We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Sonoma on the Square.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Sunnyvale, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Sonoma on the Square.”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The staff was welcoming and helpful. The Hotel is two stories and they carried our luggage to our room (no elevators). The hotel is very clean and rooms nicely, simply done...balconies with chair, should you want to sit and enjoy fresh air, overlooking the square.

There are two restaurants...for breakfast a cute coffee shop (ala Starbucks)....and the restaurant has a beautiful menu and the food was gourmet...delicious. There is a room with fireplace you can sit in before dinner and have your cocktail..they will serve you dinner there if you should want. Waiters were all so gracious.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sutro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    125
    33
    27
    13
See reviews for
31
184
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Let me begin with saying that, I have a strange fear of bed and breakfasts so I wanted more of a hotel type of place. They have a restaurant on site which is nice, no room service which is ok, at least food near by. You are also in the central part of Sonoma's town square which is cute and close to a breakfast place next door, as well as The Girl & The Fig which is fantastic as well, I highly recommend you try it out, especially since it's less than half a block away from the hotel and you can enjoy all the wine you like and walk back to your room.

The room is quaint and comfortable, we walked around the town the first day we got their and were able to do wine tastings at a few different locations within a block of our hotel, it is really central to everything.

We hired a car service the following day and had them drive us around to multiple wineries, wonderful time in Sonoma, we were told by locals its better than Napa as it's less touristy.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnnygirl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauwatosa, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We were choosing before several hotels in the area before deciding on El Dorado. The price is great, it is centrally located and the rooms are very comfortable. There is a cafe that great for a quick breakfast in the morning, a fantastic snack around lunch or a beer at the end of the night. The bed is very comfortable and the room was spacious enough for us to be comfortable without feeling cramped. Our room also had a small but cute balcony that overlooked the street.

If you happen to find the Wine Not deal for an extra $50 a night, you should treat yourself to it. It sounds too good to be true. For $50 more for the night you get two 3 course meals at the El Dorado Kitchen. The oysters and cheeses (and of course drinks) are not included that deal but everything else is included. We had Tuna Tartare and the Wagyu Beef Carpacci as the starter, they were both incredible. For dinner my wife went with the Scallops and I went the the Prime New York Steak. Once again these were both amazing dishes. We then moved onto dessert which we ordered the Fried Pumpkin pie with funnel cake and cheescake. These desserts were over the top delicious. All of this for an extra $50 was so very well worth it!

We would gladly recommend this hotel and restaurant to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The El Dorado was a great place to stay while in Sonoma for an evening! Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room, very clean with plenty of space, with the exception being the bathroom. It was large enough, for sure, but I felt a bit restricted when it came time to shave. Would I stay at the El Dorado again?? Without a doubt!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavenChictown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The El Dorado Hotel in Sonoma was a nice place. It's a small boutique hotel with limited staff and service, but very charming. The building is over a 100 years old but the rooms were comfortable. The location is also great, there is tons of stuff to walk to near by, including restaurants and shops. We stayed 2 week nights in October and the noise from outside was bothersome. I was expecting it to be off the beaten path, but since it's adjacent to the town square there is a lot of noise at night. I'm sure on the weekends it's worse. That's the reason for the 4 stars instead of 5.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennNC02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.3 km away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
1.4 km away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
649 reviews
1.1 km away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.3 km away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#4 of 11 in Sonoma
203 reviews
0.1 km away
Sonoma Hotel
Sonoma Hotel
#10 of 11 in Sonoma
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen

Property: El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Address: 405 1st St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-6608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,834 - ₹ 33,602
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the historic downtown Sonoma Plaza, 45 minutes north of San Francisco, our boutique hotel reflects the simple charm of the wine country as well as the urban sophistication of our guests.From world class dining at our El Dorado Kitchen, to relaxing poolside, to enjoying the area’s many local activities the El Dorado Hotel is a one of a kind destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Hotel And Kitchen
El Dorado Hotel Kitchen
El Dorado Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing