We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all in the name”
Review of Fish Restaurant

Fish Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 79 Restaurants in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It's all in the name”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

A large, noisy, happy place when you're hungry for...fish. Great for al fresco dining on the patio watching the boats and water. It's very informal as you stand in line to give your order, then pick up your number and find a table. We had the fish and chips, mussels--don't remember the rest--and beer and wine (in a jar). Food was fine, patrons were cheery and friendly. A young couple gave up their larger table--moving their food & drinks--to give our group of 5 plus an infant a more comfortable seat.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank powycommodore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    173
    55
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Go for the Fish'n Chips”
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Take a bike ride from SF like we did and gain some appetite.. or take the car.. But go to Fish and have the Halibut Fish'n Chips.. For lunch..

Have your Anchor steam, the local amber draft beer, poured into a glas jar, get your cutlery your self, find a bench and table inside or outside and just enjoy FISH

Helpful?
Thank michaelharrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Seriously OMG!!”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

One of the best restaurants I've ever enjoyed.
Maybe it was the "night-was-right," but the service was terrific, and the food was absolutely amazing--everything--absolutely amazing. We shared 6 menu items, and each one had us saying omg!!!
It's a little unconventional, with cash only, and ordering at a register (they have an atm), but the food is so silly-delicious that I could care less what they did.
Just keep delivering this amazing menu!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuckyLadyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hard to find but very tasty”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We had the fish tacos with Ecuadorian tilapia, which were excellent, but not very filling. I like that they use sustainable seafood and understand the high prices given the location. A small problem was cash only, but there is an ATM nearby.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the Top 3 Sandwiches, Ever!”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We went midweek with the family after visiting Muir Woods. Had the Pulled Abalone BBQ sandwich and it was one of the top three sandwiches ever. I knew I was eating fish and it had the flavors and texture of a genuine pulled pork bbq sandwich, complete with a soft bun and purple cabbage slaw. Truly amazing (the other 2 were a Po-boy at a shack somewhere along the gulf coast, west of Biloxi and the other is the Italian food center's New Yorker on Grand Street). Also recommend highly the bbq'd oysters. The lunch time crowd was fine - we didn't have to wait long for our food and got a table inside (although the outside area is nice). This place is a must. Be advised - cash only but there is an ATM on premises.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank schdjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish Restaurant also viewed

 
Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing