We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“BEYOND AMAZING!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“BEYOND AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

If you are going to be staying in the Santa Monica area there is no better place to stay! For being right on Ocean Ave across from the pier the location is unbelievable and the price is very reasonable! The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are Extrordinary and VERY clean. All the staff from start to Finnish were unbelievably amazing. I will be back and will be staying here again for sure!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Sheri M,
Thank you for your review and for choosing Shore Hotel during your travels from Canada! We greatly appreciate your kind words and compliments regarding our team and service here. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Santa Monica and thank you once again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,595
    655
    232
    80
    56
See reviews for
930
764
111
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Well we both travel a lot for work and have been spoiled a lot in some very good hotels around the world but would have to say this is one of our absolute favourites. Everything is very cool and hi tech, yet there is a real warmth from the staff. This was our last stop on route 66 so we hoped it would be memorable and relaxing and it delivered on every level. Access to the garage and thence to your room is very convenient. We were offered an upgrade to an ocean view room for an extra $30 a night and it was so worth it. Watching the sunset on our last night from our balcony was unforgettable. Everything is very design-led but stll practical and comfortable - great bed and chair in the room, good wifi, fabulous shower (there's a screen to drop if you don't like the all glass cubicle!) and incredibly flattering bathroom mirror! Very generous with the toiletries and towels; 'designer' water is available at a price but you can always get your own from a shop and stash it in the good sized fridge. Beautiful pool area - the website pics make it look as if it is indoors but it's actually outdoors with large hot tub. Very attentive service - pool towels constantly refreshed. Nice gift shop but looked pricey. The state of the art gym was one of my favourite bits - the towels are kept in a fridge! One teensy gripe - guests have to pay for business centre use and printing; it would be nice to print out your boarding pass for nothing having paid a lot of money for the room! I appreciate that the hotel has to control how much time people spend on line etc, but there are other ways to do it....
At the time we stayed, the restaurant was not open (although the manager who was having a press launch for it gave us complimentary drinks as we sat by the pool which was lovely!) but it looks as if it will be fabulous. Not that we missed it- the seafront location is literally five minutes walk from a host of restaurants, bars and coffee shops on Santa Monica Place and Third Street Promenade, and there are quite a few (expensive) ones on the sea front and the pier, which is also just steps away. Not a cheap stay by USA standards but so worth it, has given us happy memories which will stay with us for a very long time. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade for an ocean view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ironhorse_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim S, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
ironhorse_10, Thank you for making the Shore hotel your final destination on your route 66 tour, and thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are beyond ecstatic that your experience with us was more than favorable. Our ocean premiere rooms provide such an amazing view and we are glad that you were able to upgrade. As you noticed, watching the sunset from those rooms is nothing less than breathtaking! Also, offering amenities such as an onsite gym, business center, pool and free Wi-Fi to our guests is something we take great pride in. We are honored that you have chosen to be guests at The Shore Hotel; therefore we go to great lengths to make your stay with us more than comfortable. Our restaurant is set to open in July of 2012, and yes it will be ‘fabulous’ as you stated! We would love to have you back for that opening and the official grand opening of our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Had tickets to Dancing With The Stars on a Monday night and decided to make a weekend of it in L.A. Chose the Shore Hotel off of Kayak due to the location, price and availability.

Beautiful hotel, recently built, contemporary styling tastefully done. The staff was family by the time we left 4 days later. They personally recommended restaurants and obtained reservations during sold out hours. Professional, engaging and very pleasant people, from Dieter the manager, to Nichelle and Stevie.

Great rooms, stunning views, beautiful pool, excellent location. I highly recommend this hotel, we will be back!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have no bathtub, but great showers. The suite was perfect except for the view. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim S, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
DANA G, Thanks so much for your review! We are thrilled that we were able to play a part in your Dancing with the Stars weekend get away! All of our team members try to make an individualized experience with each guest and the fact that you labeled us as ‘family’ is beyond gratifying! I will proudly pass along your praise to all of them, and especially Dieter (Guest Services Director), Nichelle and Stevie. Also, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our state of the art solar heated pool. Thanks again and we can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Wonderful service by Dieter Schmitz, Great location, Great Hotel. I recommend this hotel and would look no further. We stayed for one night on April 24th. Clean, modern, across from the Beach, very close to 3rd St. Promenade.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cs7sisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim S, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
cs7sisters, Thank you so much for taking time out to write a review. We are thrilled you had such a great experience. Our location and clean modern design are the two aspects of our hotel that truly are unbeatable! I will pass along your praise to our Director of Guest Services, Dieter Schmitz. Thanks again and we can’t wait to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

This hotel was fantastic! Location was superb and the hotel overall had a great look and feel.

The hotel is located directly across from the beach and the Santa Monica Pier. It is also just a block or so from the very happening Santa Monica Place and 3rd street promenade shopping area.

The rooms were large enough for my husband and I. The balcony was a little on the small side and only included 1 chair which wasn't ideal for my husband and I. We got the partial ocean view which overlooked the parking lot of the Ivy at the Shore restaurant. We wanted the lower price so this was fine for us. The pool and hot tub were great! The pool was heated which was ideal for the days it was a little cloudy.

One of my biggest complaints about this hotel was with the cleaning staff. They did an excellent job with keeping the rooms tidy and neat, but they were far too noisy in the AM. They started their rounds around 8:30 AM and slammed every door as they were going from room to room. I'm a light sleeper to this woke me. I'm sure this is something the hotel will address in the near future.

Overall great place to stay, highly recommend for a trip to Santa Monica. We would definitely recommend this to friends and family

Room Tip: Partial Ocean View overlooks a parking lot, though it does have an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank All7Continents7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichelle N, Assistant Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Hello All7Continents7 and thank you for taking the time to post a review! We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us overall! Our location definitely places you in the heart of Santa Monica and steps away from the world famous Santa Monica Pier. We're also happy to hear that you had a chance to experience our solar-heated pool and jacuzzi. What we are not happy to hear about is that you were disturbed during your stay by our housekeeping department. Each department prides themselves on providing excellent service which is a standard that sets us apart from some others. Please know that your feedback is greatly appreciated and has been discussed with our Housekeeping Director. Please also accept my sincere apologies for this inconvenience and would like to discuss this with you further if you have a chance. You can reach me at nichellenichols@shorehotel.com. Again, we are so thrilled that you enjoyed Shore Hotel and will recommend us to family and friends. We hope that you too will consider us again for any future Santa Monica visits. Thanks again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#15 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Property: Shore Hotel
Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price range (per night): ₹ 24,691 - ₹ 42,016
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property. Shore Hotel is pleased to announce the recent opening of our poolside bar as well as the much anticipated opening of our restaurant, Blue Plate Taco on September 23rd, 2012. Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing