We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a sad run down for $130”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
INNS of California-Sonora
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed one night in a room of a decent size and unpleasant smell, enclosed by walls made of paper, with tiny windows, and linoleum and carpets dirty. The bed was good and the only decent thing. We could hear the neighbors breathing at night and learned all about them from their quiet morning conversation. A TV, iron, and hair-drier do not justify the room price, neither the breakfast called "continental" yet consisting of a toast, coffee and apple with no tables to sit at but a pile of boxes to have it to go. The staff is not unpleasant, yet far from competent. No complaints if this was a $30 room.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room with no neighbors on the side, yet better avoid this hotel altogether.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magellan_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INNSofCalifornia, Manager at INNS of California-Sonora, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that your stay at our hotel was unsatisfactory.

We are currently in the process of upgrading our rooms. We have added microwaves and refrigerators to almost all our rooms now. We are also currently upgrading the bedding and carpet. I regret that you were not provided with one of these rooms and that we were unaware of the situation until you had already gone. Please, in the future, note that we are open 24/7 and will do everything we can to correct a situation so you don’t leave unhappy.

From your statements it would appear that our breakfast must have been in the process of being cleaned up for the day when you arrived. The toasters are usually the last item put away and the coffee and apples are provided all day long. Our breakfast consists of muffins, danish, toast with butter and jam, bagels with cream cheese, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, coffee, tea, juice, milk, and cold cereal. Unfortunately, when the hotel was built we did not provide a breakfast. Therefore, the lobby was not designed to provide enough seating. We are working on the problem, but we do currently provide convenient trays to take your food back to your room or out to enjoy your breakfast poolside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for INNS of California-Sonora
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed here before heading off to Yosemite. The staff were wonderful, very friendly and helpful - couldn't be nicer. Our room was fine, it was what we expected it to be. Only real complaint about the room would be that the walls were quite thin so we could here next door :/
Great laundry facilities, excellent wi-fi, decent breakfast...
Would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan33_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INNSofCalifornia, General Manager at INNS of California-Sonora, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback, good or bad. I'm a happy to hear that our staff was so great during your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Stayed here for one night during a road trip and couldn't leave soon enough.
The room we had was the deluxe queen. But nothing was deluxe in this room. It smelled and was very dated. We turned the airconditioning on the moment we arrived as it had been a hot day with temperatures in the upper 90s. Directly after that we went to dinner. After returning to the room, we did not notice any change in temperature. The airco seemed just to be blowing air without cooling it. Tried to open windows, but there were only two small windows that could be opened. Opening did not have any effect, it stayed hot in the room and I did barely sleep. The next morning it was a relief to get outside. Breathe fresh and cooler air.
Breakfast was served between 6 and 9. It contained yoghurt, corn flakes, bagels, muffins, coffee, thee and some chemical tasting juices. You need to know that the breakfast is served in the lobby, but there was no space to eat it in the lobby and you need to eat it in your smelly room.
Staff was very friendly. Nothing to complain about that! But the hotel needs its overdue renovation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pault9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INNSofCalifornia, General Manager at INNS of California-Sonora, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our property. Your comments are truly helpful in finding ways to improve.

I am sorry that you had a bad experience with the air conditioner in your room. Unfortunately we can't predict when something will need repairs, but we do service them regularly. A quick call to the front desk can correct most problems promptly, as great customer service is our top priority.

While we don't have seating in our lobby for breakfast, we don't want anyone to feel that they need to eat in their room. We have found that eating poolside is quite popular by most guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We were staying here as a night stop so we could pan for gold in Columbia and visit James town.It was a good hotel in a convienent spot.Easy to find the rooms were clean and of a good size for all five of us.The pool was a little decieving as it was right on the main road for all to watch whilst driving past however when it is a quick dip that you want after a busy day it did the job.We stayed on the ground floor by choice and the rooms were clean but a little old the air con took a while to get going,once up and running it was fine.The staff were very attentive and breakfast was just the norm.It did just the job for a one night stay and we were given fresh towels for the pool.We had a fab meal on the high street and we would def stay there again if passing through.....

Room Tip: Ground floor was ok no noise at all.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenny o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed at this motel because we were going to a concert in Murphy's. The town of Murphy's, as well as Angels Camp were COMPLETELY sold out. The only thing left was this motel and one other. This one had higher tripadvisor ratings so we chose to stay here. We were pleasantly surprised at how friendly and helpful the staff was. They even guided us to a wonderful eatting establishment walking distance from the motel.
The room itself was average. Nothing fancy, but it was clean! We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wendybird23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora
4.2 km away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 km away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
405 reviews
4.4 km away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
0.4 km away
Sonora Inn
Sonora Inn
#4 of 8 in Sonora
226 reviews
0.4 km away
Rodeway Inn Sonora
Rodeway Inn Sonora
#6 of 8 in Sonora
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to INNS of California-Sonora? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INNS of California-Sonora

Address: 350 S Washington St, Sonora, CA 95370-5020
Region: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range: ₹ 5,473 - ₹ 8,950 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — INNS of California-Sonora 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Downtown Sonora, you will be within easy walking distance to many local restaurants and unique shops. Stay and enjoy our seasonally heated pool and spa, and then venture off and enjoy all that this beautiful community has to offer. Explore Moaning Caverns, gamble at Black Oak Casino, or stroll through the state historic parks-- whatever your interests, you will love coming back to your clean, cozy room at Inns of California Sonora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your INNS of California-Sonora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of California-Sonora Hotel Sonora
Hotel Of California Sonora
California Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing