We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
110
216
99
34
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
216
99
34
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenliving roomheated poolstreet promenadepink tilewhole foodsapartment complexmelrose placegarbage truckstwo blockslarge bedroomlaundry facilitiesseen better daysan older hotelgreat poollocation is fantasticshort walk to the beach
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The Cal Mar is a great find. The location is perfect as it's a short walk to the beach, the Promenade, Whole Foods and only one block from a Starline Tours 'hop on hop off' bus stop at Wilshire and 3rd. The area is residential so it's quiet even so close to the action. We could see the ocean from our outside balcony on California Ave.

The size of the unit allowed us (my teenage daughter and I) to spread out. The fully functioning kitchen (and closeness of Whole Foods) allowed us to eat breakfast in and even one night have a friend over for dinner. We loved the pool and swam one afternoon. Yes, the walls are a little thin but not so much as to disturb our visit. The bathroom was very cute with its bright blue fixtures and pink tiles (it could have used a shelf for toiletries) but I can see how that wouldn't appeal to everyone. Housekeeping was great and the unit was always clean.

We love the Santa Monica area and Cal Mar will definitely be our place to stay. We've already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klashToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

klashToronto Toronto, Canada - super comments regarding your recent visit to our property. We are delighted that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay at the Cal Mar. We appreciate your highlighting all of the wonderful amenities that that our property has to offer. Thank you, too, for recommending the Cal Mar to your friends. We look forward to seeing you in the future and making us your home away from home. Have an amazing day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

My husband and I returned to the Calmar for our third visit -- approximately 20 years after our first -- and enjoyed it just as much as our first stay. (It has been upgraded since then!) The suites are very comfortable and clean. It's very nice to be able to spread out. The staff is extremely helpful, and the location, walking distance to everything, is great. In the past, we've stayed on the second floor. This time we were on the first and could hear people above us (walking around, not voices). In the future, we'd request the second floor to avoid that. However, this is a wonderful place to stay in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siva2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Hello Sivia2Boston, thank you for relating your experience on your most recent stay. We are delighted that you continue to return to the Cal Mar and appreciate so very much your great comments. As you mentioned; we have an awesome staff, great location and our rooms are very large and comfortable for the traveler. Thank you again and we hope you will continue to return to our property when you are in Santa Monica. Have an amazing day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I am so of two minds about the Cal Mar. I really like properties like this one; it is a converted 60s-era apartment building with older but clean furniture. Plenty of space to spread out, a full kitchen, separate bedroom, small but clean bathroom with no shampoo but good water pressure, and great location. And unlike so many pools that are advertised as heated, this one really is and is very pretty, obviously recently renovated, making for a delightful swim even during a chilly night. The only thing I feel I must mention is that in the previous reviews, the owners have written reassuring responses about their ongoing soundproofing, but our room had none. The street noise was not a problem at all; the Cal Mar is on a quiet street and we live in an urban apartment so we are quite accustomed to the occasional partygoer and traffic sounds. The problem was the paper-thin walls! We were on the second floor and could hear every word the people on either side of us said. A disconcerting intimacy not conducive to relaxation! We had to choose our bedtime according to that of our neighbors—no use trying to sleep when a discussion was happening seemingly inches from our heads. The people were not loud by any means, it was just that sound carried so effectively. The fourth night, two well behaved small children occupied one room. Very good parents; I know because I could hear their parenting happening all evening. It could be that some of the rooms have been sound insulated and some have not, so it is worth asking about that if you like a tranquil stay.

Room Tip: When you book, ask about a quieter room?
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marisol2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Greetings fMarisol12 from the Cal Mar Hotel, we appreciate so very much your awesome comments relative to our property, the spaciousness of our suites and are wonderful garden area situated around our lovely pool which was just upgraded a few years ago. We apologize about the problems you encountered with our “thin walls”. We are still renovating many of our suites and adding insulation in each room to cut down on the “noise factor” in some of our rooms. We are always straightforward in acknowledging the issues you mentioned and whenever possible, we move our guests to another quieter room. Again, we apologize for any inconsistencies that you dealt with and hope you will return so you are able to view the progress we have made in our renovation process. Have an great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed three weekends, in a different suite each stay. The location is great - close to the ocean and to the heat of Santa Monica, yet reasonably quiet, with car-parking and a great pool - surrounded by lovely trees and shrubs, and with a pair of hummingbirds flitting back and forwards. The facilities in the suites are good, the beds are very comfortable and the whole place is clean. Reception is very helpful and the Cal Mar staff really friendly. And compared with the other accommodation in Santa Monica Cal Mar is pretty good value.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinhenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Hello Robinhenshaw, we would like to take this opportunity to express our gratitude for your taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you acknowledging our awesome staff, the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms and acknowledging your great experience in revisiting our property. Thank you for denoting the Calmar as a delightful place with real character. We hope to see you the next time you visit Santa Monica. Have an amazing day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

nice place to stay suite was huge location great walk to every where a little older style but for the money it's well worth it

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRT K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Hello Bretkero Sydney Australia, Thank you so much for posting your comments regarding your recent stay. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit and that you mentioned the value of our property. We are located in a wonderful pristine residential area and are a short walk away from all of the wonderful “happenings” in Santa Monica. Again, thanks so much!!! We hope to see you again soon! Enjoy an awesome day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews