We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food”

Satkar Indian Cuisine
Ranked #40 of 425 Restaurants in Sunnyvale
Restaurant details
Reviewed 26 October 2018

This was recommended to us by the owner of the motel we were staying at. We got dressed up in smart casual stuff assuming it was an Indian restaurant and arrived realising we were a bit overdressed. It is an unusual place. There are limited tables inside, more in a fast-food style rather than a restaurant and there is no toilet. They also do a lot of takeaways and there is an endless procession of people coming and going. If you end up sat by the door on a, relatively, chilly evening, then you will get a blast every time it’s opened. However, having said all that the food was outstanding and it was very cheap. Indian is our favourite food and coming from the UK we are somewhat spoilt for choice, but this really was very nice food. One of the best Indian’s we have ever had. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 510richarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

For me and my friends satkar is our go-to place. Some of my friends come from SF just to eat dinner here. Haha...We love the saag paneer, baingan bharta and chicken makhani! That's always our repeat order! Aloo paratha and samosa chaat are great too. The waiting time is often a lot so it's better to take to go.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank FoodieTillIDie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Came here on thanksgiving for lunch. We ordered our food at the counter and then waited about 25 minutes. Once our food was ready, they gave us a table. This place is very small with only a few tables.

We started with samosa chaat which was mildly spiced and quite tasty.

The matter paneer and saag paneer where some good vegetarian entrees. These went well with the kabuli naan.

The shrimp masala was meh....would skip this one.

Of note, they did not have a public bathroom. Not sure if it was out of order or if they just do not have one. Had to go to the bevmo next door which was annoying.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank catchyginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

The food here is hit or miss. We went for a weekend buffet which is reasonably priced. The buffet spread is pretty decent and has good options for both vegetarians and non-vegetarians. You can also add a beer to the buffet for less than a dollar. This is a no-frills buffet.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank uday029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

Tried this place for lunch. It’s small place but the food is really good specially their vegetarian food. Non vegetarian food is also good but not as the vegetarian.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank sumeets2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Satkar Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Satkar Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing