We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
72
98
62
16
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
98
62
16
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseasy walk to the beachbreakfast room isfree breakfastscreen doorcovered parkingfridge and microwavestay there againlate checkoutpool and jacuzziother hotels in the areaice machineper daystayed here for nightsparking feegreat roombalconycereal
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2017

I was in town briefly for business, and just needed an inexpensive place to stay for the night before I moved on the San Diego.
There was really no cheap option in this entire area, but the Holiday Inn Express was thee least expensive of about 10-12 other locations I checked out.
Good location, clean and quiet rooms, and plenty of parking.
Good Italian restaurant next door.

Room Tip: Don't park on the street behind the hotel, you'll get a ticket.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Partssales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Karen Chavez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We have stayed at this location before and it is a good value for the area, however the facility needs some cleaning up especially the carpets. Since our last visit they have started charging $3 a night for parking, another profit center but they are not putting any money into the building. The breakfast is very good and so is the coffee. And the location is great if your travels take you anywhere from Encinitas to Del Mar.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,
Karen Chavez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Stayed here with IHG points but going rate was about $160 a night which I would consider a little high, but this is a more expensive part of the country. I think 3 things are critical to hotel stays - Location, Sleep, and Shower.

LOCATION: 5/5 Close to the highway, right next to some nice dining options, and a 5-minute walk to the beach!

GOOD SLEEP: 4/5 Comfortable bedding and while it was a wall mount AC/ Heater unit, it wasn't too loud.

SHOWER: 4/5 Old tub style shower that looked a little aged, but it was hot and good water pressure.

The property and room is pretty much what I would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. However, the staff were all very friendly, and the breakfast was above average with a great selection of oatmeal, pancake bar, omelets, meats, pastries, fresh cinnamon rolls, and many beverage selections. They charge $3 a day to park at this hotel which seems a little unnecessary given it is really not in an urban area. Overall, this is a nice option for staying 25 minutes outside of San Diego and having access to a pretty beach.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank usflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Karen Chavez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

This hotel was close to our meeting place in Solana, the area is pricey for hotels in general, and this hotel was reasonable and comfortable. They have a breakfast that is included. It does need some updating, however for the price and the service level for the staff, it was a good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floors near the back to get away from the traffic in the front. Near a boulevard.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Karen Chavez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Was grateful to have only spent one night here (2/6/17) and i didn't sleep at all until I put ear plugs in. The walls are paper thin and so are the ceilings. I could here the people above me and to the sides of me all night.

The pictures posted on the HI website are even close to what you actually get. The hotel is run down. The glazing on the bathroom tub was flaking off, the carpets are threadbare and look very dingy. Not a welcoming site when you travel and are looking forward to resting. I will say that despite the overall lack of care to this property, it was clean.

he hotel has a good breakfast, with eggs, pre-made cheese omelettes, a selection of pastries and cereals, and a pancake machine.

The "fitness room" consists of ONE treadmill and ONE bike.

I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TouringSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Karen Chavez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews