We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room with free breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Keep in mind that this is a 2 star hotel. I have never stayed in a motel before, let alone a 2 star. I think that for the price, and the fact it is 2 star, it was perfectly fine. The biggest issues we had were that the room was way too small for 5 of us (we had a room with 2 queens) and the people above us sounded like all they were doing is having a dance party/moving furniture party all night. The parking spots are also very small and you have to make sure you are parked between the lines or they will call you to move your car (whoops!).

We did partake in their free breakfast every morning. It is mostly carbs, and does offer waffle makers which the kids LOVED! There was also breads, bananas, apples, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, and some small muffins and coffee and juice.

They have beach cruiser bikes to rent in the main office which my 13 year old daughters and I tried out. This was great fun! We roe the bikes around the area, down to the boardwalk, saw a skate-park, and were back in about 20 minutes. Since they charge by the house and we were not gone nearly that long, they charged us less money which was appreciated.

Another thing is that though the rooms were cleaned daily, they never left extra shampoo or other toiletries. I also had to take an extra toilet paper off a maid's cart as they did not leave an extra in the room.

The room contains a small TV, microwave, fridge, small table, bedside table and 2 beds. This is all that is in the room aside from a sink and a very small bathroom. If traveling with more than 4, even if there are kids, I recommend at least 2 rooms.

Room Tip: I would go as high a level as you can. We stayed on the first level and the people above us were te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiStensgaard, Manager at Ocean Pacific Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Sarah,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to review Ocean Pacific Lodge. I am so glad your stay met your expectations and that your daughters enjoyed the waffle maker! I'm not sure what it is with waffle makers but kids are ecstatic about them!

I am so sorry you encountered noise issues during your stay. If staff is made aware of the issue we are happy to switch your room to another better suited to your needs. OPL also offers room configurations with adjoining doors to offer more space to families and all rooms have been recently refurbished and include new televisions and new beds. We will also review best practices with our housekeeping staff so they can continue to provide great service!

Please consider staying with us again!

Warmly,
Naomi, Ocean Pacific Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2016

I was in a jam traveling with my giant Irish Wolfhound. The Ocean Pacific Lodge was recommended to me as a dog friendly hotel. Very professional and helpful front desk, the room decor was nice and trendy, beds super comfortable. The wood floors were perfect for a guest with dog. In the heart of downtown Santa Cruz, near Wharf.

I gave it three stars because, like most beach hotels, the parking is terrible. I have a minivan and could barely squeeze into the parking spots. Getting things out of the car was difficult.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dragoniste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiStensgaard, Manager at Ocean Pacific Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to review Ocean Pacific Lodge.

I am so glad you liked OPL! We are a great option for guests traveling with pets and we make sure they're taken care of too! Need a dog bed? A drinking bowl and a treat? The front desk can make it happen right away! Our property is conveniently located very close to the beach and in addition to a walking path that winds along the coast for both you and your dog there is a pet friendly beach too!

I hear you about the parking, Santa Cruz tends to be a challenging city for parking. We are proud to be one of the few hotels in the area still offering free parking and we are close enough to everything for you to stay parked and explore on foot!

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to review Ocean Pacific Lodge! We value all feedback and want to continue to improve on our already good thing! (-:

Please visit us again when you are next in Santa Cruz!

Warmly,
Naomi, Ocean Pacific Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

This was our first time in Santa Cruz, we had not reservations and we found this hotel. The front desk manager was friendly and very helpful. It is near from the downtown and the beach, crossing the street you can find a skate park, I enjoyed skate with my daughter there.
We loved Santa Cruz and the next time we would stay here again.
The parking is free.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank MarcoCabos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiStensgaard, Manager at Ocean Pacific Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Marco,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking time to write a review.

I am so happy to here you enjoyed your stay! Our goal is satisfied guests every time and if you're not happy - we're not happy.

Our location is ideal, just far enough away not to hear happy people screaming on the Boardwalk roller coasters, but still only a few blocks away from the fun.

We can't wait to see you again!

Warmly,
Naomi, Ocean Pacific Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We booked this the same day through Hotel Tonight (Great App) and stayed for one night. The double King was a good size. This is a no fuss, no frills hotel which delivers on the basics. The pool was a good size and very sheltered with a good Jacuzzi tub. Free Wi-Fi was available as was free parking.

A strong point was the free breakfast which had a good selection of warm and continental choices. The waffle maker was very popular. Even those with the heartiest of appetites would be well satisfied with the quantity and variety.

The hotel is located close to the boardwalk and sea front yet far enough away to be quiet.

Good hotel for a one or two night stay.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Nice welcoming staff.
Nice clean room, good facilities, comfy bed.
We had a ground floor room with a view to the lovely pool, which had plenty of seating.
Managed to fit in a bit of swimming and sunbathing before heading to the Boardwalk, which is about a 15 minute walk from hotel.
Nice big breakfast room.
On site laundry.
Free parking
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stormylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.8 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 54 in Santa Cruz
513 reviews
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.2 km away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#23 of 54 in Santa Cruz
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 km away
Bay Front Inn
Bay Front Inn
#41 of 54 in Santa Cruz
557 reviews
1.8 km away
Mission Inn
Mission Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pacific Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pacific Lodge

Address: 301 Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4922
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: ₹ 5,742 - ₹ 14,774 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Pacific Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Pacific Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pacific Hotel Santa Cruz
Ocean Pacific Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing