We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,233)
Filter reviews
1,233 results
Traveller rating
603
449
138
31
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
603
449
138
31
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews adjacent restaurant free breakfast on site restaurant gold country room was clean yosemite national park no elevator best westerns great place to stay fridge and microwave flat screen tv black oak casino coffee maker dodge ridge bw motel california
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 1,233 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2017

This place is just great! The room was super comfortable, everything worked, and we were very, very pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, the furniture was absolutely adequate, the beds were very comfortable and we had great access to our car from the room. We felt like we really got our money's worth here - every detail was taken care of. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. On a frosty morning, one of the service techs offered me his arm to get across the parking lot and then helped to defrost our car windows. My one issue is that our room did not have an ADA toilet, but staff at check out said they could have resolved that if we had just called. Would always come back here if in the area - no need to try anything else.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

We will share your comments about our teams' service and care. They love to read these reviews. We are pleased your found the room clean, the beds comfortable and the great value of the hotel. We hope to see you again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We live in Sonora and had to use a hotel to spend the night because of snow conditions at our home. We would not stay anywhere else in town except at this hotel-always good and never a disappointment. Restaurant is also a good mix with the hotel-they offer breakfast with the room and the breakfast is excellent and very filling.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Thank you for your compliments from a local's perspective. We do offer special rates in some cases for these mountain emergencies. We sure had a lot of great snow this last view weeks. The drought is over for this year! We are pleased you enjoyed the Complimentary Hot Breakfast, too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017

No frills but this hotel met my needs. It was clean and the staff friendly and helpful, an overall good value. I found the beds too hard and have the usual complaint that people smoke too close to entrances and exits. After leaving Sonora, we stayed two nights at the at Yosemite View Lodge. The hotel experience at Sonora Oaks was far superior.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelinman_CA, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Thank you for sharing that the Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel is better than others in the area. Due to the efforts of our team, we are voted the Best Hotel in the County, and parts of Yosemite are in our county, too. I agree that it is irritating to have smokers around doorways outside. We are a non-smoking property; and even provide a removed smoking area. We will watch that more carefully. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017

My family and I came to stay so we could take our daughter that was turning nine to the snow. The staff was very and helpful when it came to telling us where to go for snow. Very nice hotel we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 132cassandrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelinman_CA, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

We are pleased that our team could provide the extra help and area information. We certainly have plenty of snow now for play. See you next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Stayed here one night with family in a King Suite before going up to play in the snow. The great: Location, Location, Location; friendly staff, good value in my opinion, the room had everything you could want (q-tips, cotton balls, hair dryer, tv, desk); shower was nice for drought stricken CA. The bad: the king bed was uncomfortable and the sofa bed was very thin - it was the first time our kids complained of a sofa bed "wires are poking me". If the beds were average, then we would stay here every time - right off the freeway, close to snow, great staff.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Thank you for your kind words and feedback. Your comments about beds will be noted. Beds are a personal experience and the comments vary from guest to guest. There are some guests that want to purchase the beds sets, too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews