We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Buffet Breakfast Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Buffet Breakfast Ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Breakfast was the best aspect of our stay. Usually, in my opinion, hotel buffet breakfasts are mediocre at best with dry, overcooked imitation scrambled eggs & limp bacon. Wine Valley Inn's buffet featured hash browns, sausage patties, & fluffy scrambled eggs - all perfectly cooked. They also offered the usual Continental Breakfast fare, such as healthy cereals, breads, pastries, fruit, yogurt & juices.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorrisworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    422
    227
    114
    57
See reviews for
237
623
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
231 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

First, I want to say that I've stayed at the Wine Valley Inn several times before and, if reviewed at that time, would have given it four (loft suite) or five (cottage) stars. We love this property and the friendly people who work there! And the location is great! It's off the main street, so you're not hearing traffic all night.
This trip we had a great "Living Social Deal" so were booked into a "Deluxe king" room in the clock tower area. Not impressed. The room was long and narrow. The bathroom seemed like an afterthought. It had a nice long shower, but when you sat on the toilet, your knees were up against the shower curtain. The sink was outside the bathroom, next to the bed! There was no bathroom counter on which to place toiletries, nor was there a nightstand on that side of the bed. Shortly before we were to leave, the bathroom electricity apparently blew a fuse or tripped a circuit, because neither the fan nor the light worked after that.
We were on the second floor (overlooking the parking lot), so fortunately we were able to open the window because the air conditioner blew really cold air. The fireplace was nice. It could be set with a remote to either give you "mood" flames (which don't heat up the room) or flames providing heat. Nice touch.
The bed was comfortable. The honor bar extensive and reasonably priced (chips, nuts, wine soft drinks, water), for those who like that kind of thing (we don't ever use the honor bar).
Our room had a little refrigerator and a room safe..always a nice touch. And free wifi!
There was a wine, crackers and cheese reception in the evening and a breakfast buffet in the morning. It is not your usual continental breakfast...much better. It included local pastries (life is good!), bread for toast, waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, hash browns, assorted cereals, fresh fruits and beverages.
In the "living room" area between the lobby and the breakfast room there are two computers for use by guests. A nice touch for those who don't travel with their own computers.
We'll be back! I just think we'll avoid the clock tower rooms.

Room Tip: If available, the cottages are really the best!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingrandma91355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My husband and I came up for 2 nights. The hotel was very cute and definitely added to the charm of Solvang. We decided to stay at the Wine Valley Inn because of the different rooms, and it was dog friendly. The staff was pleasant and very nice. The first night we stayed in the loft suite, but due to an issue with the air conditioning, we moved into a cottage suite the next night. The wine reception from 5-7pm was a nice touch, and it was nice to relax after a day of shopping and sweets. The staff even offered to watch our pup while we walked around the town. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digitalmunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach
Level Contributor
221 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Wife and I stayed here for an overnighter through a "living social" deal. We thought it gave good value for the money....the staff is very friendly and accomodating. We arrived around 2pm and our room was ready. It was on the third floor so lots of stairs, an elevator will take you to second floor but have to take steps up to third floor. Our room was clean and unique as hotel rooms go. It looks like they built rooms in awkward areas because the room has two levels with a step down to bedroom area. Nice fireplace with 2 hour firelog to use was nice, but the only way to heat the room was that, or the air conditioner in wall using the heat strip on it, and as the walls are as you've most likely read by now are "paper thin".....all night long you hear air conditioners all around your room kicking on and off heating/cooling the rooms. Ear plug will help, but with no central heating/air it is noisy. We did hear the conversations in the next room clearly. Wine social in evening is nice, and breakfast is quite adiquate provided in morning. Lots to walk around as see/shop/wine taste around town....very good location.

Room Tip: Pet friendly you'll see lots of furkids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Had a great stay here. Two nights in a third floor room. it was clean, it was spacious and it was pet-friendly. In fact, we found much of the town to be very pet-friendly. (Just ask, before you drag the pup into their tasting room.)

If you are coming to this hotel for it's free breakfast. Don't. You will be disappointed. But that is it's only downside. They try, but it seems they would be better off just offering a Continental Breakfast, what with all the bakeries in the town of Solvang. The eggs, sausage, and hash browns are sad looking and flavorless. A tray full of Croissants, Aebleskivers, and Danishes, jams and spreads, maybe even some fresh fruit, would look and work so much better. And be more fitting to the quaint hotel they run.

If you are coming for it's charm, it's friendly staff, it's evening wine bar, and it's central location, then you will be very pleased. This is a great launching point for a weekend of wine-tasting. Be sure to mention that you are staying here, because they have partnerships with many of the tasting rooms for 2-for-1's.

And absolutely stop by next door at Sevtap and meet Arturo. He has delicious wines. He's very kind. And the recommendations he gave my Fiancee and I were spot on. In fact, if you are normal, friendly, and easy going, you will find many of the locals more than happy to pass on a tip for the next place to visit (Demetria Winery) or the best place to eat (Grappolos).

Enjoy your stay here, and skip the free breakfast. I mean, there are quite a number of great little bakeries, coffee shops, and diners in town, that will satisfy your need for coffee and eggs. And let the Wine Valley Inn satisfy your need for a warm, comfy bed and a clean, cozy room.

PS...When you visit Sevtap, and if you don't your nuts, try the Merlot...I know, I know, it's Merlot, we are supposed to hate it...but ignore "Miles's bias" and try it anyway.

Room Tip: Fewer rooms on the third floor, so less traffic outside your door in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZekeZelenker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.4 km away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.1 km away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.3 km away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
6.2 km away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,260 - ₹ 17,539
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing