We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel - Santa Monica Beach and Pier”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hotel California
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice motel - Santa Monica Beach and Pier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed in a 2nd floor suit with kitchenette. There were four of us. There is no air conditioning but the cool Pacific ocean provides natural cooling even in summer. There were two good ceiling fans that made the room a comfortable temperature. Our expectations for a hotel in Santa Monica next to the beach in our price range were low, but Hotel California exceeded our expectations. Security seemed adequate. There was a continental breakfast provided with pastry, coffee and juice. It is right on Ocean Boulivard and within walking distance of Santa Monica Pier and the downtown shopping district. We had dinner, lunch and breakfast in nearby restuarants. There was plenty of variety and price range to choose from with 5 blocks of the hotel. Free Wi-Fi.
Parking is somewhat of a issue as the hotel parking lot is very small (12 cars) and there is a $25/night parking charge. It is possible to park in city lots nearby or on the street with meters but there are many restrictions regarding parking hours and time limts. We decided to pay the $25 nightly parking and forget the hassel of moving the car constantly. The posters and art work are truely "vintage California"

We would stay there again for sure on a return to LA area. Great place to experience the Santa Monica and Venice Beach areas.

Room Tip: There are no elevators but second floor rooms are a bit more secure and worth the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rangeley12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    317
    168
    91
    91
See reviews for
325
314
77
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

The beachside location is the main selling point. Staff were very helpful and friendly, and there was free Internet, cupcakes and coffee in reception.
Parking at this hotel is minimal so you might be eager to get a spot just like we did, but BEWARE!! Parking is 25 dollars per night and they don´t tell you when checking in at the front desk upon arrival. I was asked to provide my driver's license, make and model of car and to sign my name at the bottom. Upon signing this you are agreeing to pay 25 dollars a night for parking.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malaga-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Cool boutique hotel by Santa Monica beach. Very friendly and helpful staff. We got some great tips for our onwards journey along the coast - much appreciated! Will definitely book here again and recommend it to others as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

I only spent one night at this hotel, but I truly enjoyed it. The front desk clerk was amazingly fast and had a great sense of humor. I was put into a special room with a crazy cool bathroom but unfortunately, the tub did not have the availability to plug it up (stopper) - I really wanted to get into that huge hot tub in the room. It also had a separate shower. Headboard was a surfboard, very nice soft linens and certainly quiet. There were aspects that could use some upgrades but it was a quick walk to several great restaurants and the bikers out front (the computer geek kind) asked me for a beer right off the bat. Most enjoyable all around. Didn't stay long enough for breakfast.

Room Tip: Second floor worked great for me - no noise and I'm a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank machp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I read good & bad reviews but still booked. Unfortunately, if you prepare yourself for no designated parking spots, or patchy wifi, and don't come with the expectation of a full continental breakfast, you'll overlook these things & just enjoy the quaint surfie decor that makes it special, and that unbeatable location for its price. You can't be that close to the beach in a unique boutique hotel and pay less than $200. I booked it cos it was different to the run of the mill hotels.

Only stayed there for 2 days so willing to overlook the above, which I knew about from reviews. The staff will try to help you get a spot. They let me park in disabled for the night as there were no disabled guests. One night staff also went to lengths to get me some padding & bags for my precious purchase for the plane.

One reviewer said she had access to the beach but couldn't get back to the hotel cos the gate was locked (same access as some private residences), just stick your hand it & open from the inside. Instant 2-way beach access! Don't tell everyone or they'll change the door!

IF HOTEL CA ARE READING... JUST DO SOME LITTLE IMPROVEMENTS & YOU'RE HOTEL WILL BE THE COOLEST IN TOWN.

Room Tip: The floor/roof is very thin. I woke to the sound of people walking above me. Get an upstairs room. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JijiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,716 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel California

Property: The Hotel California
Address: 1670 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,126 - ₹ 24,157
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel California 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from the beach and from the famous Santa Monica Pier, this world-famous hotel offers complimentary coffee, tea, fruit, WiFi, laundry room, as well as a private beach pathway! Experience the laid back California lifestyle as it should be. Moments from the shopping and dining, Third Street Promenade, Venice and Muscle Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel California Santa Monica
California Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing