened to hear of your concerns, we are grateful you gave us the opportunity for your lodging needs and saddened we did not meet your expectations. Your comments make us better, I have added additional staff training to make a better experience. Thank You again, I hope you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunnyvale hotels
3.3 km away
Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Sunnyvale - Silicon Valley
0.5 km away
Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
#21 of 33 in Sunnyvale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#23 of 33 in Sunnyvale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
2.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
1.8 km away
Extended Stay America - San Jose - Sunnyvale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale

Property: Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale
Address: 504 Ross Dr, Sunnyvale, CA 94089-1442 (Formerly Sundowner Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,399 - ₹ 12,594
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our amenities are designed to make business travel a pleasure. Here you will find high-technology companies, abundant recreational and entertainment choices and storybook landscapes. The Days Inn and Suites Sunnyvale is centrally located South of San Francisco Bay in the heart of Silicon Valley, convenient to major Fortune 500 companies, Shoreline Amphitheatre, Stanford Shopping Center, and beautiful Stanford University. We look forward to hosting your next stay in the Silicon Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Sunnyvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundowner Hotel Sunnyvale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing