We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing and overpriced”
Review of Willi's Wine Bar

Willi's Wine Bar
Ranked #2 of 527 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 31 - US$ 50
Cuisines: International, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mark West Springs
Description: A San Francisco Chronicle Bay Area Top 100 Restaurant for four years, Willi's Wine Bar's classic roadhouse appeal captures the casual, laid-back nature of Sonoma County Wine Country. Tourists and locals feel equally at home enjoying a quick bite or lingering over a glass of wine. The menu at Willi's features international small plates, some wildly inventive and others comfortingly familiar. Staff is eager to help create perfect pairings with wines from the extensive wine list, many by local producers. Most wines are available in twoounce tastes as well as by the glass or bottle..
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very disappointing and overpriced”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Tapas menu is indeed small and overpriced. Food is moderate in quality and lacks good vegetarian food.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank annee05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    214
    38
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small plates are great to share and if you aren't staving”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The food is always unique and I like the small plate serving, great for buying several and sharing. The owners have several restaurants and have brought their qualities along to the various restaurants. They will be opening another one in Healdsburg at the old Ravenous restaurant....should be good.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Oysters! Cold and Baked!”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Hadn't been here in a while. I'm glad to report it's better than ever! An historic Road House on Redwood Highway, heading north from Santa Rosa, CA. The way for cars before the 101 freeway was developed, I think it used to be called the Orchid Inn.
The story about upstairs, as in many historical road house's upstairs: a bordello.

They have lovely cold oysters with a cilantro mignonette. The baked ones made me so happy. If you like Oysters Rockefeller, these things will thrill you.

Great wine! Try a flight of Chardonnay... That's what I did and I found all three fabulous. The skillet Shrimp- Killer! At least 6 crack and peel, well seasoned, some frissee, a couple red peppers (they left the seeds in, in case you want to spice it up more, very thoughtful!)

Jason, the wine- pourer, was lovely and smart about the wines they have.

They have small plate items, even the main entrees. Which I find cool, since I don't like to commit to a huge meal.

Regret that I didn't take my camera. Will next time.

If you are traveling through Santa Rosa, or live nearby, this is a treasure.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Delicious, creative small plates that keep us coming back”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We love being able to share a variety of small plates when we go here. The menu changes from time to time, but many of our favorites are always there. The food is fresh, delicious, and creative. Among our favorite plates are the ahi tartare, the truffle fries served with truffle aioli, the pot stickers, and the pulled duck BBQ with white cheddar polenta. The ambiance is wine country casual and the restaurant is popular with locals. We sit at a table when going with a group, but if it's just my husband and myself, we like to eat at the bar. On one visit, we were chatting to the person next to us and we learned that he was the winemaker of the wine we were drinking!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank swissmiss001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Healdsberg ?”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Tapas - amazing food, very nice wait staff, we'd go back in a heart-beat!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackchas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Willi's Wine Bar also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Willi's Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing