We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We have stayed at this location before and it is a good value for the area, however the facility needs some cleaning up especially the carpets. Since our last visit they have started charging $3 a night for parking, another profit center but they are not putting any money into the building. The breakfast is very good and so is the coffee. And the location is great if your travels take you anywhere from Encinitas to Del Mar.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,
Karen Chavez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2017

Stayed here with IHG points but going rate was about $160 a night which I would consider a little high, but this is a more expensive part of the country. I think 3 things are critical to hotel stays - Location, Sleep, and Shower.

LOCATION: 5/5 Close to the highway, right next to some nice dining options, and a 5-minute walk to the beach!

GOOD SLEEP: 4/5 Comfortable bedding and while it was a wall mount AC/ Heater unit, it wasn't too loud.

SHOWER: 4/5 Old tub style shower that looked a little aged, but it was hot and good water pressure.

The property and room is pretty much what I would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. However, the staff were all very friendly, and the breakfast was above average with a great selection of oatmeal, pancake bar, omelets, meats, pastries, fresh cinnamon rolls, and many beverage selections. They charge $3 a day to park at this hotel which seems a little unnecessary given it is really not in an urban area. Overall, this is a nice option for staying 25 minutes outside of San Diego and having access to a pretty beach.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank usflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Karen Chavez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

This hotel was close to our meeting place in Solana, the area is pricey for hotels in general, and this hotel was reasonable and comfortable. They have a breakfast that is included. It does need some updating, however for the price and the service level for the staff, it was a good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floors near the back to get away from the traffic in the front. Near a boul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Karen Chavez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Was grateful to have only spent one night here (2/6/17) and i didn't sleep at all until I put ear plugs in. The walls are paper thin and so are the ceilings. I could here the people above me and to the sides of me all night.

The pictures posted on the HI website are even close to what you actually get. The hotel is run down. The glazing on the bathroom tub was flaking off, the carpets are threadbare and look very dingy. Not a welcoming site when you travel and are looking forward to resting. I will say that despite the overall lack of care to this property, it was clean.

he hotel has a good breakfast, with eggs, pre-made cheese omelettes, a selection of pastries and cereals, and a pancake machine.

The "fitness room" consists of ONE treadmill and ONE bike.

I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TouringSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Karen Chavez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

I stayed here for 4 days while on work for the Farmer's Insurance Open (PGA tour) at nearby Torrey Pines golf course. The location was central to my needs and the stretch of Hwy 101 heading north for the next 5 miles to Encinitas provided a steady trove of interesting sleepy and quaint restaurants, shops an services. I drove that way nightly as opposed to heading further south into San Diego.

My room was clean and attractive. Housekeeping did a wonderful job keeping it in order and everything was spotless. Wi-Fi was quick and I appreciated that I did not have to sign onto the network every time I used a device or renewed a session. That enabled me to get my work done as expected and without hiccups. Breakfast was served on the second floor and did not run out of food despite a busy load of guests between 8:30 - 9:00. The attendants did a great job of keeping the meal stocked and the tables clean.

Being a gold IHG member, I appreciated being thanked for my loyalty and was given bonus points for my stay as well as a welcome bag that contained bottled water, a treat and a few other things. It is those things that make me smile inside and feel welcome.

Parking is underneath the building and $3/day. I ended up parking toward the back with the expectation of being able to access a rear elevator but the only one is towards the front. For families with large amount of people and unloading, I would recommend parking toward the front of the property in order to access the elevator. The elevator, by the way, is extremely fast and there s no waiting around for a door to shut 15 seconds later after pushing a button. Click and zoom, there you are. Much appreciated by me.

Overall quiet and central to my needs. Calls to front desk were promptly picked up and the staff was pleasant and always said hello. I slept well in room 331 and did not hear elevator, ice machine or anything else, including traffic.

I will be staying here next time i am in Solana Beach. Well done, Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up and farther toward the rear of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Javen44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your loyalty as an Gold Elite IHG® Rewards Club member. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Karen Chavez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solana Beach
1.6 km away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
3.7 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
1.2 km away
Winners Circle Resort
Winners Circle Resort
#1 of 3 in Solana Beach
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
259 reviews
6.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar

Address: 621 S Highway 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075-2215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range: ₹ 7,907 - ₹ 17,758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Solana Beach, Del Mar is perfect for every aspect a guest would stay for! It's a beautiful city with access to almost anything you are may be looking you. Its well known for its beach, where you can relax or take a nice jog, which is just walking distance from the hotel. There are many local attractions that aren't far: Legoland, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, and many more. Not only is the city itself a beautiful location, but The Holiday Inn Express & Suites offers 80 spacious rooms. Each room features a private balcony, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hair dryer and many more attributes! To make your stay even better, we offer complimentary breakfast, and a relaxing Pool and Jacuzzi. Efficiency is key to many guests, we have free Wi-Fi and many delicious restaurants that are close as a block away. If you are coming for business, relaxation, excitement or just for simple fun, we are here to make this stay special. Our friendly staff will always be happy to help to make your stay unique and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar Hotel Solana Beach
Holiday Inn Solana Beach
Solana Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing