We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper South Indian food with yummy Pongal”
Review of Madurai Idli Kadai

Madurai Idli Kadai
Ranked #76 of 425 Restaurants in Sunnyvale
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Very small crowded place. You will be lucky to find a place.... service, ambience all is bad... but inspite of all this folks come here for their great food.... especially pongal. I had malli dosa as well.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Puneet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

This is a small & cozy joint serving very tasty, fresh and typical South Indian tiffin…anyone wanting to have typical South Indian food…this is the place to go!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank LokeshJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

This place in a shopping mall is very small and cramped and one has to wait 30 +minutes to give your order find a seat if you are lucky and then wait for the food. I had orders the Masala Dosa and Wada Sambhar and coffee , my partner ordered a Utthappam. We sat next to couple who were there a second time and they agreed with us that food was not that good as it was the first time they were there. The Utthapam was fluffy and very good the the Sambhar was mediocre and the 3 chutneys were all disappointing. The dosa was crisp but not meaty so it felt like you were eating paper. There was not enough of the potato masala and I had to ask for more. The Wadas were a very good generous side and very light fluffy and crisp. But as I said earlier the Sambhar was disappointing
These are the perils of quick success I guess and it gets hard to maintain quality while experiencing popularity and growth. I hope Madurai Idli Kasai takes a step back and retools

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Samosababa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

Nice place to grab a quick south Indian snack. The downside is that it doesn’t have enough seats to accommodate a lot of people. The food is good though :)

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank AntonyP450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

Went to this place repeatedly over four mornings and tried multiple items.

The food is totally outstanding considering that it’s a small operation run in the US

It feels like you are back in India. I wish it opened a bit early though. Maybe by thirty minutes

Efficient ordering system and the service is reasonably fast. The prices are economical for the quality they offer

Would love to go back again when I am in that part of the US

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank rkmanchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madurai Idli Kadai also viewed

 

Been to Madurai Idli Kadai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing