We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in a fabulous location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a fabulous location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

Great hotel in a fantastic location
Hotel has lots of character, staff were really friendly.
Room was nice and clean, size was ok, not massive but why spend time in the room when Santa Monica is so lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwongeight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Sales & Revenue Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Kwongeight,

Thank you for your valuable feedback! I'm glad that you appreciated the character and charm that goes alongside of being a historic property such as ours. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our fair city as well! Santa Monica is such a beautiful city, and we're lucky to be situated smack in the middle of the best our city has to offer.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future! :)

Kind Regards,

-Aimee Beardsley
Sales & Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    753
    259
    79
    40
See reviews for
584
921
87
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

It's been a few years [5+] but the location and service received remains a pleasant memory. I was able to acquire my own brand of liquor a block away and it was served daily on the hotel's small veranda, as requested. Breakfast in the basement restaurant was exceptional--fresh Calif fruit+.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Sales & Revenue Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Gary E,

First and foremost, thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay! I am so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy some time on our prized Veranda Restaurant. One of the best views in the City of Santa Monica. :)

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the service of our devoted staff, and I will share your review with our staff here as well.

Safe Travels! :)

-Aimee Beardsley
Sales & Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

The Georgian has maintained a nostalgic charm - it is not an ultra modern hotel interior but rather an extremely well kept piece of history more in keeping with European accommodations. So if you need something new, perfect and modern you may be disappointed. History buffs will be intrigued. The rooms are updated, very clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was tiny but spotless. There is a full mini bar, free internet, entertainment system. The staff is very courteous and helpful. The restaurant has indoor and veranda seating that was ideal for breakfast. Location is PERFECT - Santa Monica Pier, 3rd St, several restaurants are very close. Only valet parking for $25 per night. The interior and grounds of the hotel are smoke free - guests that smoke are asked to go to an area just beyond the hotel to smoke - not allowed to stand and smoke on the side walk in front of the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YouWentWhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

My boyfriend and I took a trip to LA a few weeks ago and we decided we wanted to stay by the beach and rent a car to drive into 'LA'. This hotel was absolutely perfect for our 4 day stay. Its literally a block away from the Santa Monica pier and right across from the beach. The staff was extremely nice...from the front desk, to the valet, to the room service, everyone made our stay very welcoming. The rooms were clean and surprisingly big! (the bathroom was huge!) We stayed on the 2nd floor and although our view was of the building next to us, it didn't bother us cause we were only in the hotel at night after a day of sight seeing.

Just a tip to travelers who have cars -- the valet is $23 dollars a day(not including tips). Although at first this sounds steep, it was actually really nice to not worry about finding parking spots on the streets or using public garages. I would say if you are willing to shell out the money its def worth it. But if you're like no way, too much $, there are lots of parking meters around that area that you can scope out.

Otherwise, I highly recommend this hotel for a nice relaxing Santa Monica beach vacation. We loved it!

note -- the hotel's outdoor patio restaurant had great food, and the views were nice, especially during sun set. However it was alittle pricey, so we didn't eat there every night but i would highly recommend eating there at least once during your stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CGav_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

From the moment we arrived at the Georgian Hotel, we were so impressed by not only its physical charm but more importantly, with the service from the hotel staff including the front desk and the Bellmen. The front desk members wished us a Happy Anniversary (our 5 year wedding anniversary) as soon as we checked in, and offered to make us dinner reservations at several restaurants. The Bellmen were so friendly and offered us great advice regarding local attractions. If that wan't enough, we were pleasantly surprised by an upgraded hotel suite, and complimentary breakfast and drinks from the staff.
I am sure people look for fancy/name brand hotels with pools and fitness centers...but they are missing out on the BEST service if they do not consider this hotel. After this weekend, we will definitely return to the Georgian Hotel, and we would highly recommend it to anyone!

Candis & Michael Creel

Room Tip: The bathrooms are a bit on the small size, but the bedroom & living space more than make up for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,718 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Property: The Georgian Hotel
Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,794 - ₹ 35,251
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing