We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay.”
Review of Seaview Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Monica
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaview Hotel
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
South Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great stay.”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Looking at the negative reviews I wonder if we were in the same motel. This is an older motel priced at a rate that cannot be touched elsewhere at the beach. If you want 5 star service, pay for it and go somewhere else.
Motel reminds one of older times. It fits in with the pier, Venice boardwalk and old wooden life guard stands. This is what we wanted, and this is what we received. Located on a small block with several original buildings and houses. You could use a small walkway in the back and walk by the older buildings and arrive at the beach in just a few minutes, and have a beautiful view of the pier and easy access to the boardwalk.
Rooms were large, clean and remodelled. Had a small kitchen. Not fancy, but enough to store drinks and make morning coffee. Staff was excellent. Happy to help, and always there. Parking not easy, but I always found a spot. Mostly walked or the used bus, and did not use our car. SInce you are located between the beach and main road it is noisy, but not enough to keep me awake. This is the beach, not the wilderness, what do you expect.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leb8680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    184
    100
    33
    34
See reviews for
73
236
40
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canal Winchester, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

Listen folks. If you're expecting the Hilton for $100/night on the beach in Santa Monica you're going to be disappointed. But, if you keep an open mind you will get a clean, nice room for a great value. The grounds and gardens are beautiful all around the building. It is a little noisy but we are used to dealing with 2 kids at home so it didn't bother us at all. The bed was super comfortable and after a full day of walking Santa Monica, no noise from the street was going to keep me awake! All the staff were friendly enough for my expectations. Cora's Coffee Shop next door was the best 2 meals we had on our vacation. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baldy246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
174 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We wished we could stay here. We booked a 5-person room several months before for a saturday night last summer. Unfortunately, arriving at the motel, the receptionist said that the room was no longer available and that she was not responsible for the booking misunderstanding, because someone else in the staff replied to our mail. Furthermore she added that the price we'd received was too low for 5-person accomodation and that we should have note this fact before coming.
She didn't offer us any other solution or any help in finding another accomodation: we finally had to go around asking for quotations to all the closest hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lion26b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Monica hotels

Las Vegas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My family was here last week for an overnight stay. The location is just great. Beach is so close. It's like David among the Goliaths (luxury beach resorts beside it). I requested for adjoining rooms when I emailed them a few weeks back and were given rooms 2 and 3. Rm 2 had a King size bed and Rm 3 had 2 double beds and a kitchen with a dinette set. Both had small private patios. As for the comments on the loud noise coming from the street, it's only during the day that we noticed it and of course we were at the beach the whole time so no problem. At night it was quiet. The Pier is a 10 minute walk. The rooms were all modern and the bed is one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Only thing I wish the rooms had was airconditioning. But then it was in the 50's-60's and there was a fan in each room. The showers need updating but other than that everything else is fine. Cora's Cafe right next door is a must for breakfast/brunch. Absolutely delicious. I don't know about the other reviews but Rosa was very friendly and nice to me and my family. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wcgmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Location is walking distance to the Santa Monica Pier. The room was recently updated and clean. We appreciated the small kitchenette when it came time to heat up leftovers. It has a few small parking spots on the side street. The owners were nice. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
521 reviews
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
594 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#20 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#30 of 36 in Santa Monica
161 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
576 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Hotel

Property: Seaview Hotel
Address: 1760 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,588 - ₹ 11,110
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaview Hotel is a 1950's art deco gem by the ocean and is super affordable! The rooms have fresh colors, cozy fibers & trendy furniture! Each room includes free wireless, flat screen TV's & complimentary maid service. There is also free parking on a first come first serve basis. Footsteps from the beach via a private walkway. Many of Santa Monica's finest entertainment, restaurants, cafes, shopping centers, and art galleries. Santa Monica Pier is 2 blocks away, while Third St. Promenade is 3 blocks. See you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaview Motel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing