We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Expensive for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The location of this hotel is great if you are wanting to experience Santa Monica but do not let the pictures fool you that this hotel is located ON the beach because it is not. You have to go down an elevator and leave the property, cross the road and walk down a trail to the beach. The photos are taken to look beach front.
The rooms are nice but small. We asked for a deck and we were told we had to pay $50 a day extra for that. Other than that the decks are pretty much non existent. You can barely stand on them. We chose to pay extra for the deck and it was awesome to sit out there in the sun.
The service was great. From pulling up to checking out everyone was wonderful. They should be for $400 a night. Our kids were given kites upon check in to play with on the beach which was a very nice touch. We also got a fruit tray and water for upgrading.
My one complaint is the wifi is not free. It's $12 a day. Come on people wifi is free at McDonalds it's ridiculous to pay $400 a night for a room and not even be given free wifi access.
The pool and hot tub area were great. We met some cool locals in the hot tub who live near by. Local residents can buy a membership to use the gym and pool so we met a few people from the area and they said its not surprising to see a few celebs in the gym or pool because they live near by. I did order a glass of wine by the pool...$15 for that tiny plastic wine glass of California Sauvignon Blanc.
We chose to eat off the property. There are many great reasonably priced restaurants very close by. Great shopping and of course the pier is steps away.
If we return to Santa Monica we would stay at The Loews again.

Room Tip: Email ahead if you want a deck, there are only 5 over looking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grizzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,747 - 1,751 of 2,645 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

Unfortunately the weather wasn't fantastic when we stayed, so couldn't really appreciate Santa Monica and the hotel at it's best - but no fault of the hotels!! Great bar and lobby - happy hour kicks off around 5pm for 2 hours, nothing beats sitting around the fire pits, sipping cocktails and beers watching the world go by on Santa Monica Beach!

Modern, well appointed rooms. Didn't eat in the restaurant - Santa Monica center isn't too far at all, so decided to explore.

A fairly expensive hotel, but well kept, clean and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honestreviewsLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Pros:
1. Excellent location right on beach near Santa Monica Pier
2. Beautiful lobby and hotel rooms
3. Excellent service and staff
4. Great food and restaurants

Cons:
1. Room was adjacent to another building's vent system which was very loud at night

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EndlssSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Just got back from 5 nights staying at the Loews Santa Monica. I'd never been to the LA area and a local friend recommended a few places, with this hotel among them. Best location ever - we had a room overlooking the pool and ocean and the pier in the (near) distance. Loved the view day and night. The balcony is just a juliet balcony in most rooms but it was nice to have the door open and the curtins pulled aside to let the light and suft sounds in. Room service was prompt and even though it was 11pm when we got there they offered us the full menu and served us with linens,etc. I am a sucker for staff remembering my name and I was not disappointed here. We easily rented a car from Hertz in the lobby and at first I was not thrilled with the mandatory valet parking (and the $35 charge each night) but I came to enjoy being able to hand my keys over for someone to park and then calling down to have the car brought up when we were ready to head back out. Walking distance to the 3rd Street Promenade and the Santa Monica Pier. The Sunday morning Santa Monica Farmers Market was .8 of a mile the opposite way from those sights and should not be missed. It was fresh, fresh, fresh - sights, sounds and eats. Relaxing by the fire pits overlooking the ocean was a great way to end each day.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Our first time in L.A. - we chose Loews because we thought the location was ideal for our flying visit (4 nights). This proved to be a great decision as Loews is very convenient for beach / sea access plus all the attendant sights and experiences. It is close to the pier (but not so close that there is any disturbance) and also within walking distance of Santa Monica shops. Bottom line is we would happily stay here again and recommend it to friends. The walk to Venice Beach is 'interesting' and Route 66 ends at the pier, the Beach Boys apparently used to hang out at a bar across the road and skate boarding was (re)invented a few hundred yards away - so plenty for the tourist to discover around the hotel. Staff were allfine - although te receptionist could be reminded that a 'smile' is the one where the mouth turns upwards.

Room Tip: We were floor 2 which was - wouldn't wasnt a floor 1 room as that is at road level. Higher level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ltexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,908 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,597 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
977 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,096 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: ₹ 27,375 - ₹ 48,408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing