We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
35
27
31
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
27
31
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews charging station manager george airport shuttle nice bed free shuttle basic hotel needed a place to stay an older hotel quiet room within walking distance waffles short stay would stay again hotel is located san francisco per night shuttle service
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights during Salesforce’s Dreamforce event because it was a good bit less expensive than SFran hotels. Now I know why... at best, a 2 star hotel. Room was not cleaned one day, strange. Most room doors had chipped paint on the bottoms. Breakfast was the proverbial minimum bowls of cereal, pancake griddle, hard boiled eggs, juices and coffee. Tiny sink outside small bathrooms. The only positive thing was the room was quiet, bed was fine, and it is located near, not next, the airport. Photos on website make it appear a lot better than reality.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Focus SFO, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Scott C,

Thank you for your review. Your comments are very important to us as they help us improve for our future guests. We are pleased to hear your room was quiet and comfortable. Please accept our sincere apology your room was not cleaned one day. We will be sure to notify the appropriate manager. We hope you will give us another try in the future.

Warm regards,
Hotel Focus SFO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

After United Airlines couldn’t do their simple job of flying from LAX to SFO on time and we missed our connecting flight to Auckland NZ by a mere 15 minutes, we waited in line for 3 hours to be told by their “customer service” agent that we would not even get accommodations for overnight stays despite a 24 hour delay, we were on our own with a huge number of flights with stranded customers (United specifically) all having missed connections, needing hotels and a huuuuge convention in town that took up almost every room in the city, rooms that normally go for around $100 we’re going for $400 plus. We called this hotel and the lady was kind and held literally their last room for us, gave us a $20 discount because she saw our distress with the airline (UNITED, was I unclear?) and provided everything we needed with great service and attitude, which was true of the next day staff we interacted with as well. Also they provided a free shuttle back to the airport for us and were all around great! Sad that United couldn’t be bothered to do a single thing for their customers. When you get service and a company who actually cares, it sure stands out compared to those that don’t.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ethan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Focus SFO, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Ethan A,

We are sorry to hear about your recent travel experience at the airport. However, we are delighted to know our staff provided exceptional customer service to you during that stressful time. Thank you for your wonderful comments and we will be sure to let our staff know of your kind words. We hope to welcome you back again the next time you are in San Francisco.

Warm regards,
Hotel Focus SFO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Was transiting via SFO and chose Focus as it was close to the airport and reasonable priced.

Positives
- very helpful front desk staff. I had a last minute packing issue and the team were very helpful
- good, though simple, breakfast
- comfortable bed and room

Negatives
- my bedroom faced the road so it was more noisy than i would have expected. Make sure you get a room facing inward
- close to airport but otherwise in No - Mans land - you have to go back to the airport to catch the Bart (not disclosed very clearly on their website). No restaurants to walk to. So fine if you have a car or there for a very short time
- the airport shuttle at time of pick up was very late and the driver was very rude. Fortunately i had another driver on the way back who was fabulous.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank AK6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Best option near SFO for budget I've found. Clean room, nice bed, surprising bonus of robe. Basic continental breakfast. Regular free airport shuttle. Nice garden patio. Downside is no restaurant on site.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank dbabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Focus SFO, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear dbabz,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed you stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Hotel Focus SFO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

I find reviewing the Hotel Focus does take a little FOCUS. Focusing on the Good and Bad.

GOOD Location: Located close to Freeway access for travel into San Francisco or Peninsula. There is not doubt that the location is great... Close to Airport, yet close to everything else.

BAD Location: You're kind of in No MANS land next to the freeway. Nothing around. If you're going to be traveling to see San Francisco and don't mind driving into the City or using Public Transit, you're in OK shape.

Good Service: Rooms cleaned everyday and they offer airport shuttle.

BAD Service: Guest computer was down and front desk wasn't very savvy on printing boarding passes without you giving them your personal info.. Room wasn't always fully restocked with towels and the like.

Good Amenities: Premium Coffee in the room. Multi-port charger in room. Showers Hot. Iron, Hair dryer and ironing Board. TV was large and offered many channels. AC worked good. Offered Breakfast.

BAD Amenities: Beds were hard, Rooms were small and cramped. No Fridge or Microwave. One chair, NO Desk. No closet or Bathroom counter space. Breakfast consists of Bread, cereal, fruit, hardboiled eggs, coffee, tea, bagels..... all kind of nasty. Charge for parking...

Good Facility Conditions: Everything worked in the rooms. Building older, but OK. Rooms Clean but had cleaning solution smell.

Bad Facility Conditions: One elevator that was kinda clunky and old. The rooms are a cross of newer and older furnishings. Cleaning solution smells. There is definite wear seen all over facility.. Windows dirty.

Conclusion: If the room was less cramped and the bed was more comfortable, I would have been happier, but overall... the place is OK with a few annoyances.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Focus SFO, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Mike W,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Focus SFO. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments good or bad as they help us improve for our future guests.

Warm regards,
Hotel Focus SFO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews