We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Sausalito(Sausalito)(Great Value!)
US$ 299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cavallo Point(Sausalito)
US$ 585
US$ 557
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Tiburon(Tiburon)(Great Value!)
US$ 300
US$ 206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamalpais Motel(Mill Valley)
US$ 133
US$ 120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn Above Tide(Sausalito)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Budget Inn(Corte Madera)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,344)
Filter reviews
1,344 results
Traveller rating
852
283
123
55
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
852
283
123
55
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshillside cottagemansion suitebeautiful hotelhuge bathroomrestaurant next doorsan franciscoperfect locationroom servicebeautiful roomview of the baywonderful staybottle of winebed was very comfortablevalet parkingrestaurants and shopsamazing viewsdowntown sausalito
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,245 - 1,250 of 1,344 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed here on the recommendation of my sistere. We stayed here as part of our 5th wedding anniversary tour of California (we got married in Santa Barbara) and had a wonderful time, in part made by the excellent weather which was far better than San Frnacisco itself. The room was at the front of the hotel with excellent views. The hotel staff were very friendly and pleasant. We hope to return in the future and will probably stay in the cottages. Thank you for a lovely start to our three week tour of California. A lot of restaurants closed by 8 or 9 in the week.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinnerboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My wife and I stayed in Casa Madrona in late May because the weather on that side of the Bay is usually rather better than in San Francisco with its early summer mist. It is handy for the ferry to Pier 4, which only takes half an hour, and is a good way to see the city. The hotel is well-positioned on the front. As others have said, the rooms are up to date, contemporary in style and comfortable. The ones with the sea view are the most expensive but we stayed in one of the others and thought it fine. The staff and manager are all courteous and very helpful - wish all out British hoteliers were so good!!!!. We loved it even though it was a bit pricy, and hope to use it again one day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ancientpistol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Thank you for your accolades and kind words! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us in sunny Sausalito (yes, it is mostly sunny year-round north of the Golden Gate Bridge!) and hope to be welcoming you back to Casa Madrona next time your travels take you across the pond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We loved our 1 night stay at the Casa. Abolutely. But is it truly worth the money if you have Frisco just minutes away? Yes, it is worth it, even if you stay in the least expensive room. A wonderful bed, a fantastic private bathroom in a very classy hotel with thousands of steps to wander and take in the view of the Bay. And a Spa, if that's your gameplan. When travelling you sometimes need to spent some moremoney and check what all the fuss is about. Well now we know! And if you are searching for luxury and pampering on your travels combined with a nice view and wonderful places to eat, well search no more, but choose the Madrona!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carovh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I booked three rooms last May 22, 2012 and despite being given courtyard rooms didn't mind at all as the rooms were nice and comfortable despite the fact that it used to be an old strip mall. I was just a bit concerned about security as I remember the second and third floors being accessible by stairs which can be reached from the street level. On a positive note, the frontliners, Sol, Luke, etc... were very accommodating and made us feel very welcome.

Now the not so good part. a.) I reserved three rooms, but they booked four rooms under my name. Fortunately the fourth room was cancelled without any charge. b.) Given the different time of booking, two of the room's rate came out higher. They were able to credit back the difference charging us the lower rate for the night. c.) We settled our rooms by cash and card; yet they (Frank?) did not credit back nor cancel the room charge to card we used to gurantee the room. This was made known to them (Eve) on May 25 by telephone and faxing a copy of their receipt, yet nothing was done about it. I called them up on July 6 to inquire what happened and they (Kory) advised me that the credit was given to a wrong card and it would take 5 to 6 working days for the credit to take effect. Why credit back ONLY after my call? If an error was made, the hotel should have rectified it immediately.

For a two week and five (different) hotel itinerary, this was the only one that presented booking and billing issues.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan M, General Manager at Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

It was with mixed emotions with which I read your comments. While feedback from our guests is always welcome and of significant value, I would like to apologize for any miscommunication regarding the credit on your charge card.

With that said, I also wish to thank you for your kind remarks about our Guest Services team and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon. When this occasion arrives, feel free to contact us for more information on our storied accommodations which you may find insightful before deciding upon a room type.

As touched upon in your review, there is a modern section of the property which was originally built in 1924 as Mason's Garage and filling station serving people driving to the nearby ferry that carried cars and people to San Francisco. In the 1950's, it became the open air Village Fair shopping complex before undergoing a multi-million dollar renovation in 2000 which turned the structure into upscale hotel rooms ideal for those seeking modern amenities and contemporary design as well as a luxurious seaside spa - all inside a safely gated and beautifully landscaped courtyard. Alternatively, you may wish to visit one of our newly restored Hillside Cottages stepping up the Sausalito hillside offering stunning views of the Sausalito harbor, Tiburon, Belvedere and Angel Island.

We are looking forward to seeing you upon your return to Casa Madrona Hotel & Spa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Casa Madrona was the perfect place for us to spend a night in Sausalito after several nights in San Fran. Our contemporary room was not big, but very nice and quiet, with a spacious bath and a little balcony looking out over the main street and amazing water views. So beautiful and peaceful. We liked it so much we bought a bottle of wine and a pizza down the street and enjoyed dinner there instead of going out! Great location to walk around and enjoy this incredible town. Valet parking for our car was just under $30 per night. Our room had a fridge, room service is available, and there is a decent spa on site.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank LChipNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews