We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn At East Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn At East Beach
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Normally I like supporting mom and pop places over the corporate giants, but this place is far from great - just okay would be more appropriate. First of all it is a motel, much like a motel 6.
No air conditioning, tiny rooms, and and you hear all the noise from people outside your door or above you. Decor, bedding, linens, and pillows are nothing to write home about, so I'm shocked to see so many reviews that say stuff like "pleasantly surprised". Really? I paid over $200 for a base room and "pleasantly surprised" are not the words that came to mind when I saw my motel room.

To be fair, the the place has free parking, you are close to the beach (but a bit of a walk from the center of town) and the included breakfast was okay (but just okay, not great). I know Santa Barbara can be expensive, but a basic room like this should not be so expensive. There is nothing wrong with the place, but I don't how it merits more than just okay.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    308
    75
    38
    26
See reviews for
212
385
36
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

If you have read any other positive reviews about Inn at East Beach, they rightly orbit the great work of Frank as manager. Yep, sure is a phenomenon, accolades are appropriate. If you were a visitor who was apprehensive about coming Santa Barbara (whatever your reason). I'd recommend Frank and the Inn at East Beach. If you were an experienced traveler, with a few good hotels under your belt, then I would set the GPS for another hotel. The Inn is WAY overpriced for the simple room you receive. No air conditioning. a fan apparently should be supplied (we didn't know this so we had to stay with our doors open, like many rooms did until late at night) our room did not have a fan. Frank was surprised at this .it has either been stolen or taken to another room. Nice pool, O.K. laundry. Fine parking. The Inn is a bit far from State Street compared to other hotels with similar amenities. I prefer to walk in towns and cities, and after a few Margaritas The Inn in too far to walk. So overall, I'd stay at other places in Santa Barbara, that's me and my family. If you are an apprehensive traveler then I think Frank would make the difference for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed here for three nights and found it to be an ideal location. The beach and trolley bus are just a short walk away.
The room was spacious and furnished to a high standard.
Continental breakfast was very good.
The owner Frank was a delight to meet.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lol48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Had a very late check-in after flying into LA and driving up to Santa Barbara - Frank came down at 11pm or so to get us squared away, nothing but smiles and hospitality. The room was clean and comfortable and even had an electric fire place, which caught me off guard for a California hotel. Frank should actually become a hospitality industry consultant and train employees for hotels - he's a personality plus guy that definitely makes your stay a better and more memorable one. Would I stay here again? Without a doubt.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Our budget was slightly constrained so we aimed for the lower end of the hotel spectrum in Santa Barbara. For the money we paid, especially in comparison to other prices of hotels nearby, the Inn at East Beach was fantastic. The room was big and linen very clean, the bathroom was spacious with a bath tub. The most impressive thing was the breakfast: a glass cupboard filled with pastries a size you cannot even fathom in Europe, brownies, bagels, doughnuts, everything you would want! There were also about 10 different types of tea, porridge and cereals as well as eggs, fruit and good coffee. Frank was a great manager, constantly tell us that "more food is better" and so we took some eggs and fruit for the day too!

The location was great for the beach - you walked 2 minutes and you were at East Beach. We walked to State Street a few times and found it not too far, though we also drove. Parking in the centre is free for 90 mins and cheap thereafter. Late at night we found the buses very convenient and cheap ($1.25) though you have to catch it by 10.30pm.

The pool was a nice touch, but to be honest it was a little dirty, and in the shade of one side of the hotel. With the beach so close by, we didn't use it.

Overall, for the cost, the service and the quality of the room, this was one of our favourite hotels in our two weeks US trip, and we would definitely stay here again. Thanks Frank!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jazzming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
2.2 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.4 km away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.1 km away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#23 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
2.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#25 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
2.1 km away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#16 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At East Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At East Beach

Property: Inn At East Beach
Address: 1029 Orilla Del Mar, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3705 (Formerly East Beach Lodge)
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,473 - ₹ 23,563
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn At East Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps to Santa Barbara's best beach - Exclusive East Beach Resort area near zoo, wharf and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Inn At East Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At East Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel At East Beach
At East Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing