We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We arrived to a friendly greeting and a complimentary upgrade when we mentioned it was our wedding anniversary. The reception staff were all really welcoming and very helpful when it came to making restaurant reservations for us and answering our questions.

The rooms were big, modern and clean and we had an ocean view! They are quite pricey, but we felt that they were worth it.

Only slight (and this is really slight!) issue is that the pool area loses the sun about 4pm so it can get pretty chilly down there and in the hour or so beforehand, everyone tries to shuffle their sunbeds up to the sunny patch - and there aren't really enough beds/ room to allow for everyone to sunbathe.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank belulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Belulu, Thank you so much for staying with us on your Wedding Anniversary! We are thrilled that we were able to make your special day an even more special day. The guest service agents have the mind set of going above and beyond for each guest to make them know how truly valued they are and I’m glad you they were able to do this with you. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,634
    667
    236
    81
    57
See reviews for
954
770
112
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed for eight nights. It is ourageously expensive. Rooms are very comfy big and clean. The rooms of partial ocean view barely view the ocean. We had two rooms for eight nights which came up to a big buck and they didn't offer any complimentaries. Other places thank you with a fruit basket and cookies! Parking is addtional 30 per night.

Tip: check hotels like Georgian, OceaView, Holiday inn. They Are all in the same location and save you a big bunch.
Tip: check vacation rentals. They are really nice and good location too. You save alot especially if you are a group of four or more and staying for more than four nights. We wish we knew that earlier.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EscapeFromRiyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
EscapeFromRiyad,
Thank you for your review. We are extremely proud of the feedback and accolades we have received in our first year and regret you had a less than excellent experience with us. We have a team of experiences and passionate hoteliers we take immense pride in providing a personable guest experience and memory. As we continue to gain our amenities we have ensured we are priced accordingly with the other upscale fellow 4 and 5 star hotels in the city. We look forward to gaining our pool bar service as well our restaurant Blue Plate Taco in the very near future and I have contacted your account to have you experience our property after the openings. Thank you once again for your feedback.
mit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed at the Shore Hotel from 26th May to 28th May. Initial contact to make reservation was fantastic. Bobby the manager was so helpful, thanks Bobby. He couldn't have done anymore for us. On arrival we were welcomed by all the front desk staff. After a long flight from Australia with two young children we were eager to check in even though it was only early in the morning. The room we had booked wasn't available but we were offered a better room for a small charge extra. We were fine with this. The room was spacious and very clean. The kids were excited with the view of the pool and beach. The lack of restaurant didn't bother us as everything was so close. We could walk to the beach, third st promenade, public transport etc. If I had one complaint (it is minor) it would be on checkout the lady processing my card at reception must have had problems and it declined on the first try. She didn't tell me this and she started putting thru small amounts of $100 this flagged my bank who then froze my card. I then had to find a phone card to call the bank as it was an international bank. This was painful and time consuming. If I had of been offered use of the hotel phone would have made it easier. I then had on going dramas with the card throughout my holiday and on returning home had to cancel the card. I guess this sort of problem could be solved by better training on the front desk and not putting through small amounts. I don't blame the girl on the desk she obviously didn't know. It put a dampner on my holiday at times though. Aside from this we didn't have any complaints. We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leannru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Leannru, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I will definitely pass along your praises to Bobby Cooley and the front desk. Bobby definitely represents our ‘Anything… Everything’ slogan. Also I’m thrilled we were able to check you in early. We try our best to accommodate any special requests from guests, and I am glad we were able to do so with you and your family. Lastly, I apologize for any inconvenience you had during check out. I know each bank and credit card companies have different policies and I’m sorry we triggered something with yours. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with my six-year old son. The staff couldn't have been more accomodating or friendly especially Randall. He pleasantly offered to pick-up a late night dinner for my son as we arrived late in the evening. We had a a full size balcony which was absolutely wonderful for reading the morning paper while my son was sleeping. The hotel is ultra modern and has a cool "South Beach" atmosphere. Currently, there is no restaurant located in the hotel although they plan on opening one in the near future with Mexican fare. There are numerous places to eat around the surrounding area. The hotel is not directly located on the oceanside, but offers water views from select rooms. That being said it is conveniently located across the street from the Santa Monica pier, and a 5 minute walk to the shops and restaurants at the Third Street Promenade.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Amnnj,
Thank you for your review and for choosing Shore Hotel during your visit to Santa Monica from New Jersey. Our Shore brand slogan is, “Anything…Everything…Your escape is our passion.” All of our employees inherit this accommodating attitude in every interaction we have during the guest experience here and I am pleased Randall was able to help you with your late night dinner. I will be sure to pass along your praise to him and our entire team. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future as we continue to gain our amenities and Blue Plate Taco in late July and thank you once again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading,Berks, UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is by no means a bad hotel, in fact its quite good, but its no where near as luxurious as they would seem to suggest.(and charge you for!)

- the bathroom is too small
- the balcony if you have one is too small
- the pool area is too small
- the rooms are too small
- the lobby is very functional not luxurious
- there is no restaurant, bar or pool bar (soon to be a restaurant)
- are those really queen beds?
- some of the rooms are out the back across a bridge

It is modern, service was good and it is a good location but overall I left feeling that I had been ripped off (paid for luxury and got just about good) so I can't give it anymore than average.

... and what is the glass wall between the toilet/shower and the bedroom area all about. Maybe it might be nice when you are in the first throws of love - but there is no way I really want to see my partner sitting on the toilet, wiping their bottom or having a shower while I am relaxing! Good job there is a pricacy screen!

Room Tip: Sea view with Balcony worth it if you are on the 3rd Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woodchal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words regarding our passionate staff and our central location during your stay with us. All of our 164 rooms do have a balcony and privacy screen that lowers to ensure privacy between areas and our rooms per square footage are amongst the largest in the city. We look forward to our grand opening in the very near future which will add pool service and our restaurant Blue Plate Taco which is set to open at the end of July.

We aim to create an excellent uniquely personable guest experience second to none, subsequently we will never be satisfied with an average stay. I have contacted your account so that we can host you after these openings. I am hugely confident we will be able to instill the value and satisfaction with our product you deserve during your next stay and thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#14 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Property: Shore Hotel
Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,216 - ₹ 37,408
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property. Shore Hotel is pleased to announce the recent opening of our poolside bar as well as the much anticipated opening of our restaurant, Blue Plate Taco on September 23rd, 2012. Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing