We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit surprised”

Aurora Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #28 of 84 Restaurants in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 21 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: Second
Transit: Bus stop down the street.
Description: We are a family owned restaraunt with home made pastas and wild seafood. We are open 7 days a week from 12 to 10 7 days a week.
Reviewed 23 September 2018

Away from the downtown area of one of the world's most scenic, coastal towns, this eatery serves Italian fare at reasonable prices. A half mile down the road forces similar menu items at prices 30% more expensive. Parking provides a slight challenge. Bruchetta, $8.50, small grilled french bread slices with a generous portion of tomato and a hint of garlic. Lovely. Pepperoni Pizza, $15.50, thin crust, delicate and fit for two diners. Carbonara, $17.00, creamy, al dente' with enough pancetta to make it interesting. Draft beer $6.00. This place is good and worth a return.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Found this place by accident while staying in Sausalito. We had the specials of the day - lasagne and fettuccini with seafood. Both were delicious and we were made to feel very welcome. Will definitely go there again.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank R1625SRdeborahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

Aurora Café is a lovely looking little indoor and outdoor eatery literally right on the Golden Gate bridge biker’s trail as you come down from the bridge into downtown Sausalito. Aurora café does not overlook SF Bay, so the point of view for a diner is a sloping street…not the fantastic expansive view of the SF Bay waterfront – looking South to the City.

However, we sat outside on a breezy day and enjoyed watching the hordes of rental bikers come downhill after their 3+ mile ride on the Gold Gate over San Francisco Bay.

Service was quick for a couple of salads – mounds of fresh lettuce but mightily underdressed. Our 1st order of crab cakes were beautifully plated, but cold. Our waiter took them back and said they were remade, which likely they were, however, they tasted like a creamy mix of shredded crab than actual lump crab cakes – truly just average from my point of view. Finally, my cappuccino to-go was way below average. And the average espresso drink in the SF area is pretty good.

And that’s just it. NOT Awesome! in any particular way...
in toto, a nice sit-out on a sunny day but more ambience than delicious-ness.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HaljoHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Waiting for the traffic over the bridge to calm down we found this place for lunch. Not the cheapest place, but quite nice location. And I would guess the best pasta I've ever tasted! Nice service. Kinda old building so small and not the most fresh restrooms. But if it's lunch-time, I recommend you stop by and enjoy a great meal.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Jan_Robert_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

We rented bikes in San Fran and worked our way to Sausalito. We just happen to stumble across this restaurant as it was the first one we saw entering the village, and there were a lot of people..always a good sign. This was a perfect break from a long ride. We were seated by pleasant staff and ordered calamari for starters. They were nicely done and not greasy. Afterwards we shared pizza, which was a nice thin crust and very tasty. We wrapped it up with a nice espresso before heading off to the ferry to take us back into the city. Definitely a place we would come back to.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Humidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aurora Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 
Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to Aurora Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing