We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, Oceanfront hotel with phenomenal service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Phoenix
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Modern, Oceanfront hotel with phenomenal service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

I stayed at the Shore Hotel while it was still quite new. I was expecting a nice hotel, but was prepared to be understanding of issues with service, etc. I have got to say, the staff, service, and overall quality of the hotel went above and beyond expectations. The location of the Shore is ideal - near the beach but also near shopping and restaurants. When we spent time in the room, we found it to be clean and well appointed - with staff ready to assist with anything we might want. I really cannot think of anything negative to say about our stay there.

Room Tip: The full oceanview room was well worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichelle N, Assistant Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you so much for your review Ivette R. It is true that we are still in our soft opening phase however, we never wanted that fact to effect our guests. When choosing team members, we specifically looked for experienced hoteliers with whom could provide 5 star servcie no matter the circumstances. We are so pleased to know that they did just that for you during your visit and your praises will be shared with the entire team. The same is true for housekeeping and we're happy that you found your room to be clean and comfortable. Our restaurant will be opening shortly and we are very excited about what will be Blue Plate Taco! Thanks again so much for your review and we hope that you have a chance to visit us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,634
    667
    236
    81
    57
See reviews for
954
770
112
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stay here often for business and the hotel is great. Only reason it's not 5 stars yet is that it's restaurant is under construction. When it opens in July, it will be the hotspot in Santa Monica. On the beach, great staff, casual atmosphere. Very positive experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichelle N, Assistant Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
BP, thank you so much for your kind words regarding our hotel and our staff! We are so proud of both and we're pleased to know that you experienced nothing but top-notch service each and every time you visit. Yes, the restaurant will be opening very soon and we hope that we will become Santa Monica's hot-spot! Thanks so much and we'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatamala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

The Shore Hotel was the perfect place for us to stay and see LA. Santa Monica was probably the nicest are of LA that we saw, so basing ourselves there was great. Amazing views of the beach right outside, including the Santa Monica pier, and only a 5 minute walk into the heart of Santa Monica.

Room was excellent and the service from the Hotel Staff was first rate.
Stevie & Cash at the front desk helped us organise trips to Disneyland and gave us great advise on where else to go in LA

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisgub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim S, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Chrisgub, Thank you for choosing the Shore Hotel as your Santa Monica hotel during your travels from Guatemala. Describing it as the ‘perfect place’ is such an amazing praise that our team will be overjoyed to hear. We take great pride in providing service that goes above and beyond making our guests feel not only comfortable but also appreciated. I will certainly pass along your praise to Stevie and Cash. They are shining examples of the dedication our team has to making each guests stay a little extra special. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel about an hour early of check in. There were no rooms available but we could upgrade for an additional fee...sounded fishy. To me. We came back about 4 to find our room available. The person that checked us in gave no information about this particular hotel-not even how to use the room keys to make the elevators and rooms accessible. We had to walk back to the front desk to have them demonstrate the scan function of the room key. Not difficult but a lesson would have been helpful. Once in our room ,which was very cool, the bathroom door handle fell off-this door provides very little privacy!!! The first night the power went off in an outlet my sound machine was pluged in- no sleep that night. The next night we were watching tv before dinner and the lights again went off in the bedroom area. Engineers came and said the whole room is run by a computer and is rather complicated!!!! He informed me that the bottom plug was hot so I could use that. But just in case he brought me ab16 ft. Cord!!!! The funny thing is that the tv and computer station can run all day but the three little light bulbs over the beds would go off if there was no motion after a period of time so with my not moving in my slee or even just watching tv ,the outlet went off along with the lights. Perhaps greater information and instruction would have improved our experience but I cannot give this hotel a good review at all. I do understand and appreciate what they are trying to achieve but things seem very inconsistent in it's application. Very Disappointed!!!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank wittsend49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim S, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
wittsend49, Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. We greatly appreciate all guest feedback. That being said, we are extremely saddened you had a disappointing experience. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay. The interaction and lack of explanation of hotel features you described with our staff is completely unacceptable and uncharacteristic for we pride ourselves in having a passionate team that thrives in customer service, as seen in our nearly 200 excellent reviews. I will forward your review to all of our team members for coaching purposes.

Being a LEED Gold Certified property, the room is designed with energy saving features, including the lights and top outlets. We take great pride in being a LEED Gold Certified property and doing our best in helping the environment, and I am glad you appreciated that as well. The bottom outlets are always ‘hot’ and do not turn off as the engineer explained. However, once again, I apologize it was not explained to you at the time of check in.

I have also reached out to your personal email account to invite you back. We are very proud of our team and amazing hotel and I promise you we will give you the memorable Shore experience we aim to create for each guest. I look forward to hearing from you soon and hope you take us up on our second chance. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed for two nights recently while on our 7,000km motorcycle tour. The hotel is new with modern rooms with an edgy feel to them. (i.e. Glass shower wall to the rooom with electric privacy curtain.) Our ocean fronting room had a great view of the ocean and the Santa Monica Pier which was just a few minutes walk accross the street. Creature comforts include pool and hot tub but a restaurant and bar were not opened yet. A bit pricey compared to other hotels of this caliber (previous three nights spent at the Langham Huntington Hotel in Pasadena) but the location is worth the extra cost.
Service from the front desk and bell staff was friendly and efficient. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim S, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
TeeP, Thank you so much for writing a review. We notice that you have written reviews on several hotels so receiving a positive one from such an avid traveler is an honor. Our modern design certainly does create an ‘edgy’ feel as you described. Also, as you noticed the location truly cannot be beat being just steps from The Santa Monica Pier and Third Street Promenade. I will pass along your praise to the front desk and bell staff. Providing friendly and efficient service is something they all aim to do, so knowing they succeeded with you will be a great compliment. Hope to see you soon and keep in mind the restaurant and bar open up in July! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#14 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Property: Shore Hotel
Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,268 - ₹ 37,386
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property. Shore Hotel is pleased to announce the recent opening of our poolside bar as well as the much anticipated opening of our restaurant, Blue Plate Taco on September 23rd, 2012. Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing