We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Wharf and Boardwalk but without the noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed 23 August 2016

This was actually a nice hotel and very close to Fisherman's Wharf and maybe 4 blocks to the Boardwalk. Comfortable room, but mattress a bit on the firm side. The area was very quiet and they had a nice pool. There was continental breakfast included, but we did not go to it, so no review about that

Room Tip: Some rooms open directlt to the pool, which is nice for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Clean and comfortable place where you can walk to the Santa Cruz wharf and Boardwalk. Free parking and a decent free breakfast. Did not use the pool but it looked lovely. Breakfast had a waffle maker, yogurts with granola and the usual cereal etc. in a nice room by the pool.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank fijifruits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Great hotel, a short walk to the Santa Cruz pier and Boardwalk. Although really busy in the height of summer, a must to visiting the area. Room well kept and all amenities clean and tidy. Lovely pool and hot tub. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Karen602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

The one thing I hate about Santa Cruz is the cost of their hotel rooms per night relative to what you get. The prices here are so high, and at $300 a night, this is no 3 or 4 star hotel. That being said, it is visually appealing on the outside, with a quaint lobby. We had room 105 which is rather close to the lobby and I must say..I feel like we were given the oldest room they had. The colors and decor are pleasing as if recently updated, but for some reason instead of a flat screen, we had some old JVC TV sitting on the dresser area. I was even more surprised to see it when I went to the room our friends were staying in..the 2 room suites upstairs on the 3rd floor. They had carpet AND they had flat screen TV's! Overall, those rooms looked way more roomy and comfortable. There is a nice pool area and the breakfast room is ok, just basic breakfast items, nothing special....though I will say the Douwe Egbert coffee machine made a very tasty cup of coffee! Here is my main complaint of an otherwise decent stay. When we entered our room there was SUCH a strong smell of cleaning solution. I mean, overpowering. We had to keep our room door open and open the window to try to air it out. I appreciate the cleanliness, but I think they need to find a way to limit the cleaning solution odor. It was also super strong anytime we passed a cleaning cart in the hall. I have stayed in many hotels and this has never been an issue.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiStensgaard, Manager at Ocean Pacific Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Rachel,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to review Ocean Pacific Lodge! I am happy to hear you enjoyed aspects of your stay but dismayed to hear your room did not meet your expectations. If we are able, we will always move a guest to a room better suited to their needs. The downstairs rooms are typically our pet friendly rooms and all feature hardwood floors In addition, all of our rooms have been outfitted with new flat screen televisions and new beds!

We value all suggestions on improvements to our property and will pass on your concerns to the appropriate people.

Please consider staying with us again when you're next in Santa Cruz!

Warmly,
Naomi, Ocean Pacific Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Decided to spend night in Santa Cruz close to Boardwalk because of beach soccer tournament. The hotel rate was high because of the tournament which was annoying as that was a motel experience thru and thru and what to be expected for one in Santa Cruz. We only spent one night and didn't spend much time in the room. It was clean, the employees were nice and it was conveniently located to the Boardwalk and downtown. The free breakfast was extremely minimal and bland but had the basics --juice, coffee, bread and cereal. It worked out for us but I'd not pay that inflated price to stay there again.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank mom22boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiStensgaard, Manager at Ocean Pacific Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to review Ocean Pacific Lodge.

I am so glad to hear our staff was great and the location worked well for you. I'm sorry to hear aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations.We strive to offer clean, well appointed rooms and extras like our free continental breakfast, seasonally heated pool, the option of bringing your pet, bike rentals and more!

If you find yourself in Santa Cruz again we would welcome another opportunity to improve upon your initial impression.

Warmly,
Naomi, Ocean Pacific Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.8 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 54 in Santa Cruz
512 reviews
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.2 km away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#23 of 54 in Santa Cruz
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 km away
Bay Front Inn
Bay Front Inn
#41 of 54 in Santa Cruz
557 reviews
1.8 km away
Mission Inn
Mission Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pacific Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pacific Lodge

Address: 301 Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4922
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: ₹ 6,044 - ₹ 16,571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Pacific Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Pacific Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pacific Hotel Santa Cruz
Ocean Pacific Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing