We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Nearby Hotels
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
US$ 220
US$ 215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ambrose(Santa Monica)
US$ 437
US$ 330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 506
US$ 455
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Viceroy Santa Monica(Santa Monica)
US$ 612
US$ 427
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 452
US$ 310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 403
US$ 307
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 399
US$ 376
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 424
US$ 364
JW Marriott
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$ 457
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Shutters on the Beach(Santa Monica)
US$ 967
US$ 678
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
108
206
93
33
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
206
93
33
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenliving roomheated poolwell equipped kitchencalifornia avepink tilestreet promenadewhole foodsapartment complexgarbage truckscentral courtyardtwo blockslarge bedroomper daylaundry facilitieswithin walking distanceseen better days
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The Car Mal Apartments are in Santa Monica. We chose this location to be close to the beach, and also to escape the craziness of Hollywood / central LA itself. After spending a day in central LA, we were pleased we had done this – it was good to be able to escape.

Santa Monica has plenty of restaurants etc but, like all of LA, its all very spread out.

The apartments are just three blocks walk from the beach, and about another ten minutes walk to the Santa Monica Pier. They are just two blocks from the pedestrianised 3rd street promenade where you can find plenty of shops. We also walked all the way from our apartment along the coast to Venice Beach – this probably takes about 45 minutes.

The apartments are spacious and there is an outdoor pool. The plus of these apartments is that there is a kitchen which is supplied with all the tools you need (plus they provide paper towels, coffee for the coffee maker daily, and salt and pepper) which is really practical. We bought some food a few times from Wholefoods (a few blocks away).

You have to pay for Wifi which is rather annoying, and the parking is about USD15 per day.

My only complaint (which I was not expecting) was that the apartments were quite noisy. We could hear the people upstairs as they walked across their floor. Also, we had the unfortunate experience of having a bunch of girls come in very drunk at 330am. We had thought the apartments would appeal more to families, so we were surprised by this. There is a 24 hour concierge who confronted the girls – still, it did not stop the entire complex from wakening up while they were screaming in the apartments.

I would recommend the Santa Monica area to base yourself. These apartments are fine, particulary for longer stays, but I reckon you could get better value for money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Greetings emmturner, thank you for taking the time to post your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed the area and our close proximity to all of the venues in our area. We appreciate knowing your cares and concerns relative to our property and take all comments very seriously. We apologize that you were bothered with other guests coming in late in the evening and being a bit noisy; typically, our property is very quiet and laid back but there are those times when we are daunted with outbursts. Again, we so very much appreciate your feedback and we would be honored to host you at a future date.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Our friends live in a small flat on Ocean Avenue and this was a great place to stay while visiting for a few days. The price was great and the location was ideal. It is a block away from both the beach (and the Fairmont resort!) and a block away from the 3rd street promenade shops.

Clean and comfortable bed. Kitchenette with coffee and fridge was also handy. No brekkie but very close to starbucks and supermarket etc so you can sort yourself out easily.

The front desk was also very helpful and organised a car rental for us at a great rate so that we could visit Disneyland.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XtoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a great location, 1 minute walking to ocean or third street promenade. Pool is very nice and warm. Staff is very helpful and friendly. You have to pay for internet $10 per day and parking $15 per day but it is still a good deal considering the location. The hotel is extremely dated, think 50's but very clean and well kept up. It was the perfect place EXCEPT I was in one of the rooms that I have listed below to avoid. Reason being is these rooms all are on an alley with garbage trucks and delivery trucks coming at all hours. Garbage and deliveries started at 530 every morning-I kid you not even on the weekends!!!! At 3 am on a sunday, someone had a truck doing something.. This wouldnt be so bad if the windows were soundproof but guess what: Original windows from 50s which actually do not even latch shut and when they do it still seems as if they are open-the thinnest sheet of glass you can imagine. That being said, everything else was perfect. Nice and spacious for a family. Kitchen well stocked so you can have breakfast and make a meal if you want. No cheap grocery store nearby however. Pick up things at Ralphs before you come

Room Tip: Unless you want to be up all night, do not accept any of these rooms: 203-207 and 303-307
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmtmrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed here for three days location excellent one block from third st. Easy walk to beach. Rooms large and clean with kitchen. Pool was soooo warm children lived in it. Could be a little noisy at night but acceptable. Only niggle $9 for wi-fi not really on nowadays. Starbucks on corner of third has free wi-fi. We would definitely go back.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank simon1151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Overall, we enjoyed this retro hotel. We arrived late in the afternoon and were greeted by a very friendly, helpful staff. Check in process was a breeze. Found the suites to be spacious and, though somewhat dated, they are immaculate. The place was spotless and everything was in good working condition. Amenities: full kitchen (gas stove), full size fridge, toaster, microwave, 2 cup coffee maker (with coffee/tea provided), dish detergent, paper towels, 2 TVs, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and body/hair wash dispensers near bathroom sink and in shower. Big bedroom, lots of closet space, very comfortable bed. Once in the room for a short while, the front desk called to make sure everything was alright. Shortly thereafter, a staff member knocked on the door with a vase of flowers. Staff was very responsive to any questions/requests we had. Internet is not actually through the hotel. It is through Netrisen for $12.50/day or $49.00/week. Log in was easy. Pay with a credit card. Had no problem with the internet all. Was able to get on line easily every time.
Very convenient location - a block south to 3rd St Promenade, 2 blocks north to Montana St with a number of small cafes/restaurants, 1 block west to the ocean. The area seems to be very safe and we had no issues walking around at night.
What others have said about the walls being thin is true. Could easily hear too much from the adjacent rooms as well as outside street noises. The only other thing I would classify as somewhat negative is the parking fee. It seems that when one is paying close to or over $200 per night, a $15.20 per day parking charge is a bit over the top. Overall, this was a nice place to stay and we would go back.

Room Tip: Second floor room toward the back may be a bit better for the noise issue.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dez36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews