We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
US$ 220
US$ 215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ambrose(Santa Monica)
US$ 374
US$ 353
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 214
US$ 184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Georgian Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$ 416
US$ 380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$ 464
US$ 319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 661
US$ 614
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 507
US$ 394
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 353
US$ 307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 437
US$ 421
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Casa del Mar(Santa Monica)
US$ 641
US$ 621
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,785)
Filter reviews
2,785 results
Traveller rating
1,229
817
398
194
147
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,229
817
398
194
147
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitpool deckmuscle beachocean viewsanta monica beachferris wheelgreat poolbeautiful hotelper dayvalet parkingamazing locationthird street promenadelos angelesfew blocksvinepierconcierge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,779 - 1,784 of 2,785 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2012

So after a long trip from New York through Vegas, san fran, monterey, Santa Barbara we arrive in LA, Santa Monica and the Loews hotel to be precise !!! For two short nights anyway. So, great location looking out on Santa Monica beach, lobby, bar and pool area are fantastic. When we arrived (1pm) they had a power cut so no problem we had a drink went for some lunch and a walk and returned at 5pm ish - STILL no power - why does a hotel of this size not have a generator ??? We eventually get checked in somehow and get led on the dark fire escape carrying our suitcases up the stairs. Keys cant be cut so we have to be let into the room..every time and escorted in and out of the building in the dark. Ok so not the end of the world. But we also ended up being put in the NOISEST room known to man. Right by the roadway, with a connecting door into the next room where we could hear our neighbours phone conversation with his wife - clearly, too clearly and all manner of noise coming from everywhere !!! Coupled with other people being let into our room while we were in it !!!
In fairness in exceptional circumstances the staff were great, i have worked in a large hotel I know how it is at times like this but for us it was a bad end to fantastic wedding/honeymoon trip which was a shame. Wouldnt be rushing back to one of these hotels in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ainsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We were fortunate to stay at this beautiful hotel for a week in July. The service was great!
They originally had us in a room with a view of the parking lot, but were able to move us to a corner room with beach and sunset views.
Little perks like frozen grapes, and Popsicles pool side add to the fun of lounging pool side.
Good exercise room with sauna and steam room.

They have a nice happy hour. Sitting next to the fires, watching the sunset, and the action at the Santa Monica Pier can not be beat!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NGW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at Loews and had a wonderful break. The hotel is just a short walk to the beach, shops and restaurants so we were able to spend 6 days without the need of a car. The staff were all friendly and helpful, especially the ladies who cleaned our room, they were so friendly and left the room spotless, which I thoroughly appreciated. The rooms are a little tired but nothing major, we look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed at Loews Santa Monica for a week in mid June with our 21 and 17 year olds Perfect location, perfect hotel, and perfect view!!! Delightful stay; hotel was beautiful and the staff very friendly. Michael at the concierge desk was a huge help scheduling a private tour. He really cared about us having a good time. Everything was pricey, but we expected this. Loved walking to the promenade every night! We traveled from Boston for a once in a lifetime vacation and enjoyed every minute of it. Our connecting rooms were very nice as we over-looked the pool, beach, and pier. We would come back again!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Having visited other Loews hotels, we were looking forward to our stay at the Loews Santa Monica. We had booked a grand suite with ocean view ($849) and a connecting twin bedded superior room ($409) 3 weeks in advance which seemed expensive but it was Easter weekend.
Arrived 15.45 (15mins before check-in time ) on 5 April after a 5 hour drive from Vegas to be told by an unapologetic receptionist that only the twin room was ready. As we all needed to freshen up after our journey, all 6 of us had to pile into the twin room which was a small room on the side of the hotel with no balcony, just a small opening window (terrible value for $409). The pier could be seen, but the main view out of a filthy window was of a couple of wheelie bins.
We left our cell phone number at reception for them to call us when the suite was ready. After 35 minutes and no call, a waiter brought us up a tray with a bottle of wine, milk and cookies, and savoury snacks which, while very nice, did not make up for the continued unavailability of our very expensive room. At 5.00pm (an hour after check-in time) and with no sign of our suite even starting to be cleaned, we gave up waiting and went out leaving our phone number with a different receptionist. At 6.45 and still no call we went back to the hotel to enquire what was going on, yet another equally dis-interested and unapologetic receptionist told us that our room was in fact ready!. When asked why no one has phoned us even though we had given them our cell phone number twice, she said that she didn’t know (and may as well have said that she didn’t care either!)
The suite was a major disappointment. There was a front sea view, but again no balcony at all, just a small opening window. Directly below us was a room with a huge patio (which we have since found out by looking at the hotel’s website was $300 less than our room). If we opened our small window we were treated to the sound of the guests below relaxing on their patio and scraping the furniture about. The connecting lounge was very ordinary and again had no balcony. Why these rooms were priced at £849 and $409 was, and will remain, a mystery? We really felt that we had been dumped in the worst value rooms in the hotel. From the outside of the hotel, it appeared that our floor was the only floor out of 7 where the rooms did not have any balconies at all. It is noticeable that the reviews on Tripadvisor which give this hotel top marks are those that mention sitting on their balconies and enjoying the views, just be very aware when you book this hotel that you are more likely to end up paying top $$$$’s to end up with no balcony at all!
We immediately complained about the room and reception did not seem surprised by our complaint, they said that although there was nothing available that night (funny that as rooms were still being advertised on their website for that night for a great deal less than we paid) they could move us the next day to a 7th floor suite overlooking the beach and swimming pool. However, they could not offer us another twin room. We agreed to the room change for us, but this meant that we could not unpack as a porter would have to move our bags as we were going out early the next day. The manager gave us a $150 food and drink credit - it was unclear whether this was to compensate us for the 3 hour delay in the room being available, the poor quality of the room when we eventually were allowed to access it, or the tiny twin queen room, which ever it was, it didn’t really do the trick!) That evening, the kids turned their TV on only to find that it worked very erratically and that the volume and off buttons seemed to be inter-changeable, this seems to be another theme of many of the reviews. Yet another complaint was made to the manager who said maintenance would look at it in the morning.The i-pod docking station did not work either!
Our new suite on the 7th floor did have 2 small Juliet balconies that you could just about lean out of, but was again nothing spectacular. The shower was very badly grouted which made it look dirty, and there were hairs round the bath taps, this did not surprise me as the maid would have found it impossible to clean the bath as the end of the bath was actually under the counter top! Why design a bathroom like this? Our move upstairs meant that the 4 kids spent the next 2 days cramped into a small sub-standard room with no connecting lounge to overspill into – the main reason why we had booked the connecting suite in the first place! The TV was fixed that day, but that night the kids were kept awake by their air-conditioning which was so noisy that they had to turn it off in the end, not very pleasant with 4 people in such a small room. One of the kids recorded the noise on their phone but the manager wasn’t interested in the recording, no compensation was offered but they sent yet another engineer to investigate.
We ate at the restaurant on the first evening which was expensive, some of our food was great but most of it was disappointing. The staff seemed more interested in whispering in the wings to each other while we ate, which was a little uncomfortable, and before we finished our meal the staff bustled about behind us laying the breakfast tables. This was supposed to be a top restaurant but had little ambiance to justify the extortionate price of some of the food. The next night we ate at the bar. The food was good but expensive, again the staff spent most of the time talking to each other which left them little time to clear tables or plump cushions, tidy chairs or check on customers. We observed used napkins left on chairs or the floor for 30 minutes or more, and tables un-wiped, such a contrast to Loews South Beach where the bar and service were immaculate at all times. It was difficult to believe both hotels were part of the same group.
We did not use the smallish pool, but from our balcony it appeared that the loungers were mainly reserved as the dawn broke by the tried and tested method of leaving towels on them and then disappearing for hours on end. I don’t know whether the pool attendants kept an eye on this? (They certainly did at Loews South Beach where towels were removed within 20 minutes to ensure all guests could enjoy the pool but I’m guessing probably not at this place.)
Breakfast was terrible. The first morning our order was taken quickly, but we then had to ask 3 times before the food actually appeared approx 30 minutes later. The second morning we had a great server who again took our order quickly but again the food failed to appear for 25 mins. (The order was 2 bagels with cream cheese, 1 bowl of cereal and 2 fried eggs with potatoes – nothing too complicated!). When the food eventually came one of the bagels was so hard it crumbled when we tried to cut it and the fried eggs were hard too, we sent them both back and fresh eggs and a fresh bagel only took 5 minutes to appear this time (Alas no fresh potatoes - they were cold and obviously the original ones put on a different plate.) The server was so embarrassed he gave us most of the breakfast for nothing without us even asking. The third morning we ate elsewhere!
There were a few good staff at this hotel – the car attendants were fast and helpful with directions, the breakfast server on the 2nd morning was great, the bar tender on the 3rd night was more attentive. On the whole however the staff seemed unfriendly and uninterested in making their guests feel comfortable, it was almost like they were laughing at us behind our backs. The location also cannot be faulted.
In summary, if you can get a room with a guaranteed balcony for a reasonable rate you may well sing this hotels praises on Tripadvisor, but otherwise you will just feel well and truly ripped off – the only time we felt like this during our 2 week trip to California. We will not be returning and will choose either “Shutters on the beach” or “the shores” if we are ever back in Santa Monica. We would suggest that the management of this hotel concentrate more on staff training, room preparation and customer service, and less on lounging about and chatting with each other, in fact perhaps they could ask for a few tips from the staff at the “del Coronado” in San Diego where we moved for the last 5 nights of our trip, the contrast in attitude and ambiance could not have been greater but the price was more or less the same

Room Tip: Confirm that your room has a full sized beach view balcony or stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews