We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
74
99
62
16
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
99
62
16
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach access breakfast room is free breakfast screen door short walk within walking distance covered parking hi express decent breakfast fridge and microwave stay there again late checkout pool and jacuzzi other hotels in the area per day stayed here for nights ice machine
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2018

We stayed here for one night while passing through the area. We were greeted warmly and checked-in quickly (and given fresh, warm chocolate chip cookies! Nice touch). Room was very clean, bed was comfy. Breakfast in the morning was great, more than expected - with lots of choices. Walk-able to the beach, in a very safe and quiet neighborhood. But where the heart of this review comes from is the AMAZING service we received upon realizing I had left my wedding band on the nightstand. We called (almost 24 hours later!) to ask if it had been turned in, with no luck. After doing a little research, they discovered the head of housekeeping had put my ring in their safe. They were SO responsive and attentive to us, it was unbelievable! I had my ring back, in Arizona, within 48 hours. Andi, the GM, is outstanding. I can't thank you enough for such a pleasant stay in your hotel, and for restoring my faith in humanity!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jamie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andi C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Jamie: it was absolutely our pleasure to assist you! We can't even begin to imagine the panic that sets in when something so sentimental is not in your possession. We understand the importance in getting that back to you as fast as humanly (postally) possible! Moreso, it is such a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed the check-in experience, and overall stay with our team. Let me tell you - once those cookies start baking guests comes from all over the hotel to snag a few. Best possible scent program the hotel could ever have! We hope you and your husband had a wonderful rest of your summer, and we look forward to hosting you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

We had a lovely sleep in a very nice room and the included breakfast was exceptionally good for this type of hotel. The room was quiet and clean, and we would certainly recommend this centrally located location.

Room tip: a room farther away from HWY 101 is probably quieter than other rooms.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andi C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Susan: Thank you for the fantastic review. It is such a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast each morning - a great way to start the day! As you noted, we are centrally located to anything you might want to do in the area - beach, Del Mar, downtown San Diego, etc. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

This really is a brilliant hotel.
We've stayed before and it just gets better.
The staff are excellent from Andi the General Manager to Paul and Geoff on reception to Linda in Housekeeping and Rosy who organises breakfast. There are others too many to mention but without exception they are all cheerful, thoughtful and helpful and go out of their way and do that bit more to make you feel at home.
The rooms are just fine being very clean and offering all you would want, though a towel rail in the bathroom would be good. Comfortable beds and a choice of pillows !!
The location is very good for beach, shops, Del Mar races and down town.
Having stayed in 5 star hotels around the world, this hotel definitely ranks high in our opinion.
We will certainly return.

Room tip: top floor rooms are good, but I'm sure they all are.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andi C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach. I know I speak for our entire team when I say what a pleasure it was to have the opportunity to host you back again! It's travelers such as your self who really bring life to our property - to be able to speak from previous experience, and highlight the positive changes you see along the way. Our team loved having the chance to chat with you and hear about your adventures for the day - you two certainly know how to travel! Wishing you warmth and happiness this holiday season, and we look forward to your next trip across the pond!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

This place is amazing! The staff was professional, courteous and genuinely happy and helpful. The lobby was beautiful. Our room was clean and orderly. Beds were super comfy. The view from our room was nothing to write home about, but we weren't there for a view from our room. Parking was convenient and breakfast was abundant in quantity, quality and choices. The room to eat breakfast in was glorious!

We were a 5 minute walk to Dog Beach (one of our favorite places to visit). Lots of dining options nearby and a short 5 minute drive to Del Mar shopping and dining. The Del Mar Racetrack was just about across the street. Close to EVERTHING!!

It will be too long until we can get back to this place. Can't wait for our next visit. Fans for life!

Room tip: The way the hotel is situated on the property doesn't allow for a great view from anywhere.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thefaziofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andi C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review! We are so pleased to hear that we hit your expectations during your stay. Our guests' complete satisfaction is what we constantly strive for - and we are so glad to hear that the cleanliness, accommodations, level of service, and location were all exactly what you were looking for. We hope to have the chance to host you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Booked this hotel through Air Canada travel and got a really good price. The hotel is close to two beaches on South Coast Highway 101, so that I was able to go to the beach for a stroll every morning, watching people surfing, fishing, walking dogs. The hotel itself was a bit dated, but relatively clean. The staff was very warm and welcoming. I arrived at the hotel 3 hours early to the check-in time, but the lady at the front desk was able to have the room ready while I went for lunch at one of the nearby places she recommended. I think I will be back if going to Solana Beach again.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
3  Thank 238hawkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andi C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

HawkC: Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We are so glad to hear that you found our hotel through Air Canada Travel and enjoyed your experience with us. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to detail some of the aspects that make Solana Beach so special - beach strolls, people watching, and dogs certainly make for a relaxing vacation around here! It's through feedback such as yours that future guests can really get a feel for what makes our little town so unique. We are pleased to hear that our team was welcoming and warm, and further added to such a great trip for you. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews