We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Sunnyvale Mountain View
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Booked for a few nights in the TownPlace Suites by Marriott in Sunnyvale CA. My company recently moved to the area and I was looking for a reasonable location to lie my head. When my company travel site recommended the TownPlace at a fairly low price (for Bay Area), I was a bit nervous. Add to that the location (El Camino thru SNVL) and I was stressing.

But it's a Marriott and I trust the brand.

What a pleasant surprise! While not a 4* or anything close, the location is better than expected, tucked back away from El Camino, facing Bernardo. The rooms were VERY spacious and well appointed. The bed was outstanding and the room noise was relatively low, even with an older style AC unit in the wall.

There is even underground parking for those times when it's raining outside. Seemed that few of the guests knew this when I was there as most parked on the surface rather than park below and take a convenient elevator to their floor.

Efficient, if not overly friendly staff got me to my room in a hurry. Sparse breakfast in the morning (it's free and worth every penny), and a nice warm cookie in the evening make up the meals offered. There is a small store off the lobby that has a few things that can be warmed up in the small kitchen that my room had - microwave, full fridge, 2-burner top, coffee maker (regular size), utensils and plates/bowls/glasses. Very nice for longer stays which I anticipate in my future.

I give this place a B+ - perfect location for SNVL based companies like mine, decent location off El Camino, VERY good price compared to other hotels, and a nice new room.

Room Tip: Get a room facing AWAY from the street. Mine was VERY quiet and void of any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmerc2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    31
    30
    11
    8
See reviews for
17
15
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

First, this is one of the cleaner Towneplace Suites I have stayed in. Staff was overall helpful. However, the cheaper per night cost of stay brings with it the type of clientele that is absolutely inconsiderate of those around them. Here let me give you just a few examples for my three night stay:

Night #1- Guest decided to park literally about a foot from the passenger's side of my car. (car's wheels were literally over the white divider line) I could NOT access my passenger door and had to climb through the driver's side. There was a Christmas party at one of the suites, and I figured it was one of the (drunk) guests, but it was actually someone staying here the whole weekend.

Night #1,2,3- Guests upstairs were stomping around. Now hotel etiquette has taught me than when staying upstairs, always ALWAYS thread lightly in consideration of the guests directly below. Unfortunately, I figure, the hotel guests above me didn't just NOT thread lightly, IT seeems they were redecorating the place.

Night #2,3- Someone decided to cook Indian food in the hotel room nearby, and as such we ALL got the strong smell of curry. Again, in a hotel with a kitchenette, I was always taught NEVER to cook any strong food because of the proximity of other rooms. BUT walking around thru the hall the last two nights was like walking around an Indian restaurant. For some, that would be a plus, but the strong smell of Indian food made my stay absolutely unpleasant.

I know that I'm coming across as a hotel snob. Trust me though, because i've stayed at so many different properties, I've learned to be considerate AND follow certain unwritten rules. When I've stayed at the higher end Marriott properties catering to business travelers, I've never seem to have a problem. Unfortunately, this Marriott property caters to the type of clientele THAT may not be as experienced in being considerate of their 'immediate surroundings' and as such made my own experience ONE that i'd like to Forget. My recommendation if you are looking for a Marriott property around the area, try the Residence Inn Mountain View about 3 Miles NOrth on El Camino. It will cost a bit extra, but it's more than worth it when considering the minuses of this Towneplace Suites.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jzguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunnyvale hotels

Sacramento
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I often travel to Mountain View and this place is great for short and/or long-term business travel. Convenient and close to freeway. Front desk always nice and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkingMomSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This place is very convinient and reasonable if you are visiting Stanford. Hotels are very expensive in Palo Alto and if you don't mind a short drive along El Camino Real, this hotel is great. Here are the pros and cons:

Pros:
- Price
- Clean and decent room size
- Location (just off of 85)

Cons:
- Breakfast area and reception are exceptionally small
- Two rest rooms open right into the breakfast room and there is even a breakfast table infront of mens room door! I know they are trying to utilize space, however this is poor design and poor taste period.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

I stayed here for one night while helping family members move from CA to OR. The room was very clean and the bed was super comfortable! The friendly front desk staff was very helpful with local directions. There is a Safeway right across the street which is great for travelers spending a few days here. We did not use the kitchenette in the room, but everything was clean and appeared user-friendly. Our room was very quiet. Nice!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelady2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
1.2 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
901 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.5 km away
Courtyard Sunnyvale Mountain View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 18 in Mountain View
314 reviews
0.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
#3 of 18 in Mountain View
546 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Strata
Hotel Strata
#1 of 18 in Mountain View
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Sunnyvale Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Sunnyvale Mountain View

Property: TownePlace Suites Sunnyvale Mountain View
Address: 606 S Bernardo Ave, Sunnyvale, CA 94087-1019
Region: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,828 - ₹ 24,002
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Sunnyvale Mountain View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated all-suite hotel is within minutes of Apple, Google, SAP, Hewlett Packard and other major Silicon Valley tech headquarters. We offer comfort, convenience and affordability with free hot breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi for each guest. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, we've got you covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your TownePlace Suites Sunnyvale Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Sunnyvale- Mountain View Hotel Sunnyvale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing