We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience in a historic setting”
Review of Hotel La Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Rose
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience in a historic setting”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed there for almost a week and found this hotel to provide customer service beyond our expectations. I had a feeling this would be a great place when I called to make reservations and found the hotel person to be very friendly and willing to work with me on arrangements. The front desk people were very friendly and were willing to provide information or other services. When I had trouble calling the restaurant for room service, which was reasonably priced also, the front desk would have the restaurant call me for our order. The breakfasts from the restaurant were excellent. My wife had broken a bone in her foot before we arrived and when we needed ice for the swelling, they would provide ice cheerfully and always inquire if they could do anything else to ease her discomfort. We stayed in the adjacent Carriage House and were provided a ground floor. The rooms were spacious and quiet. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. The bathroom was spacious and very functional and the shower provided plenty of water. The hotel's proximity to the historic district and the downtown for shopping and restaurants was a big plus as both are a short walk. When we left during the day, our room was freshened up very nicely. The value for the room was very good and we will definitely stay here again the next trip we take to the wine country.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mhamouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
As you know Historic Hotel La Rose works hard to meet the ever changing needs of our guest but also to keep our deep history and values. Hotel La Rose and our staff values your comments and suggestions to not only better us but to make sure we stive for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    185
    46
    24
    13
See reviews for
63
236
35
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

After staying at the La Rose in Santa Rosa often and for many years, I think we have had our last night there. I still love the vintage, intimacy and charm, but it has been let go to the point of no return. It needs everything renewed to be brought back to some degree of it's true potential. I am sad to loose this little gem and will have a hard time replacing it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dade V, Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Please know that Historic Hotel La Rose works very hard to stay up to date and uphold our historic values. The furniture in our guest rooms are mostly antiques and have worn over the years with that said repairs are an ongoing task. We value your opions and take that all very seriously. We have just completed the lobby guest bathroom renovations (pictures will follow) and are looking forward to updating out lobby flooring. There will continue to be updates and repairs to keep us current but remain historial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
258 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My Wine Country travel group enjoys staying at quaint hotels and B&Bs. We don't expect luxury or posh surroundings. We like the feel of yesteryear. This turn-of-the-century charming old hotel fit the bill. I share a room with a fellow traveler and we have spanned the gambit; everything from together in a king to more room than we need. Hotel La Rose gave us a huge room with two queen beds and a turn-of-the-century closet size bathroom. It had exposed plumbing and a leaky shower. But, I am not complaining our stay was absolutely wonderful. Just wanted to let you know that it is, what it is. Great service and a very impressive FREE continental breakfast (lots of pastry and fruit to select from) tops the visit. If you enjoy this sort of thing, stay there. My wife would not have set her bags down before we were back in the cab looking for another place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
With only 48 guest rooms Historic Hotel La Rose not only handles your rooming needs but works hard to give our guest (extended family) a home away from home. Being a small historic property we offer a one on one guest experience from check in to check out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arizona
Level Contributor
131 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed here two nights and specifically requested the newer carriage house. We liked our large quiet room and the high speed Internet access was a real plus. We also enjoyed the location of the hotel in the historic Railroad Square and its proximity to downtown Santa Rosa. Some dislikes: shower water pressure was weak, pillows were not comfortable. It is important to note that the brochure for the Hotel La Rose lists a complimentary European breakfast as one of its amenities; however, the hotel no longer offers this to guests. We pointed this out to the staff, who did not apologize for the error nor remove the brochures from the display.

Room Tip: Rooms in the carriage house are more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
We take every guest comment to heart and we wish to thank you for your comments. The rack cards (information cards) have been replaced as we have a new resturant on site Iron Stone which serves a great breakfast, lunch and dinner for our guest at a 10% discount. The hotel choose to cancel our breakfast do to Iron Stone opening as our guest had a better selection. We are looking into breakfast options at this time for our guest that wants to eat and dash.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

First came here on business in August 2011' came back in December, 2011 and never thought to stay anywhere else. 100 year old restored jewel in the historic railroad depot district of Sonoma county's largest city. There are two buildings, the main and the carriage house. Never stay in the main building because the carriage house is so wonderful. Huge room, immaculately decorated in modern Victorian , door opens to balcony or deck overlooking internal courtyard garden reminiscent of New Orleans. Comfy bed, keurig coffee maker, nice sized bathroom, fluffy towels, spotless. Front desk works to please and the new restaurant, Iron Stone has gotten rave reviews. Heading there tomorrow night for dinner. Great find if you're in Sonoma county wine country.

Room Tip: Second floor carriage house room 68 is my favorite, afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank capitollobbyist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your review we look forward to handling your rooming needs anytime you are in Santa Rosa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
4.2 km away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
570 reviews
0.3 km away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,000 reviews
1.8 km away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
577 reviews
0.2 km away
Courtyard Santa Rosa
Courtyard Santa Rosa
#8 of 25 in Santa Rosa
334 reviews
4.3 km away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rose? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rose

Property: Hotel La Rose
Address: 308 Wilson St, Santa Rosa, CA 95401-6245
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,788 - ₹ 17,248
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Rose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel La Rose was built in 1906. Our main building has antique furniture in the lobby and all guest rooms. Our Carriage House is more modern with balconies or outside room sitting areas. We are directly across from the Historic Railroad Station in Railroad Square where in 2016 the Smart Train will arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel La Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rose Hotel
La Rose Santa Rosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing