We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast in Santa Cruz”

Zachary's Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 372 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast in Santa Cruz”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Zachary's Restaurant offers the quintessential Santa Cruz atmosphere with on Pacific Avenue. Every time we visit Santa Cruz, we find ourselves headed there again and again for a comfortable, relaxed breakfast with fresh, healthy food and genuinely friendly service.

On this trip, we made two visits to Zachary's. I had the Basic Breakfast with eggs over easy on the first morning. It was perfect. On the second visit, I went with the French Toast and a side of chicken apple sausage. Holy cow, it was great!

If you're in Santa Cruz, you definitely need to pay a visit to Zachary's.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    73
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watsonville, CA
Level Contributor
211 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Really popular breakfast”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

There's a reason that what appears to be half of Santa Cruz at Zachary's each morning. They have great breakfast dishes, large portions, and a real local's atmosphere. No vacation in Santa Cruz is complete without breakfast at Zachary's.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meade13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
426 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Top notch breakfast/brunch”
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

There is a reason why this place gets the consistent high marks for great breakfasts -- great food, large quantities and excellent service. Prices are high but I've paid more and gotten a whole lot less so at the end of the day, you will probably have a good time here. We stopped in at mid morning on a weekday so we didn't experience some of the problems with crowds. Even so, the place was pretty full. I had the Mike's Mess scramble and it was a hugh concoction of eggs, bacon, cheese, potatoes, tomatoes, sour cream, onions. I could only eat a third. My wife had some poached eggs on a roll with bacon and cream sauce. Yummy. Service was friendly and quick.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ECL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Tasty! Go early before the crowds”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This is a solid breakfast place with good portion sizes. I can't speak for the lunches. Everything I had was delicious over the three days I was in town (pancakes, muffins, fruit, omelet, scrambled, sausage [excellent sausage patty!!!]). The prices are at the higher end of the middle market, but well worth it, IMO. I understand the lines go out the door by mid-morning, but coming in before 8 - no problem. Service was a bit rushed a couple of times, but never rude.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Djibuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I Really loved the beachy feel and the food was amazing!!!! I was only able to go there for breakfast but boy Am I gonna come back!!!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Timmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zachary's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zachary's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing