We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a business hotel, but pleasant area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a business hotel, but pleasant area.”
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Ahhh.. The Corporate inn... A corporate firendly place right? Weeeeellll... We shall see. The hotel resides on a busy street on El Camino Real, which is one of the main thoroughfares in Sunnyvale. Several key points hold this hotel down.

1. Very limited shuttle service. Shuttle runs with a 72 hour notice and between 8-5. Not a good way to help the business traveler. If you bill yourself as a corporate hotel (with Corporate in it's name even) you better pull through, and this is a MAJOR problem. To the manager: Partner with another hotel, or hire someone, you NEED to fix this, or change your name.. honestly.
2. No business area. How can you call yourself a business hotel without easier access to a printer or fax? Sure the hotel will print a few pages for you, or rent you a notebook pc, but this is a stopgap, not a solution. Again.. you have the word Corporate in your name..
3. Front desk does not present themselves as a help, only a last resort. Several times the front desk could not come up with solutions, nor even try to help, when crisis arose. for example: When enterprise (We WON'T pick you up) refused rental delivery (I'm sorry, you are more than 4 miles away, we don't train are drivers to go 7 miles, that's 24 cents more in gas!), the hotel refused to shuttle to the airport, even though it was over 72 hour notice, because it was earlier than 8am... the Corporate name apply's here.. again.,. Detecting a theme here?
4. Coffemaker failed to work. Only a few outlets in the room worked. I realize that California has power grid issues, but refusing a business traveler coffee? ugh. (Asked front desk to fix, however nothing done)
5. Comcast cable with no info about programming, and unable to find free HBO. Not there. honestly. HBO booklet was there, but no channel.
6. Not a business issue, but the pool area is in a horrble location. Who came up with the pool in the middle of the main drag? So everyone can see you? From the street even? and from their room balconies? The water is always freezing.. The hot tub is TINY. I mean Paris and her sister could MAYBE squeeze in there.
7. If tinkling sounds make you pee, avoid this hotel. The courtyard has a loud fountain, and with the windows closed you hear a constant tinkle sound.. at least from my room.
8. This hotel is RIGHT ON THE STREET. I can't emphasize this enough. If there is a firetruck or police car at 1am you may jump out of your bed screaming for your mother, it is that loud. Luckily, this happened only occasionally.

Several items were very pleasant however.

1. The room is furnished very nicely. Counter area for laptop
2. There IS free wireless and also a T1 for those without.
3. Breakfast is quite tolerable, if a bit limited compared to say a LaQuinta.
4. People are friendly when approached, however do not really go out of their way to greet.
5. Free paper on weekdays.
6. Beds are comfy, with no critters.
7. Lots of storage areas.
8. Rooms are large.
9. Beds are very comfortable.

In conclusion I would recommend this hotel at a reduced rate if you traveled with a rental car (Not Enterprise.. don't hurt yourself like that), and expected no business related help from the hotel, do not like coffee, are a very sound sleeper, and have a great body for everyone to see at the pool..

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoaningMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    60
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
26
11
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

The name Corporate "Inn" did not really appeal to me when I was looking for accommodation in Sunnyvale last month. I did some reading on their review here and decided that it could be really worth giving it a try.

Check in was quick. Walk through the hallway to the room left me wondering if I chose the right place. Everything looked pretty bland. However; once I stepped into the room my impressions changed. The room was large, naturally well lit, partitioned decently between living and sleeping area. Furniture and the interiors looked a little cheap but, was very functional. Work desk was large and convenient.

Being on El Camino, I was a little worried about the traffic noise. But once you are inside the property, you would hardly hear any noise. Quality of sleep I got was very good over here.

Breakfast that comes with the room is decent too. They serve both hot and cold breakfast and the spread is impressive; especially since it is included with the room rate.

The location of the property is the highlight. Everything is at a walking distance from the hotel. Starbucks is next door in a shopping area. There are plenty of restaurants at a walking distance and the "Crazy buffet" right opposite the hotel.

Overall, I would think this is a good place to stay on a quick business trip. I would go back here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InsaneNirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

We stayed in a queen suite with a pull-out sofa bed. Ask for this if you are staying with 3-4 people as not all sofas open out to bed. The place is very quiet, even during the week when they are more crowded. Good things: Very clean inside and out; free, fast Internet and local phone calls; modern room decor and layout; small, secure property; windows and sliding door that opens to courtyard; small kitchen with two burners, microwave, and fridge; welcome chocolates and water bottle; great breakfast with many hot items daily that rotate so you don't get bored; steam room; pleasant service. Bad things: Underground parking garage with tricky to navigate columns (I damaged my driver's side door to the tune of $1800 and could see scrapes from previous incidents), outdated binder of information (restaurants out of business, maid service hours inaccurate, etc.); TV is small and only one in the room even if you have a living room; pool and hot tub are very small (hot tub capacity is 4, don't try to swim laps in the pool). But all in all, great place to stay -- we are local and checked out many places before deciding to stay here while a home project was underway.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanwired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Our family needed a local place to stay for a couple of days while our home was fumigated for termites. We wanted to be close to our usual school & activities. Also, high speed internet was a must, since my husband & I both do some work from home. The Corporate Inn met, and even exceeded, our expectations.

The room was separated into living (sofabed, kitchenette, workstation) and sleeping (queen bed, closet, vanity, bath) areas by a builtin drawer & tv unit plus a semi-closed divider. The single tv swivels to face either area. I was thrilled to find the cable service was the normal one for Sunnyvale homes, not a limited 'hotel' band. E.g., including Sci Fi, Comedy Central, Nick, Cartoon Network, all the local PBS stations, MSNBC etc. shown in Pacific time. Too often, I find CA hotels show Cartoon Network Adult Swim at kid's prime time.

One wall of the living area provided a well planned work center. The table was long enough for two computer workers. There was helpful task lighting, plenty of plugs, and decent WiFi service. Using the wired internet provided better service than I have at home! The setup was much nicer than many I have experienced on business trips.

The property was surprisingly nice. One courtyard contained a pool & hot tub, with access to the fitness center. A second courtyard was attractively decorated with plants, making a serene sitting area.

The location on El Camino Real would be convenient for business in Sunnyvale, Cupertino, or Santa Clara. This is the middle of suburbia, so less convenient for tourists.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Fine place for business travel. Rooms were clean and spacious. WiFi signal was kind of slow/weak (but free!). Front desk staff couldn't recommend restaurants, which was somewhat annoying. Free parking was nice. Oh, happy-hour with free beer was a nice touch. Free breakfast was not too bad, some hot items.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMaster9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
2.8 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
931 reviews
1.3 km away
The Domain Hotel
The Domain Hotel
#4 of 33 in Sunnyvale
958 reviews
0.5 km away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#6 of 33 in Sunnyvale
373 reviews
6.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
2.7 km away
Cupertino Inn
Cupertino Inn
#1 of 6 in Cupertino
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corporate Inn Sunnyvale? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corporate Inn Sunnyvale

Property: Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
Address: 805 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087-2937
Region: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,087 - ₹ 22,786
Hotel Class:3 star — Corporate Inn Sunnyvale 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale offers spacious studio suites with full kitchenettes, complimentary buffet breakfast served daily, free Internet access and meeting space all within minutes from downtown San Jose in Silicon Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Corporate Inn Sunnyvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corporate Hotel Sunnyvale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing