We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mix up on my reservation”
Review of Gunn House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gunn House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Sunnyvale, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mix up on my reservation”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

By the title of this review you would think that I was unhappy with the Gunn House Hotel. But that is not the case. I thought that I had a reservation at the Gunn House Hotel in Sonora in March for a Celtic Festival that I work every year. Unfortunately, there was a mix up on my part and they did not have a room for me. I was extremely disappointed because I love this hotel. But, they helped me find another room (not nearly as nice but close by) and invited my traveling compainion and I to enjoy the wonderful Gunn House breakfast both mornings of our stay. And the manager made sure that I was the first person she contacted when she started taking reservations for this event next year. That is customer service!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scotsladye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    128
    36
    17
    11
See reviews for
106
183
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed at the Gunn House for a friend's wedding in Sonora. The hotel has tons of character, and all staff were exceptionally friendly. Located on the main street of downtown Sonora, we could walk everywhere.

Minus one star as the lock on our room door had issues (really hard to open the door with the key) and the shower had lukewarm water and really low pressure.

What truly made our stay was the incredibly delicious breakfast served each day. Everything is homemade and the variety and quality of the food was amazing.

Room Tip: I would try to book a room away from the main street. It gets a bit loud with all the passing traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank triiiangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We enjoyed this place very much !
It is an old historic building with a balcony with rocking chairs which I just loved, we rocked away the evening with a cold drink,, super friendly staff, quaint room, and came with a lovely free breakfast.
All for a great price, would stay there again for sure !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MasterBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Ideally located, this is the oldest hotel in town. Room are correct, very clean.
Breakfast is huge and homemade.
Price is a bit high but at the end this is ok.
Swimming pool available.
Place full of hist. Highly recommanded for your stay in sonora or in yosemite if you have only a day to visiT.
You even have a teddy bear on your bed.... And a free parking!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Uatu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, Calif.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Noisy and old updated rooms. Not modern with some charm. Lots of early morning noise on the street and the area. Check out other options in the area before you stay here unless you like lace, frills and floral prints everywhere.

Room Tip: Not my first choice in this area unless you want a noisy location with an old style room. It is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CalifTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora
4.3 km away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
4.4 km away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
161 reviews
0.2 km away
INNS of California-Sonora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sonora Inn
Sonora Inn
#5 of 8 in Sonora
223 reviews
0.2 km away
Rodeway Inn Sonora
Rodeway Inn Sonora
#6 of 8 in Sonora
54 reviews
4.4 km away
The Palm Hotel
The Palm Hotel
#3 of 3 in Jamestown
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunn House Hotel

Property: Gunn House Hotel
Address: 286 S Washington St, Sonora, CA 95370-5022
Region: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,984 - ₹ 13,990
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gunn House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oldest historic hotel in Sonora. Experience a bit of the past in one of the antique apponted rooms. Innkeepers breakfast each morning. Easy walking distance to great shopping and wonderful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Gunn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gunn Hotel Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing