We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool man.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Cool man.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Staying here is like actually living the dream in Santa Monica; groovy man. Like it used to be before Reagan came along. You know, after the war (vietnam). Its cool here. Yes the furniture is new and classy but it still has that casual 1973 style I like. 5 minutes walk or skateboard to beach and nearby bars and chicks....So a great but quiet location. If I had a car (preferably a 1969 Shelby Mustang) it would not be needed here but there is easy parking here if you want. Cal Mar should be preserved as how life used to be before it all got heavy. I hear its all full of happy middle class families now who complain if the heated pool is used at 9pm! Even with costumes on. Its not 10 bucks either now. When I get out of the joint maybe I'll pass by and see if any of the old gang are around.......

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room it seems. Its great here. Not like the hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brianbluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you brianbluebird for living the dream in Santa Monica. It is a picture of a wonderful past and we are delighted that you alluded to the bygone era that our property emanates. We are delighted to accommodate our guests and are hopeful they will enjoy the charm you depict as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    185
    81
    31
    28
See reviews for
152
130
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

The Car Mal Apartments are in Santa Monica. We chose this location to be close to the beach, and also to escape the craziness of Hollywood / central LA itself. After spending a day in central LA, we were pleased we had done this – it was good to be able to escape.

Santa Monica has plenty of restaurants etc but, like all of LA, its all very spread out.

The apartments are just three blocks walk from the beach, and about another ten minutes walk to the Santa Monica Pier. They are just two blocks from the pedestrianised 3rd street promenade where you can find plenty of shops. We also walked all the way from our apartment along the coast to Venice Beach – this probably takes about 45 minutes.

The apartments are spacious and there is an outdoor pool. The plus of these apartments is that there is a kitchen which is supplied with all the tools you need (plus they provide paper towels, coffee for the coffee maker daily, and salt and pepper) which is really practical. We bought some food a few times from Wholefoods (a few blocks away).

You have to pay for Wifi which is rather annoying, and the parking is about USD15 per day.

My only complaint (which I was not expecting) was that the apartments were quite noisy. We could hear the people upstairs as they walked across their floor. Also, we had the unfortunate experience of having a bunch of girls come in very drunk at 330am. We had thought the apartments would appeal more to families, so we were surprised by this. There is a 24 hour concierge who confronted the girls – still, it did not stop the entire complex from wakening up while they were screaming in the apartments.

I would recommend the Santa Monica area to base yourself. These apartments are fine, particulary for longer stays, but I reckon you could get better value for money elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Greetings emmturner, thank you for taking the time to post your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed the area and our close proximity to all of the venues in our area. We appreciate knowing your cares and concerns relative to our property and take all comments very seriously. We apologize that you were bothered with other guests coming in late in the evening and being a bit noisy; typically, our property is very quiet and laid back but there are those times when we are daunted with outbursts. Again, we so very much appreciate your feedback and we would be honored to host you at a future date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne. Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Our friends live in a small flat on Ocean Avenue and this was a great place to stay while visiting for a few days. The price was great and the location was ideal. It is a block away from both the beach (and the Fairmont resort!) and a block away from the 3rd street promenade shops.

Clean and comfortable bed. Kitchenette with coffee and fridge was also handy. No brekkie but very close to starbucks and supermarket etc so you can sort yourself out easily.

The front desk was also very helpful and organised a car rental for us at a great rate so that we could visit Disneyland.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XtoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a great location, 1 minute walking to ocean or third street promenade. Pool is very nice and warm. Staff is very helpful and friendly. You have to pay for internet $10 per day and parking $15 per day but it is still a good deal considering the location. The hotel is extremely dated, think 50's but very clean and well kept up. It was the perfect place EXCEPT I was in one of the rooms that I have listed below to avoid. Reason being is these rooms all are on an alley with garbage trucks and delivery trucks coming at all hours. Garbage and deliveries started at 530 every morning-I kid you not even on the weekends!!!! At 3 am on a sunday, someone had a truck doing something.. This wouldnt be so bad if the windows were soundproof but guess what: Original windows from 50s which actually do not even latch shut and when they do it still seems as if they are open-the thinnest sheet of glass you can imagine. That being said, everything else was perfect. Nice and spacious for a family. Kitchen well stocked so you can have breakfast and make a meal if you want. No cheap grocery store nearby however. Pick up things at Ralphs before you come

Room Tip: Unless you want to be up all night, do not accept any of these rooms: 203-207 and 303-307
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmtmrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for three days location excellent one block from third st. Easy walk to beach. Rooms large and clean with kitchen. Pool was soooo warm children lived in it. Could be a little noisy at night but acceptable. Only niggle $9 for wi-fi not really on nowadays. Starbucks on corner of third has free wi-fi. We would definitely go back.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank simon1151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#25 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#19 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cal Mar Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cal Mar Hotel Suites

Property: Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Address: 220 California Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90403-3606
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,628 - ₹ 21,910
Hotel Class:3 star — Cal Mar Hotel Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cal Mar Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cal Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Cal Mar Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing