We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great historic hotel in Santa Rosa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Rose
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great historic hotel in Santa Rosa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

This is a great hotel. My wife and I drove to Santa Rosa to see the B-52s perform at the Wells Fargo Center as my birthday present. To avoid a long drive home, we looked at the hotel list and thought the Hotel La Rose looked great. We stayed over a Sunday night, getting the weekday discount for a small queen bed room, but when we arrived, we were upgraded to a Junior suite room on the third floor (Room 39) in the main historic hotel. The entire hotel seems very well kept-up, clean and comfortable. Our room had a small room off the door, into a fairly decent sized bedroom with a small sofa, two cubes to put your feet up, a writing desk, TV armoire, and a door leading out to a small balcony - don't expect great views but having a door and balcony was a nice feature! This room has a full-sized tub/shower and others have mentioned the modern pull chain toilet!

Service at the front desk both on check-in and check-out was outstanding - very friendly and helpful. We came back late from the concert and tried to find an open bar. No luck but M made calls including checking if the Hyatt was serving. We did not have a chance to try the restaurant which was only open until 8 PM. The restaurant is in transition and they don't have their alcohol license yet but the menu looks good.

The Railroad Square area is quite nice - lots of restaurants and some very interesting stores, including antiques and collectibles. Very convenient as long as you remember everything, including the bars close by 11 PM!!

I give the Hotel La Rose my highest rating. Remember that it is intended to be a unique, historic place to stay - built in 1907, remodeled and updated sure, but still with a nice feel of the original. If you can't live without a 42" LCD television - this might not be the place for you! But we had a wonderful stay and will likely return to do some exploring in Santa Rosa and the areas surrounding.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webhoncho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Thank you for your kind words and know that the Hotel La Rose and Bistro 1907 family takes pride and values every guest experience as you are part of our extended family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    181
    45
    24
    13
See reviews for
62
232
33
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bethelisland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

When visiting my son in Santa Rosa, I always stay at Hotel La Rose. This charming historic hotel has lovely, comfortable rooms, but my favorite part of any visit is the staff. Janet, Julie, and Erica always make me feel as if I am a family member returning home. I was pleased to discover on a recent trip that the hotel has now taken over the operation of the restrauant which is conveniently housed in the same building. I understand some fun activities wil be happening at the restaurant including frequent "murder mystery dinners", exhibits by local artists, a new chef, and a "happy hour". I personally enjoy ordering room service for breakfast although the hotel now offers a free continental breakfast for guests. I am looking forward to my next visit which I hope will include a dinner reservation for the "murder mystery"!

Room Tip: I always try to stay in rooms 47 or 48 as they are very spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marabethelisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Just wanted to say that the entire Hotel La Rose and Bistro 1907 (restaurant) look forward to your next visit with us. Once again thanks for staying with us your Santa Rosa family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

A girl in the coffee shop around the corner recommended the Hotel La Rose. And as soon as we walked through the door, we knew we wanted to stay here.
The hotel was full of history – from the furniture to the beautiful wooden staircase.
Our room was massive. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was nice also. Our bedroom wasn’t far off needing a new coat of paint, but that didn’t worry us.
The hotel is right in the centre of town and is connected to a restaurant / bar were we had breakfast and enjoyed a few beers in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
It was a pleasure hosting your rooming needs. As you found out the entire staff at Hotel La Rose and Bistro 1907 strives to treat every guest like family. Once again thank you and your guest for allowing us to include you in our Hotel La Rose and Bistro 1907 family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

My wife and I have recently discovered the wonders of the La Rose Hotel on Railroad Square in Santa Rosa. The hotel recently took over the adjacent restaurant. IT IS FANTASTIC!!!! The food and service is second to none. Dade, the facility manager, is warm and friendly. His management skills are far superior to that of the prior restaurant owners. His positive attitude carries over to his staff. We had dinner there last evening and were extremely satisfied.

A week or so ago, our daughter stayed in the hotel itself for a get-a-way.
Her analysis was the same as ours. The room was perfect, the food extra ordinary.

I would highly recommend the La Rose Hotel and Restraurant.

Room Tip: Check with the staff for their advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank virgil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Thank you for your kind words about Historic Hotel La Rose and Bistro 1907 (restaurant) just a note Hotel La Rose is 105 years old this year and look forward to the next 105 years. Thanks again hope to see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights recently and were extremely happy with the quality of our stay, and the affordability of the hotel. The location is close to a number of restaurants, coffee shops and bars, and only a few blocks from 101. Great value for your money and an extremely nice stay in a clean, comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcath07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
The entire staff wishes to thank you for your comments. The Hotel La Rose and The Restaurant at Hotel La Rose wishes to again host your rooming and dining needs in Santa Rosa on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.3 km away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
7.2 km away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
4.2 km away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
#8 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
4.4 km away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rose? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rose

Property: Hotel La Rose
Address: 308 Wilson St, Santa Rosa, CA 95401-6245
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,257 - ₹ 14,602
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Rose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel La Rose was built in 1906. Our main building has antique furniture in the lobby and all guest rooms. Our Carriage House is more modern with balconies or outside room sitting areas. We are directly across from the Historic Railroad Station in Railroad Square where in 2016 the Smart Train will arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rose Hotel
La Rose Santa Rosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing