We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hotel California
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Long Island NY
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

As a frequent visitor to the Santa Monica area, I was always curious about this hotel, mostly because of the Eagles' song. For a lengthy visit, I wasn't willing to chance it, but I stayed overnight last week and my curiousity is satisfied. Although the room was clean, and the evening clerk was very helpful that's about the only positive thing I can say. It took me 4 phone calls to even get an emailed confirmation, then the Internet was out for the day I was there. The room was small and unremarkable, and although daytime parking is free, overnight parking is not. There are much better options in the area (most pricier, but others in the same ballpark, esp if using a booking site).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank beentheredonethat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    317
    167
    91
    91
See reviews for
324
314
77
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

You might think that the hotel is basic looking from the outside but it is totally the opposite. Rooms are cozy, charming, well equipped and nicely decorated. Has got a lot of style, friendly staff and free wi fi.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mthereza89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

On our family vacation we wanted to be near the water and thought the name was cool. T However noisy, dirty, and no air conditioning. Big screen TV was smashed in our room and things were broken so we asked to change rooms. The bathrooms are mini so you can't even close the door.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c0mpassi0nate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa mesa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Parking at this hotel is minimal so you might be eager to get a spot just like my fiancé and I were, but BEWARE!! Parking is 25 dollars per night and the employees DO NOT TELL YOU! When checking in at the front desk upon arrival, I was asked to provide my driver's license, make and model of car and to sign my name at the bottom. Upon signing this you are agreeing to pay 25 dollars a night for parking. They also have a very small sign which is not visible that says in very small writing "parking 25 dollars". They don't want you to know that parking is 25 dollars until after they charge your credit card.

The room is average, nothing better than a best western. Just very average. The location of the hotel is the only good thing. It is just blocks from the promenade and pier! When staying at this hotel don't forget to bring your quarters and park at the meters on the street!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hotel C, Front Office Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
First, thank you for taking the time to post your experience on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your concern about parking. Most of us are not fans of "the fine print." on any document, that is why we specifically bold the amount of $25 for parking on our sign in sheets, which are already concise so that our guests don't miss this crucial information, and so international travelers can understand it just as well. We also have a sign that reads "$25 parking each night," which we have in bold and highlighted on our front desk so it can stand out. We are proud that we are one of the hotels in Santa Monica with a lower overnight parking fee. We hope this made sense to you in the end, and wish you the best of luck on your next destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

I traveled to Santa Monica with my wife end of Sep this year. I had to attend a Summit at the nearby Shutters at The Beach Hotel. Our head office (I am assigned to the Asia office) is also based in Santa Monica. We arrived in LA 9/24 and stayed with friends at Irvine. We then moved to Hotel California 9/26 and stayed there for 3 nights. We were hesitant to leave Irvine where we slept comfortably. When we booked online, we knew it was reasonably priced but had concerns about the quality of service and of the hotel. Heading the Asian delegation to this Summit, I had also recommended this hotel to two other delegates from Japan. To our surprise, it was one of the best hotels we stayed in. Great staff namely MARIBEL, JON and STEVE. These are the pillars and assets of the hotel - the staff who love their work. My Japanese delegates enjoyed their stay too (one enjoyed the surfing). Truly a charming iconic hotel in Santa Monica. In fact, on our last day, the producers from Hells Kitchen dropped by the hotel asking if they wanted to be featured for another program as they too felt that this hotel was a charming, quaint hotel that is iconic. I will stay here again next time I travel to Santa Monica. I need not say more about its ideal location to the shops and restaurants. Maribel, Jon and Steve, thanks again for your kind hospitality. You made our trip even more memorable! More power.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueBoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel California

Property: The Hotel California
Address: 1670 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,271 - ₹ 24,180
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel California 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from the beach and from the famous Santa Monica Pier, this world-famous hotel offers complimentary coffee, tea, fruit, WiFi, laundry room, as well as a private beach pathway! Experience the laid back California lifestyle as it should be. Moments from the shopping and dining, Third Street Promenade, Venice and Muscle Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel California Santa Monica
California Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing