We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful suites and free Happy Hour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Reviewed 24 April 2012

While on an organized tour, we stayed at the Embassy Suites in Monterey and found it a wonderful place. The hotel is 12 stories, with an open atrium. Rooms all have a living room with sofa, chair and dining table and a nice bedroom. There is also a nice wet bar.

Breakfast includes an omelet station and a good variety of fruit, juices, and other breakfast items.

Each evening, the hotel has a free open bar with snacks from 5:30-7:30. The drinks are not watered down and are served by friendly, happy bartenders.

We didn't use the pool so I can't comment on that but everything else was great, including the laundry facilities for customer use.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cuda00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myron M, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear guest,

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return. Your comments will be shared with the team here at the Embassy Suites on the Monterey Bay.
Sincerely,
Myron M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,528 - 1,532 of 1,839 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

I was here for 2 nights in April 2012. The room is HUGE!!! You can really spread out. They have a sitting room, a BIG bathroom and a huge bedroom. Very clean, very nice place! A short drive to/from Fishermans Wharf. I LOVE the Happy Hour they have. It is a great way to meet fellow travelers, you can hang out here..then head to the Wharf to shop or eat. The restaurant in the hotel is nice, the menu could have a bit more to pick from. There is a Chili's on property as well.
The gift shop is very nice, cute reasonably priced items as well. The free breakfast was DELISH!!! You can have your very own omelette. I would go back again, in a second.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seashell0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

On the afternoon of our arrival my husband & sons wanted to enjoy the indoor swimming pool. It was freezing! The jacuzzi was nice & hot though, but the whole area is not very safe for children. One poor little girl slipped and fell flat on her back! She wasn't running, but the floors are very wet and slippery.

My shower was cold the following morning (at 8am, I expected that there should have been enough hot water for all of the rooms, but that was not the case). I told my husband not to even bother with a shower, because it would have been miserable.

We went downstairs to breakfast. The (powdered) eggs and gummy pancakes were barely tolerable, but the bacon was crispy and the potatoes were delicious. When I went for coffee, I was greeted by the most charming young lady (Michelle Simpson). Her customer service was so impecible, that it nearly made up for the cold shower that morning. Her smile was warm and sincere, and she wouldn't even let me bend over to pick up something I'd dropped on the floor! She even offered to carry my tray (and my husband's tray). She was just precious.

When we were checking out, Jennifer assisted us. I had a question/dispute about the bill. There was a charge (it stated "open food" with no other explanation) from the first day of our stay. We didn't dine in the restaurant, and we hadn't ordered room service, so it was a mystery as to why the charge appeared. Jennifer seemed very suspicious, but reluctantly agreed to remove the charge, claiming that she believed me. When I arrived home, and started unpacking, it hit me! The charge was for a fruit/cheese platter that I'd ordered weeks before our arrival. In any case, I called the hotel immediately to make sure that we paid for the items. I asked for Jennifer, who seemed truly surprised that I was calling and thanked me for my honest. She then proceeded to inform me that she had already reported it to the Accountant (who had already sent me an email). Had the bill been clearer, or had it at least stated the date that the item was *ordered*, the whole matter would have been a non-issue.

Overall, I'm not sure if we would stay here again. The food was so-so; the beds were hard; the sheets smelled overtly of bleach; but the customer service, for the most part, was outstanding. There were also two gentlemen who were extremely helpful (one even ran after me to return the sunglasses I'd left on the breakfast table Monday morning). I'm ashamed to say I didn't get their names, because they deserve many kudos.

The proximity to the Monterey Bay Aquarium was okay but not fabulous. And the only local restaurant nearby is a Chilis across the parking lot. However, a few blocks away (if you happen to miss the 9am cutoff for the free breakfast buffet), there's a good little diner (Del Rey, I think). Of course, if you're visiting the aquarium, there are plenty of good restaurants in Monterey proper.

The best thing about any Embassy Suites is that they have an actual door that closes between the bedroom, and the livingroom/pull-out sofa area, which is helpful if your children have a different bedtime than the grown-ups.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the lake (the other side just faces the street with views of traffic).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelwithy0urfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myron M, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincerest apologies in regards to your stay with us. You comments will be shared with the the team for review. Our indoor pool will be renovated May 13th through May 24th of this year. We understand our complimentary services and indoor pool are pilliars and key to our success and thus we make every attempt to ensure these areas exceed expectations. We hope you return and again, thank you for your comments.
Sincerely,
Myron M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I work for a tour operator - and had a student group of 160 people stay here recently for one night. Throughout the tour we stayed at the ES San Diego Downtown, ES Brea, ES Monterey, and ES Burlingame. This location was the only one with a double sided buffet line for breakfast - plus had an additional line setup anticipating the large breakfast crowds. The staff clearly looks ahead to make sure they are prepared - and that is appreciated. They were also completely ready upon check-in (unlike ES Burlingame) - and agreed to every request we made. I'm picky on the stars - so please know that 4 is still a great property for me.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcg33indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My family loves embassy suites. This hotel was no exception. Love the omelette breakfast and managers reception. Stayed here on drive from LA to SF.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
333 reviews
0.5 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
3.5 km away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 56 in Monterey
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside

Address: 1441 Canyon Del Rey Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-4729
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range: ₹ 10,831 - ₹ 23,520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenically located just two blocks from the beachfront in stunning Seaside, California, this Embassy Suites Monterey Bay – Seaside hotel offers spectacular bay views as well as fine accommodation options. Choose from an array of attractions on the doorstop of this stunning hotel; from hiking and butterfly watching to kayaking or surfing, you need never have a dull moment when you join us in Monterey Bay. Guests of this Monterey Bay - Seaside hotel choose from 225 stylish hotel suites, each offering a range of modern amenities such as high-speed wireless internet access, two remote control televisions and a wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Seaside
Seaside Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing