We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Northern California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I decided to surprise my husband for Father's Day to a weekend getaway to Sausalito. I booked Casa Madrona this was our first time staying here. As soon as we pulled up the valet greeted us, helped with our luggage and radioed the front desk that we had arrived. We were warmly greeted by two very nice ladies at the front desk. I asked about a possible upgrade and without hesitation she said let me check. She then informed me that we had been upgraded to a beautiful hillside room. All I can say is it was truly beautiful we had a small patio with two chairs surrounded by flowers and trees. Once we entered the room I was so impressed seriously one of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in. My husband just kept saying it smells so good in here. The bed was heavenly, amenities included a frig, coffee maker, wine bucket with 2 wine glasses, and a ipod player. Oh and a huge flat screen TV mounted on the wall which swiveled out. The location is perfect we never moved the car once we arrived.

Room Tip: There are two parts to this hotel the newer rooms looked more like a regular hotel. The older rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyfennell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    236
    92
    38
    18
See reviews for
189
641
54
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pinner
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed here on the recommendation of my sistere. We stayed here as part of our 5th wedding anniversary tour of California (we got married in Santa Barbara) and had a wonderful time, in part made by the excellent weather which was far better than San Frnacisco itself. The room was at the front of the hotel with excellent views. The hotel staff were very friendly and pleasant. We hope to return in the future and will probably stay in the cottages. Thank you for a lovely start to our three week tour of California. A lot of restaurants closed by 8 or 9 in the week.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinnerboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My wife and I stayed in Casa Madrona in late May because the weather on that side of the Bay is usually rather better than in San Francisco with its early summer mist. It is handy for the ferry to Pier 4, which only takes half an hour, and is a good way to see the city. The hotel is well-positioned on the front. As others have said, the rooms are up to date, contemporary in style and comfortable. The ones with the sea view are the most expensive but we stayed in one of the others and thought it fine. The staff and manager are all courteous and very helpful - wish all out British hoteliers were so good!!!!. We loved it even though it was a bit pricy, and hope to use it again one day.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ancientpistol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thank you for your accolades and kind words! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us in sunny Sausalito (yes, it is mostly sunny year-round north of the Golden Gate Bridge!) and hope to be welcoming you back to Casa Madrona next time your travels take you across the pond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venlo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We loved our 1 night stay at the Casa. Abolutely. But is it truly worth the money if you have Frisco just minutes away? Yes, it is worth it, even if you stay in the least expensive room. A wonderful bed, a fantastic private bathroom in a very classy hotel with thousands of steps to wander and take in the view of the Bay. And a Spa, if that's your gameplan. When travelling you sometimes need to spent some moremoney and check what all the fuss is about. Well now we know! And if you are searching for luxury and pampering on your travels combined with a nice view and wonderful places to eat, well search no more, but choose the Madrona!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carovh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I booked three rooms last May 22, 2012 and despite being given courtyard rooms didn't mind at all as the rooms were nice and comfortable despite the fact that it used to be an old strip mall. I was just a bit concerned about security as I remember the second and third floors being accessible by stairs which can be reached from the street level. On a positive note, the frontliners, Sol, Luke, etc... were very accommodating and made us feel very welcome.

Now the not so good part. a.) I reserved three rooms, but they booked four rooms under my name. Fortunately the fourth room was cancelled without any charge. b.) Given the different time of booking, two of the room's rate came out higher. They were able to credit back the difference charging us the lower rate for the night. c.) We settled our rooms by cash and card; yet they (Frank?) did not credit back nor cancel the room charge to card we used to gurantee the room. This was made known to them (Eve) on May 25 by telephone and faxing a copy of their receipt, yet nothing was done about it. I called them up on July 6 to inquire what happened and they (Kory) advised me that the credit was given to a wrong card and it would take 5 to 6 working days for the credit to take effect. Why credit back ONLY after my call? If an error was made, the hotel should have rectified it immediately.

For a two week and five (different) hotel itinerary, this was the only one that presented booking and billing issues.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
It was with mixed emotions with which I read your comments. While feedback from our guests is always welcome and of significant value, I would like to apologize for any miscommunication regarding the credit on your charge card.

With that said, I also wish to thank you for your kind remarks about our Guest Services team and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon. When this occasion arrives, feel free to contact us for more information on our storied accommodations which you may find insightful before deciding upon a room type.

As touched upon in your review, there is a modern section of the property which was originally built in 1924 as Mason's Garage and filling station serving people driving to the nearby ferry that carried cars and people to San Francisco. In the 1950's, it became the open air Village Fair shopping complex before undergoing a multi-million dollar renovation in 2000 which turned the structure into upscale hotel rooms ideal for those seeking modern amenities and contemporary design as well as a luxurious seaside spa - all inside a safely gated and beautifully landscaped courtyard. Alternatively, you may wish to visit one of our newly restored Hillside Cottages stepping up the Sausalito hillside offering stunning views of the Sausalito harbor, Tiburon, Belvedere and Angel Island.

We are looking forward to seeing you upon your return to Casa Madrona Hotel & Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
2.2 km away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
2.9 km away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
4.7 km away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa

Property: Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Address: 801 Bridgeway, Sausalito, CA 94965-2186
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Green Hotel in Sausalito
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,833 - ₹ 39,403
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched hillside overlooking a breathtaking seaside bay-view in the charming city of Sausalito, Casa Madrona provides a transformative and serene retreat for travelers from around the world. More than 125 years after its inception, the timeless and beloved icon continues to express an innate sense of style, seamlessly blending innovation with tradition and offering a genuine luxury escape just minutes from San Francisco's Golden Gate Bridge. In 2014, the property underwent a multimillion-dollar renovation that brought a renewed energy to the guest rooms, cottages, meeting space and the extraordinary 11-room Mansion, including the property's signature 5,000 square-foot master residence, The Alexandrite Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Madrona Hotel Sausalito
Casa Madrona Sausalito
Hotel Casa Madrona
Casa Madrona Hotel And Spa Sausalito, CA - Marin County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing