We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great view”
Review of Blue Plate Taco

Blue Plate Taco
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Plate Taco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 778 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Santa Monica
Description: We will be closing for renovations from Monday April 23rd - April 26th. We do apologize for the inconvenience. We will reopen doors on Friday April 27th.
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Blue Plate Taco hosts a beautiful view of the nearby Santa Monica Pier and state beach. The patio features heaters and blankets for cooler nights when the sun has set. Our server was attentive and friendly.

I would recommend starting with guacamole and a salsa flight. The salsa flight allows you to try three different housemade salsas of varying heat and flavor. For two people, I’d recommend getting the half size of guacamole as it is perfect for sharing.

The tacos were delicious with fresh ingredients. The steak tacos were my favorite, featuring tender meat, pickled red onions, and soft tacos.

The charred pineapple margarita was the perfect compliment to the meal. I would definitely return to Blue Plate Taco at my next Santa Monica stay.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,060)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 73 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Incredible experience at Blue Plate Taco. Certainly a must go spot in Santa Monica.
I went with a friend on a busy Saturday afternoon for lunch and even though they were packed, the staff were efficient in getting high quality food in front of us. The vibe of the restaurant was friendly and upbeat and the food very much beat our expectation. AJ made sure we had a great experience and kept everything running smoothly.

I highly recommend the queso! And the drinks were suppose to be something special as well, although I didn't indulge.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Zachary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Visited for a late lunch, service was great, nice position & fabulous food. The prawn/ shrimp fajitas along with the chicken fajitas were fabulous & fresh with looks of dudes.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank lyndellpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

Great tacos and service. Also had the most amazing guacamole crab pineapple dip. Sat outside and enjoyed perfect weather

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Macarena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

Great street front spot right in front of Shore Hotel. Busy but service is quick & efficent. Not so noisy you can’t chat. Great food but choose your cocktails carefully as chilli in the ones we had were too much. Bar inside is cool too & you can eat there if no tables are free. Reasonable priced too.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank didjjetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Plate Taco also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 
Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Blue Plate Taco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing