We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Glad we went” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willi's Wine Bar

Willi's Wine Bar
Ranked #2 of 519 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 31 - US$ 50
Cuisines: International, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mark West Springs
Description: A San Francisco Chronicle Bay Area Top 100 Restaurant for four years, Willi's Wine Bar's classic roadhouse appeal captures the casual, laid-back nature of Sonoma County Wine Country. Tourists and locals feel equally at home enjoying a quick bite or lingering over a glass of wine. The menu at Willi's features international small plates, some wildly inventive and others comfortingly familiar. Staff is eager to help create perfect pairings with wines from the extensive wine list, many by local producers. Most wines are available in twoounce tastes as well as by the glass or bottle..
Oxford
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Glad we went”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We went there based on the recommendation of our concierge at the hotel we were staying.

100% on the mark. We sat on the patio, which in the evening was just sublime.

The small dishes/tapas they offer were exquisite. Given we were driving and had had a busy day we only drank a small glass of wine with our food, but if you want, every dish has its own wine pairing.

The staff were also very efficient and our waiter, when seeing we were taking photos, without being asked, offered to take a picture of us (to my amazement, not many people offer!) - so an extra star for friendliness.

My only down for this place would be that as the tapas are so yummy you would just keep ordering and ordering (not good for waistlines nor wallet).

Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daveramlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    202
    35
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

The filet Mignon medallions where awesome and you can never go wrong with a cheese sampling

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 735MichaelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Unusual options - nice to see variety”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

I'm always on the lookout for something that dares to be different and Willis has no fear !
Too many restaurants want to be fashionable with their lighting and decor and imaginative menus, but the food is so disappointing whilst the check never ceases to raise the eyebrows, Willis takes a different approach, your eyebrows and curiosity will be raised with their imaginative concoctions and if you resist the temptation to over-order the check I found to be very reasonable. and of course their wine menu will have you pondering for many a minute on what to choose...yes well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GarryPy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
133 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Small Plate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We ate at Willi's on a recommendation from a local and was not disappointed. The small plates are all very very tasty. My favorites were the Crab Tacos and the Pork Riblettes. All in all the food and wine was very tasty but be prepared to spend some cash as this place is not cheap. The outdoor patio was excellent and a perfect way to end the day.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank qsxhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
133 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Small Plate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We went to Willi's on a local's recommendation and were not disappointed. We had 5 of the small plates and they were all extremely tasty. The Crab Taco's and the Pork ribletts were my favorites. It's a bit pricey so be prepared to spend some cash, but it is definitely worth it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank qsxhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Willi's Wine Bar also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Willi's Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing