We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Yogic Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HI Marin Headlands Hostel
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Great staff, beautiful location, extremely clean, and Internet is up and running! I am a little hesitant to do the review only because it is one of the best kept secrets in the West! I have stayed at this hostel multiple times and meet the most fascinating people from all over the world and the staff has repeatedly been top-notch each time.
The bedding, rooms, bathroom, kitchen, common areas are all super clean, the staff are friendly (especially if you are kind to them...remember, they are people too!), the locations is unbelievable. I visit as often as I can. Sometimes I go just to do my studies and get away from the home-fires and this past weekend I took a group of 8 for a yoga retreat. The Main House and the Annex offer their own little particular offerings that are very special in their own way; if you need more interaction with other people you may want to ask for the Main House, if you are looking for quiet-time I would suggest the Annex. Most importantly, take responsibility for yourself and read the offerings on the website, if you need coffee made for you in the morning, then this is not what you are looking for (bring and make your own), it is a hostel, not a bed and breakfast. Yes, some hostels offer a continental breakfast, but, this hostel is very clear in that it does not. If you are kind and of gentle nature there are people who will probably serve you coffee and invite you to share their breakfast...we had several hostel visitors hang out with us and we made sure there was coffee for everyone! Love the staff (Oak was the best Host during our time and we all enjoyed his presence and friendliness!) and the nature guide, Illena (spelling?) she was the perfect fit for our yoga group Saturday night, thanks Brian and staff for making our stay the best ever! Namaste... Susan (--)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

Nice place overall for a hostel. Rooms can be noisy if there is a boyscout troop. They offer ear plugs and the kids do not stay up to late luckily.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We LOVE the Marin Headlands hostel; you can't beat the location in the gorgeous and peaceful Marin Headlands park. There is enough to do just in the park for a great weekend: Rodeo beach within walking distance, the Marine Mammal center, a lighthouse, a cold-war era missile site that's sometimes open for tours.
The kitchens are well-equipped. Bring enough food; there is no food available in the park, and the closest restaurants are in Sausalito. The rooms are what you'd expect from a hostel: spartan; bunkbeds with hygenic vinyl mattress coverings. There are shared individual bathrooms in the 'Annex'; dorm-style group bathrooms in the main hostel. Room tips: get a private room if you're not into the dorm thing. The main hostel is often occupied by youth groups. While the kids are usually being good, they're rarely all that quiet. The Annex is quieter, usually, and you can watch the sunset over the ocean from the porch (cheapest ocean view accommodations you'll ever find!) Make reservations in advance; the hostel is popular. No alcohol allowed. No internet access and little cell coverage; enjoy your time being unplugged.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank InRenoNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My two young adult sons and I just got home from a wonderful stay at the hostel. We were luck enough to stay in the Annex building the first night which is like staying at Grandma's house without the Grandma. The house is funky-old, with turn of the century touches. There are three full bathrooms which was a nice surprise. The room was as expected, the beds were comfortable, and it was absolutely quiet inside the building and outside. In the morning we saw a heard of deer. The kitchen was clean and well stocked. We knew ahead of time we would be moving to the main hostel building for the rest of our stay. It was more the traditional hostel set up with dorm style bedrooms and a bigger restaurant style kitchen. Even with the larger number of guests, the place was silent at night. The hiking, biking, and beachcombing are unforgetable. We were very lucky to have sunny weather every day. The fact that it was just a bridge away from the exitement of San Francisco made it even better. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Stay in the Annex if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobobo555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Location is beautiful, with gorgeous hikes around the hostel (bring camera) and really nice woods around. The house is old and provides a rustic, pleasant accommodation. The drawback is that some employees aren't very friendly, never smile and just act arrogant and cold. I was there and was told that I run out my stay limit of 14 days--while I only stayed for 3 days... no apology even for that, after mistake was discovered, I was simply told I was there "a lot"--3 days is a lot, huh?? 5 stars for location, 2 stars for average customer service, so overall 3 stars. I do recommend it as a getaway from SF city life. Also, showers are really funky with dirty, old, moldy curtains separating shower cabins, sticking to your skin as you try to dress, no privacy in showers. Location feels very isolated, like a retreat, which is very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexd00xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
5.5 km away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
4.6 km away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
1,007 reviews
5.6 km away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
8.4 km away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,512 reviews
7.0 km away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Marin Headlands Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Marin Headlands Hostel

Address: Building 941 at Fort Barry, Sausalito, CA 94965
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Sausalito
Price Range: ₹ 2,136 - ₹ 6,536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI Marin Headlands Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-Marin Headlands is your ticket to breathtaking ocean vistas and trails that lead to scenic beaches, forests, and rolling hills. Nestled in a wooded setting five minutes from the Golden Gate Bridge, HI-Marin Headlands provides low-cost accommodations in historic buildings in the Golden Gate National Recreation Area. Both shared and private rooms available, as well as a fully equipped guest kitchen, common room with woodstove and piano, game room, on-site laundry, and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your HI Marin Headlands Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi Marin Headlands Hotel Sausalito
HI Marin Headlands Hostel Sausalito, CA - Marin County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing