We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Brilliant for SANTA MONICA only !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant for SANTA MONICA only !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is a great hostel for Santa monica beach lovers, its relly close to all shops and beaches and is very clean, the staff are extremely helpful(well to English anyway lol) and all events were as advertised during the week. The only thing is the no Drinking policy it doesnt give you much chance to meet fellow travellers as hostellers do because everybody over 21 is out drinking!!! but for the $40 dollar 1 evening charge who can complain !!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainCavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    261
    74
    29
    20
See reviews for
17
40
298
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed in this hostel during the first week of April. I got a 6-bed dorm room. The room was unique, as it had a sink, a toilet in a separate room and a shower in another separate room. This set up helped to reduce waiting time to use the sink, toilet, or shower.

Breakfast is included in the rate, and the breakfast is adequate: milk, orange juice, sliced wheat bread for toast, mini-plain bagels, peanut butter, cream cheese and strawberry jam. Coffee and tea are always available. The outdoor courtyard, by the dining hall was a great feature, as I got to enjoy the warm weather during meals.

I participated on various tours: The Getty Centre, Downtown LA and pub crawl, and the volunteer tour leaders were helpful and friendly. They provided a wealth of history and knowledge. I enjoyed the company of other hostellers.

Overall, it was a good stay, and I would recommend this hostel to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brianchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainplace, General Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
It's so exciting when someone takes full advantage of all that we have to offer and it sounds like you did! I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the activities and our volunteers. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Having tried several hostels in LA, once I found HI Santa Monica I was happy to make it my regular bed when in the City of Angels.
More like a three-star hotel than a hostel, it's a block from the beach and surrounded by restaurants (there's a good Italian one right next door), the mall for people watching and Wholefoods a short walk away.
I holed up here for a week just before Christmas because I was recuperating from an ear infection and couldn't fly and found the lounge with wifi, gas fire and huge Christmas tree welcoming and warm. The dorms are comfortable with backpack-sized lockers, the bathrooms are clean and the included breakfast is good though it's a shame the eggs have been dropped from the menu.
The reception staff are efficient if somewhat uninterested.
It's easy to meet fellow-travellers in one of the many chill-out areas.
It's a direct bus to Hollywood and downtown LA and the 40-minute trip is worth it to stay out of town. Discounted tours are available to all the usual attractions if that's your thing and/or you're short on time.
It's close to LAX - I took a bus for $5 - get directions from the helpful volunteer information office downstairs in the terminal.
I booked a shuttle for my return to the airport at the HI office next door to the hostel.
Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

A mate and I stayed four nights here while in the Los Angeles area. We went directly form LAX to the hostel, thinking it would take an hour (seeing as LA is such a huge city) it was a surprisingly short drive! we took a shuttle which only cost us $15pp. The person on check-in was very friendly and polite. I was in a 10 person dorm which wasn't bad, there was a bathroom in the room itself which was good. Unfortunately my suitcase was to large for the locker provided (it was a pretty big suitcase though), however, this was not a problem as all they guys in my room were cool so I left it on my bed during the day. I had read reviews that said the rooms near the road got quite noisy, however, I found this was not the case. I can see how they could get noisy during the day, but it was fine at night time. The hostel offered heaps of activities that I would have loved to participate in, however, out itinerary was pretty full so we missed out on them. The hostel itself is seriously in the best location in Santa Monica! a 3 minute walk to Santa Monica Pier and a 2 minute walk to third St promenade- where there were great places to shop and eat! The area is very safe too, there is a police station opposite the hostel, so there was always a good presence of police. The staff were also more than happy to give directions around Los Angeles and gave some great advice.
Overall I enjoyed my stay here and will, without a doubt be staying here next time I'm in Santa Monica!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainplace, General Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
We're so pleased that you loved the Santa Monica area and chose us as a base. The staff is going to be very happy that you found them friendly and helpful. Can you imagine how we feel when we get to come to this area everyday for work? It feels like a vacation!
We're looking forward to your next visit. Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Pros
Safe location
Breakfast

Cons
REALLY unfriendly staff - if you resent tourists then dont work at a hostel
SUPER slow wifi
Compared to other HI hostels that I have stayed in in the States really drab interior - reflective of staffs lack lustre approach to their jobs?
Alot of the 'events' that they had were cancelled
Male bathroom two of the three toilets where broken
Were told that "if the cleaning staff see your sleeping backs in your room they will confiscate them" so we had to hide them - do they not expect backpackers to have sleeping bags?

Overall
Hostel is totally do-able but the staff really need to fix there mood and customer service

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrJandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#17 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#25 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica

Property: Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
Address: 1436 2nd St, Santa Monica, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2302
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Santa Monica
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,384 - ₹ 13,622
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica 2*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-Santa Monica hostel is set close to cafes, restaurants and movie theatres, and is only just two blocks from the beach. The J Paul Getty Center, with its spectacular art, architecture and views, is nearby. The hostel has been fully renovated with a fresh, new look. There is capacity for 260 guests and facilities include daily movies, internet access, kitchen, laundry and breakfast.Enjoy your stay at the Santa Monica hostel with easy access to Hollywood, Beverly Hills, UCLA, Venice, Malibu and downtown Los Angeles. A tour operator services the hostel, with daily excursions to Disneyland Resort, Universal Studios, and all the area's famed attractions. This location is the largest purpose-built hostel in the USA,just nine miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Come and check out Santa Monica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing