We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last stop of our USA trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersGold level
Victoria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Last stop of our USA trip”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed at Loews after our month long trip in the US. The hotel was nice and the rooms were big. The hotel was extremely close to Santa Monica Pier. 3rd St Promenade is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel.
The only con: the room was serviced so late one day it was almost 5pm! We had gone out for the day and then come back to rest and the door was locked and housekeeping knocked once and opened the door right away without giving us a chance to get to the door. Lucky I wasn't in my birthday suite! Sheesh!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovesensation24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,010
    731
    355
    180
    135
See reviews for
908
630
96
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

So after a long trip from New York through Vegas, san fran, monterey, Santa Barbara we arrive in LA, Santa Monica and the Loews hotel to be precise !!! For two short nights anyway. So, great location looking out on Santa Monica beach, lobby, bar and pool area are fantastic. When we arrived (1pm) they had a power cut so no problem we had a drink went for some lunch and a walk and returned at 5pm ish - STILL no power - why does a hotel of this size not have a generator ??? We eventually get checked in somehow and get led on the dark fire escape carrying our suitcases up the stairs. Keys cant be cut so we have to be let into the room..every time and escorted in and out of the building in the dark. Ok so not the end of the world. But we also ended up being put in the NOISEST room known to man. Right by the roadway, with a connecting door into the next room where we could hear our neighbours phone conversation with his wife - clearly, too clearly and all manner of noise coming from everywhere !!! Coupled with other people being let into our room while we were in it !!!
In fairness in exceptional circumstances the staff were great, i have worked in a large hotel I know how it is at times like this but for us it was a bad end to fantastic wedding/honeymoon trip which was a shame. Wouldnt be rushing back to one of these hotels in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ainsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We were fortunate to stay at this beautiful hotel for a week in July. The service was great!
They originally had us in a room with a view of the parking lot, but were able to move us to a corner room with beach and sunset views.
Little perks like frozen grapes, and Popsicles pool side add to the fun of lounging pool side.
Good exercise room with sauna and steam room.

They have a nice happy hour. Sitting next to the fires, watching the sunset, and the action at the Santa Monica Pier can not be beat!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NGW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at Loews and had a wonderful break. The hotel is just a short walk to the beach, shops and restaurants so we were able to spend 6 days without the need of a car. The staff were all friendly and helpful, especially the ladies who cleaned our room, they were so friendly and left the room spotless, which I thoroughly appreciated. The rooms are a little tired but nothing major, we look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed at Loews Santa Monica for a week in mid June with our 21 and 17 year olds Perfect location, perfect hotel, and perfect view!!! Delightful stay; hotel was beautiful and the staff very friendly. Michael at the concierge desk was a huge help scheduling a private tour. He really cared about us having a good time. Everything was pricey, but we expected this. Loved walking to the promenade every night! We traveled from Boston for a once in a lifetime vacation and enjoyed every minute of it. Our connecting rooms were very nice as we over-looked the pool, beach, and pier. We would come back again!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,745 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price range (per night): ₹ 28,895 - ₹ 51,519
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing