We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not five star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel because it was close to my father who were to take out to breakfast. I was familiar with it in general because many years ago I worked close by. It is clearly a business hotel and I think it works well as that.
We had a Regency Club Rate. The room was nice but did not feel five star. For instance the closet did not have a door. The bath room had pocket doors.
And of course, they charge for the internet. It was raining and we used Valet parking. They charge $20 for that even though the parking lot is right in front of the entrance and is free.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avrammiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,178 - 1,182 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

Great views, food, and rooms. Although Club Lounge food needs to improve. Staff execellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaniaDuke, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for your feedback! We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay - specifically with your room, views and our TusCA Restaurant. I will be sure to pass on to our staff your "excellent" comment. We hope your next visit will allow you to spend more time with us and enjoy the amenities the hotel and area have to offer. Warm Regards, Dania Duke - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Had the opportunity to stay at this property recently during the Monsters of Hip-Hop Convention. It is a nice hotel but it lacks personality and family appeal. It definitely meets your needs if you are traveling for business; rooms with work spaces, business center on the fiirst floor, accessible wi-fi (free in lobby), close to freeways and airport. The only thing it has going for it family-wise is the fact that it is just down the street from the Great America Amusement Park (which is not opened year-round). Food is extremely expensive on the property (simple burger in the lobby costs $14) and you have to drive or catch a cab and drive 5 miles to get to the nearest dine-in restauraunt. Rooms are nice awell appointed, but the bathrooms have sliding doors and no ventilation. Would stay there again if it was business purposes only.

Room Tip: Higher floors have long waiting times for elevator use when conventions are going on. If hotel is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigdaddypooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

If you're looking for a hotel where you feel welcome, then look elsewhere. This is a functional place with no personality....just chrome and glass. Staff is friendly, but not welcoming. Walking down the hallway, the pale blue walls made the place feel like an institution; the only thing missing was a glass portal for the staff to check on the inmates. Inside the room was function, and to be fair, comfortable. Some jet noise comes to the hotel because it its under the departure path of planes from San Jose Airport.

Food options are very limited. They market the fact that there's a sushi bar, but don't say it only has 7 seats. It sits just off the lobby without ANY ambiance. The Tusca Restaurant has a strange collection of lunch items. Breakfast is what you'd get in any hotel. Nothing to write home about.

This was a business stay linked to a convention. The adjoining convention auditorium was very convenient, and was the only redeeming feature.

I would not stay here again for any reason unless you happen to like institutional surroundings.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLT310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Looks nice in the lobby but the rooms need some serious updating. Smoked glass sliding doors for the bathroom that dont lock, really? Floors look old, dirty. The popcorn ceilings caused a childhood flashback. Very low water pressure and the sink in the bathroom was horrible, very difficult to shave, big mess that was hard to clean up with the low water pressure.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaniaDuke, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

We appreciate you sharing these details about your stay. We regret that your experience was outside of our normal standards and that our guestrooms did not meet your expectations. We greatly value your feedback as we strive to continuously implement corrective measures where necessary.

Please feel free to contact me at the hotel if you would like to further discuss and hope you will consider another stay at Hyatt.

Dania Duke - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
0.2 km away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,361 reviews
1.6 km away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#7 of 32 in Santa Clara
740 reviews
1.5 km away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
HYATT House Santa Clara
HYATT House Santa Clara
#3 of 32 in Santa Clara
511 reviews
2.3 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
2.4 km away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Santa Clara

Address: 5101 Great America Pkwy, Santa Clara, CA 95054-1118
Region: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Clara
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Clara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range: ₹ 10,651 - ₹ 31,122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Santa Clara 4*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara combines luxury and service with a premier location. Our newly renovated Santa Clara hotel accommodations feature the Hyatt Grand Bed, high-speed Internet access, deluxe amenities and sweeping views. A selection of inviting restaurants offers a variety of cuisine, from classic American to Sushi. Take advantage of extensive meeting facilities and 24-hour business center to make every stay at this Hyatt hotel in Santa Clara a success. With its unmatched service and ideal location - connected to the Convention Center, in the heart of the Silicon Valley and near the Great America Theme Park - you'll discover why we are the premier choice among Santa Clara, California hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara Hotel Santa Clara
Santa Clara Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing