We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable price for an over night”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sand Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sand Castle Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Reasonable price for an over night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This place was great for the price and a quick over night. Maybe not if you plan to stay a few days and want a larger room. I was a little disappointed in the breakfast as it was all carbohydrates. I would stay again if passing through.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janesh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    101
    42
    15
    8
See reviews for
67
96
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

My boyfriend and I wanted an affordable hotel in a safe location that was close to Monterey for a weekend getaway. This hotel was a piece of cake to get to from Highway 1 and we were pleased to see a Target a block away. I forgot a few things at home in my late night packing so it was quite convenient. We spent most of our time at Fisherman's Wharf & Cannery Row and it was a 10 minute drive from the hotel on side streets. The hotel was clean, although it smelled a little musty so we kept the window open at night. Parking was easy and free, the staff were pleasant and it was a great hotel if you're on a budget. There were quite a few electrical outlets that are easy to access, which is convenient for cameras/cell phones/etc. I hate when hotels only have one or two and they're hidden behind the bed or dresser. There's also a free breakfast, which we took advantage of both days. There was a waffle maker (yay!), juices, danishes, toast and cereal. Nothing fancy but a nice amenity, plus it saves money! The hotel also had a laundry room, which I really liked although I did not use it. Overall, great affordable hotel that is easily accessible from the highway and a quick drive to the Monterey sights.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Room was clean, as was the bathroom, with more than ample towels and washcloths. No stale ordors whatsoever; large wall-mounted TV, cable service, refrig, microwave also in the room. Have no difficulty at all accessing the internet. [The unfortunate problem was not with the motel, but the noisy people in the room above us. Due to a knee injury, required a room on the ground level.] Have stayed here several times in the past two years and will continue to stay here whenever we are in the area.

Room Tip: If you have a room on the second floor, be consider of the person in the room below you...don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldWomanCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
262 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Booked this for a short weekend getaway to the beach and were pleasantly surprised: checkin was very short. involving minimum exchange of words, creditcard, id, and room key, no upstairs available since fully booked. Room recently renovated with shiny laminate wood floor (no carpet - great!), tiles in bathroom, energy-efficient lighting throughout, fridge, microwave. Bed comfortable & clean. Table and 2 different chairs. Unique: additional small, openable window towards back of building for extra ventilation. Neighbor watched TV until 9pm but otherwise quiet with some road noise (thin walls). Breakfast area completely empty until ~8am, then too crowded after. Toast, orange juice, oats, danish, waffles. Not bad for ~50$ incl taxes - would probably stay here again for a night.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms may be slightly nicer, AAA rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usuallyhappytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed here one night to visit Point Lobos and Carmel next day. It was a clean motel with microwave and mini fridge. Very close to Monterey Fisherman's Wharf, less than 10 minutes drive.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GordonWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
1.6 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
1.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
5.2 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
5.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castle Inn

Property: Sand Castle Inn
Address: 1011 Auto Center Pkwy, Seaside, CA 93955-3614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,654 - ₹ 21,849
Hotel Class:2 star — Sand Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located in Seaside minutes from the beach and near all the major attractions Monterey offers. We are only a short drive to the Aquarium, CSUMB, Fisherman's Wharf, 17 mile drive, Pebble Beach, Cannery Row and Carmel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sand Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Castle Hotel Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing