We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, outdated restaurant/lounge, friendly staff”
Review of Fountaingrove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fountaingrove Inn
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Sonoma, California
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, outdated restaurant/lounge, friendly staff”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My partner and I visited Fountaingrove Inn using a Living Social getaway. Check in was easy and the staff was very friendly. The deal was nice - we got a one night stay, two free drinks in the bar, free breakfast, and some tasting passes for some wineries near Sebastopol. Our hotel room was nice, clean and quiet, spacious for two people. After we had settled in and taken a nap, we decided to head to the lounge for our free drinks. The entrance of the restaurant is impressive - many wine bottles in an nice display - including many old bottles of notable wines! We entered the lounge and were taken aback - it reminded us of the 1980's, a bit out of date and lots of blaring music and a packed space. There was no room for us to settle in for a nice quiet drink, and the few available seats were unbecoming and seemed to have been tossed together last minute just to provide more seating.

We opted out of the drink and instead went to dinner down the street where we had reservations at Willi's Wine Bar. Came home, had a nice night in after that and headed off to enjoy our day and head back to the Bay Area.

A few other notes:

The free breakfast was a severely average breakfast buffet. We had a tiny bit to eat and left - we're not buffet people, but there seemed to be plenty of people who were. The shower also had an extremely loud high pitched sound that hummed constantly while the shower was in use. A bit frustrating, because the shower had a nice stream. Not too conducive to romantic showers or sleeping in while your partner takes a shower because you can hear the humming noise in bed!

Overall, a nice stay, good for an overnight, but a few tweaks, and some updating needs to take place to keep this hotel relevant. The staff was friendly and the location is good. We probably won't be rushing back soon, though.

Room Tip: The north building has a staircase, and no elevator, so take note of that if you have a hard time hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    251
    91
    38
    16
See reviews for
111
248
25
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a living social deal. We were impressed by helpful counter staff, who, when asked a question, would supply prints of googled maps and menus. The deal included two cocktails in the lounge, and the maximum value of those cocktails was generous ($12.50). The deal also included buffet breakfast in the onsite restaurant, Equus. This was tasty, made seemingly of quality ingredients, and included fruit, oatmeal, granola, juice, french toast, eggs, delicious potatoes, sausages, and more. The room was in the North building. The hall was a little odd smelling--my husband though "new hotel smell," but this didn't affect the room. The room was quiet. The hotel wasn't full, but we heard no one and didn't notice any traffic noise. The pool was a comfortable temperature and long and skinny, good for laps. The jacuzzi was great after hiking in the area. The night we were there the hotel also had a winery (DeLoach) offering a complimentary tasting....with generous pours of $45\bottle wines. The furniture was comfortable. Everything worked. All in all, a good deal.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wishIwerent_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka.Ca
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay at Fountain Grove and were pleased with our stay. Even though we booked with an on-line discounter, we had a very nice deluxe King room and were treated courteously by the front desk personel. (I had previously called the hotel directly to confirm our reservation and to request a king room in the back away from highway noise) The room was spaciousd, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. The only minor flaw was the lighting and the split decorative mirror in the dressing area which made hair styling a bit of a challenge...there was a seperate make up mirror. The walls are a bit thin, but we had mostly quiet neighbors, so this was not a problem. I am not a fan of the single cup jave brew coffee maker, but it served the purpose. The biggest drawback was not having a microwave oven as I am on a very restricted medical diet so I could not bring many fo my pre-prepared foods. The hotel is in a good location and is comfortable and one of the better ones in the Santa Rosa area. The best feature of Foumtain Grove is it's oputstanding friendly and helpful front desk people. They all are young, friendly, helpful and have great restuarant recommendations. (Try Goji's for wonderful, made to order Chinese, Vietnamese food and Page's Place for a great home cooked breakfast. Both are small, one owner local favorites)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humboldtbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed here for two nights while visiting family. Front desk is very helpful. The rooms are clean and up to date. Centrally located. Only criticism is that the glass door that goes from the parking lot to the 2nd floor is always unlocked ( even at night). Front desk says they can hear the door open from down below in the atrium, but I doubt this is true. This is a real security issue!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller33119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We found the room to be very clean and comfortable. The front desk provided outstanding customer service. The location is close to wine country, so this was a plus.

However, be aware should you venture into the lounge. It is loud during happy hour since it appears to be popular with young professionals, and the bartender is not above adding his friends' drink on to your bar tab. Either watch your tab carefully, or pay cash for each drink.

We had extra alcoholic beverages added to our bill over two successive evenings.

The property has an excellent pool area which is a GREAT place to relaxing in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NWOhioGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
5.9 km away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
673 reviews
0.1 km away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,293 reviews
4.5 km away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
581 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
451 reviews
6.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountaingrove Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountaingrove Inn

Property: Fountaingrove Inn
Address: 101 Fountaingrove Pkwy, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1777
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,849 - ₹ 23,055
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fountaingrove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fountaingrove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountaingrove Hotel Santa Rosa
Fountaingrove Santa Rosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing