We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
407
30
22
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
30
22
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stone house stonehouse restaurant outdoor shower the cottages creekside cottage room service grounds are stunning lounge chairs four seasons private patio fitness center romantic weekend turn down service the entire staff cookies plow montecito
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

We were married at the ranch more than 20 years ago and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The grounds are spectacular offering both manicured gardens and hikes in the picturesque canyons of Montecito. The restaurant is great with a casual but sophisticated menu and tremendous service. They are attentive without being invasive and are exceptionally knowledgeable about wine and menu pairings. The proximity of the horse ranch for day rides and guided tours makes the experience especially memorable.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MarkM3902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

I’m so saddened by the damage San Ysidro Ranch has had to endure. It truly is a magical place. We stayed in a lovely cottage a few weeks before the mud slides. Feeling blessed to have enjoyed the beautiful setting, fabulous service and delicious food. We plan on returning, and wish them well on their rebuilding!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Travelfam8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

This place is so beautiful from the moment you drive up to the entrance. The whole place is planted with rosemary and lavender, smelled so good. The cottages are so far apart, privacy is top notch. The grounds are well kept, a lot of lemon trees, and herbs, and some fruits.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Malfont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

I don't care how many reviews you read or articles tout how wonderful this property is - you have to see it and experience it to really understand how utterly PERFECT it is! The cottages are gorgeous. They are practically mini homes ad I, for one, could live in them! The restaurants, Plow & Angel and Stonehouse, are excellent. They definitely have distinct personalities, but they are both fitting for the property and for what a guest is looking for when visiting SYR.

Of course, the grounds and setting are what really make the property and experience ONE of a KIND. It is so green and lush and colorful. Generally, I don't suggest we go hiking, but when you stay at SYR, a hike around the property and into the hillside is a requirement! Then come back and slip into your own personal hot tub at your cottage to relax. It's a prefect getaway!

Room Tip: Cottages along creek are nice, but don't get a lot of sun. If u want sun, request a cottage on the opposite side of the property from creek
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank netsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

There are not enough superlatives to convey just how lovely this place is. Truly as romantic and magical as it gets - anywhere in the world. My one lament was with their restaurant, Angel and Plow. Outrageously expensive and wildly underwhelming. $50 for three scallops that were OK at best. For some reason Santa Barbara/Montecito has a shortage of fine dining. But seriously, any place would be better than Angel and Plow. My husband felt $45 was for the atmosphere, which is divine. $5.00 for the actual food, which as I stated, was "meh".

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lisabinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews