We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome staycation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vintners Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vintners Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome staycation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Extremely comfortable rooms, large and spacious. Beautiful grounds. My wife and I had an excellent stay.

My only complaint was that our room service plates and trays had not been removed from our room when we got back at 11:00 from our night out even though turn down service had come through.

Overall it was comfortable, quiet and well worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cs34109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    111
    37
    12
    6
See reviews for
53
366
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

My wife and I had not been to The Vintners Inn and John Ash & Co in over twenty years. Shame on us! We took advantage of a promotion that included the room, a credit towards dinner and two Winery Passes for two. There is also a continnental breakfast included.
The property is outstanding and our room was delightful.
We had a pre dinner cocktail at the bar, which was very quaint and lively.
We had an exceptional dinner. The setting, the service and the meal were all five stars.
I had the lamb shank, which melted from the bone and my wife had the diver scallops, which were remarkable. The wait staff was knowledgable and very attentive.
We will return, and it willl not take us another twenty years.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobostours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

First, the property itself is just wonderful. Courtyards with fountains, cobblestone, vines etc., just lovely. The rooms were warm and comfy, with wonderful furnishings and beautiful views. The service great also, housekeeping meticulous and all others we dealt with very friendly. Oh, and the restaraunt was top notch. So what's not to like?????

Oh, my gosh, 7 AM Saturday morning and there is this roar. At first I told my husband I thought we were having an earthquake! We then figured it out that it had to have been a jet. So much for sleeping in! At breakfast the hostess told us the aiport is just a few miles away. She added that they are expanding and bigger jets will be coming in. She then said the area is going after mass tourism (she said all of this like it was going to be a good thing!)

This was our third and probably last trip to Sonoma County. It had already started to loss it's "quaintness" but the direction they are going it will be nowhere near what it used to be. Head to the Upper Napa Valley, St. Helena and Calistoga, these are much more surreal, peaceful areas. Too bad they go too big for their britches!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank texaslisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you for your feed back, we appreciate your taking the time to comment. I have no idea what noise you may have heard but I don't think it would have been a jet. The airport runways are not long enough to accommodate large commercial jets. How rude though that whatever it was occurred at 7 in the morning. Since I haven't had any other comments about this I'm at a loss to give you an answer. I'm not sure who you spoke with since we don't have a breakfast hostess, perhaps someone at the front desk? Unfortunately, their facts were not quite right. Sonoma County, like all great destinations, is encouraging tourism. The expansion plans for the Sonoma County airport have been on the books for awhile with completion in 2020. So, I do hope you'll continue to come to beautiful Sonoma Wine Country and since you spoke so glowingly about Vintners Inn, you'll come back and see us again. Please feel free to call me directly if you have any questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork
Level Contributor
144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

this property is lovely. We stayed ther for 3 nights over Thanksgiving week. The rooms are very big and connecting (we have kids and NEED connecting rooms) and not many properties particularly around Sonoma and Napa can offer that.
My only complaint is that the staff serving breakfast is overwhelmed. Not a big deal but can become annoying. In this area they are very disorganized (forget your orders or mix them up...). Most of them are young people trying hard but not reaching their goals.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubuNewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you for your comments, guest feed back is extremely important to us. The issue with breakfast service is actually something we're addressing this year with new management and training. Not reaching their goals and that of the Inn's is exactly what we're trying to change. I hope the next time you visit us you'll be pleasantly surprised at the reorganization, just give us another month or two.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Location : Ethereal in the midst of Vineyards
Check in : Prompt and Easy
Room: Large with Balcony
Bathroom: Large with separate make up area; excellent shower,soft and thick towels
Restaurant: Excellent food and extensive wine list,attentive service
Exercise Room: Small with no HVAC
Breakfast: extensive Buffet Breakfast

Room Tip: Choose the Second floor with a Balcony facing the Vineyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
7.6 km away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
2.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
35.4 km away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
17.2 km away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
21.7 km away
Kenwood Inn and Spa
Kenwood Inn and Spa
#1 of 1 in Kenwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintners Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintners Inn

Property: Vintners Inn
Address: 4350 Barnes Rd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1514
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,906 - ₹ 30,330
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintners Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Vintners Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintners Hotel Santa Rosa
Vintners Santa Rosa
Vintners Inn Santa Rosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing